Fiction logo

The Theft of Fate

Shadows of the Maestro

By William Saint ValPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
2
The Theft of Fate
Photo by Hao Zhang on Unsplash

They called me a thief, but I was an artist, the maestro of the heist. And as long as the night whispered my name, I would continue to dance in its darkness.

I slipped through the window, adrenaline fueling my every move. The gallery was alive with secrets, a whispered gathering of masterpieces, but I lusted for only one.

My eyes locked onto my prize—a shimmering diamond nestled beneath a glass case. With a flick of my wrist, I released a cloud of smoke and revealed a web of red beams of light that danced across the room.

I smirked.

Swiftly, I darted through the light maze, my reflexes honed to perfection. My gloved fingers brushed against the cold surface of the glass, unlocking it with practiced ease.

As I reached out and grabbed the gleaming diamond, a sharp pain shot through my chest. Staggering back, gasping for breath, my vision growing blurry, I collapsed to the floor.

"Shit!" Panic laced my thoughts, "The curse, it's real!"

In my throws of agony, a strange voice whispered in my mind, filled with darkness, “Forever mine.”

I clutched my chest, my body wracked with pain, as the cursed diamond claimed its prize.

Short StoryMicrofiction
2

About the Creator

William Saint Val

I write about anything that interests me, and I hope whatever I write will be of interest to you too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.