Fiction logo

The Terror

Chapter One - The Search

By A.R WoodsPublished about a year ago 21 min read
Like

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky, unnoticed to these humans without magic.

One man can be seen to be watching the sky while on top of a skyscraper. The two buildings that have rooftop patios in this neighborhood, are empty due to the noise restriction during the week. The tallest skyscraper now has someone falling off the roof.

This man falls because he is a human that does have magic and he can see the purple clouds. He tried to sight see for other magicians that like him.

He teleports once his acceleration maxed out. Now onto another building rooftop that can see many more empty rooftops.

This magician is expecting other magicians to watch this phenomenon. His guess on this west coast city is wrong.

He has time to search through one more city before the dawn erases the magic away.

Again, he dives off of a building before teleporting to a city located east and smaller than the red bridge city. He murmurs, “I guess this free land only have saints in it”.

Just like how the magician learned to teleport, he fell from a place and landed onto something familiar. Even if he has not seen the city himself. Videos make it easy to know where the best buildings are for jumping off of.

He could see most of the buildings, and with the building he chose, he just needs to walk around the elevator housing and venting to see the full view slowly in three-sixty city scape.

When he reached the southern end of the tallest building, looking upon the cascading sizes, he sees someone watching the clouds dancing within the sky. Among the deck are red balls which seems to be dancing with a magician dressed to match the blushing sky, both in sync with the purple clouds.

The deck becomes dark. Two magicians have noticed each other. One of them jumped off the side and before gravity could push down on the person, they set their hands to burst fire from the palms to act as thrusters.

Neither magicians could be said to look alike. The silver haired one is tall and handsome, the other is a woman with curves, hair as red as her magic while also to manipulate her talent like a master.

“Hello! I see you have magic powers!” The silver haired magician posed for effect as he pointed to his chest. “I am Mikael, who’ve awoken teleportation.”

“I see.” Once she landed on the roof, she clasped her hands together behind her back. Acting thoughtful while looking excited. “So, that is how you appeared upon this roof….” Her golden eyes stared deeply at his silver eyes. “Did you feel something that told you to teleport to this city?”

“No.” Mikael regrets his answer instantly as her face saddens. “I did feel that there might be others that have suddenly discovered magic.”

“You recently discovered your power?” Her smile hinted some pity. “My parents knew I had powers before they even formed, they even named me Saphira. I didn’t get to learn how they knew I had affinity to fire. They did not know about awakening. Did your parents also die young?”

“What?” He was startled, enough to lose focus on the conversation to notice the sky had stopped blushing. The clouds are no longer purple, just a whisper of pink turning into normal grey clouds up within the sky.

“Sorry.” Both of her hands were up for the full cautionary apology. “How did you get your powers?”

Mikael’s focus is back into the conversation. Ready to be friends or more, but something is missing. The setting has the wrong mood.

He put his best smile on to encourage her to take his hand. “I was hiking up a mountain. It was when I reached the edge like this to see the view beyond and below the cliff.” He looked back at her face, taking her expression as encouragement, he squeezed her hand and pulled her after him.

“Holy SH” She panicked hard and held him tight at an unpleasantly location. He remembers that fire could burst from her hands, so they teleported quickly.

He chose to teleport down between the skyscrapers. Unsure if he could teleport both of them at a long distance. It also cut two seconds off which he really needs.

“Its safe. Please climb off me.” She did and her face is as pink.

“I thought you were going to teleport off the roof, not jump off.” She took a very long needed breathe. “Fire thrusting is something I cannot do near someone. There was a roof between us, and when I did use fire around people, they burned up and died.”

“Okay. Okay. Sorry. Take another deep breath.” After the second one he broke the silence. “How would you like to celebrate this meeting? The food and drinks are on me.”

Saphira barked out a laugh. “Really? Its way passed midnight.”

“Fast food is available anywhere and whenever in any downtown.”

The first place they saw was a café.

“Thank god its not a burrito place.”

Mikael looked aghast.

“Hey, you don’t know wanna know how my body reacts to them.” She quickly coughs into her fist then continued with, “I mean, that I need a break from them as I live off of a cheap burrito diet.”

“How are you that poor?” He points at the prices on the menu in front of them. “Cafes are just as cheap…”

“See?” Saphira still ordered without a pause. Mikael was just as hungry, so they both got soup and sandwich with a coffee.

“Yea. This is a bit much. Fast food would at least be filling. During the day though, there should be small places serving cheap burgers.” Mikael brought the food to a table.

“There are. They also serve falafels. I had enough of both of them, so I switched to burritos.” Saphira focused on her food and got Mikael to realize that five minutes went by quietly.

Both of them had finished their meal, so the conversation continued.

“I am on the search for other magicians. Would you care to join me?” He is hoping for a yes.

“I lived as an orphan that moved a lot, due to my blankets burning up whenever I had a fever. The past is still affecting my future by companies not hiring me, like McDonalds. They have a criminal check, will see me labeled as an arsonist.” The large smoothie was emptied and the one Mikael has, is being eyed by Saphira. “Leaving and going anywhere is fine. Just give me the plan of how you expect this to work. I have no idea on where you live, if I need to live near you, and what we’ll do once we find others that have magic.”

“Oh.” Mikael couldn’t come up with the answer that Saphira needed. No other sound come from mouth despite that he kept on opening it.

“I have an early shift tomorrow.” She got up from the table. “I live near here. Let’s meet here this Friday, after my shift when I’m hungry. Be ready by then to answer my questions. I’ll have a lot more then.”

Mikael watched her leave, unsure of what he wants now that he knows that magicians do exists. He needed to fiddle with something, but when he reached for the straw in his smoothie, he finally noticed that his smoothie was taken by her.

He knows he likes her, or he is at least smitten by her.

His life is in another city, he took time off for a long hiking trip from his mechanic job. Discovering about magic set his vacation to abandon the mountains he loved to visit, to explore all the cities for magicians.

His thoughts were full of questions, but the night is late. He teleported back to his small town where all vehicles come by to get fixed.

He fell asleep thinking that he loves nature, cars, and now magic.

Waking up, he takes his breakfast outside of the renovated barn he calls home.

The setting is forlorn, not from the barn being half renovated, not from the patio he poorly made and has sunk into the ground, nor is it from the lack of pajamas. Mikael’s look while staring at the wild woods which surrounds his home, and this town gives the impression of a forlorn person.

“A town for magicians.” A smirk can be seen, just before he teleports away.

He teleports right back as he has left his patio doors open and food outside.

The day may be later in the hours due to time change, but he still arrived many hours before four. So, Mikael decides to explore what the city has.

Its definitely not Grand Fort friendly. All these buildings surround a mall but the streets that separate the buildings from the mall are all have cars racing on them.

“I think that is what the bridges are for.” Mikael got bored of the mall easily, so he stopped at a random place.

“Welcome to Ankler. What drink would you like?” The cashier had to wait while Mikael took in his surroundings as he slowly comes to terms that the dear head did not indicate that this was a restaurant, nor will there be any meat.

“This place only sells drinks! What drinks are you selling?” The cashier gave a bright smile while waving her hand toward the menu that is right in front of his face. “Oh.”

“Would you like to try the Deer fever drink? It is our most famous.”

“Sure.”

With the recommended drink, he sat at a bench while watching people shop around him.

An hour passed. Then ten minutes.

He used the bathroom and excited the mall. His destination he has in his mind is a bit risky for exposing himself as to having powers. HE did remember to unlock the stall, but the skyscraper roof-top he met Saphira on could have people on it or there are people looking at the building while suddenly appearing.

Mikael did it anyways, all for the patio lounge chair so he could take a nap until the meeting time is close.

The meeting time arrived and passed. Mikael made it to the meeting spot an hour late with no Saphira in sight.

He waited an hour. Bought another coffee and waited for another hour. Mikael decided to get a quick meal then leave.

“Hey Mikael, you’re early.” Saphira arrived at eight thirty. “Guess I don’t need to wait till midnight with the blushing sky.”

“When did we agree on midnight to meet here?” Mikael had finished eating, only his drink is left.

“You agreed with me to meet me here, after I get off work.” Surprise could be seen on her face. “Wait. We did not agree on the time. I thought midnight so we could watch the sky together. Are you only here to discuss the unfinished conversation?”

“I’m here to answer those questions that you asked.” Mikael gestured for her to go away. “First get something to eat or drink then join me.”

She got a pink drink, that clashed with the hint of an orange uniform. Her red hair add more confusion to the colour plate. “Go ahead and tell sir. What plans did you come-up with overnight?”

“I live in a small yet Grand fort. This place is perfect to get magicians to congregate together and discuss what all this magic is about.”

“Where?”

“Think not Kamloops, just same direction. The drive from here is ten hours or never if there is snow.”

“Seems good enough. After I teach you how to dance, then we shall teach all the other magicians to celebrate the dancing clouds with the blushing sky to appreciate the powers that coexist with each other. They are related in some manner.” Saphira got really serious about the clouds.

Mikael learns that the skyscraper he was just on and met Saphira, is right next to the building where she also lives in.

“So, yea. I live in this one, but I dance on the top of the other for good reason. Playing with fire is best not to do at home. Whenever there is a burn mark anywhere near I live, I am suspected asap.” She indicates to follow her as she jumps off the edge.

“What?” Mikael tried to grab her. Shocked.

Seeing her using the magic fire to act like thrusters again, he reddens in the face for forgetting already.

“Damn, Boy.” Saphira lands gracefully on the deck while Mikael lounges on this same chair he used an hour ago.

“Teleportation is very handy and saves a lot of money.” He sits up, looking serious. “How is no one able to see you dancing with your magic dance?”

“Ever since I was a child, no one has ever witnessed the fire coming from my skin, or my mind. They only see what they want. I think.” She hands him her phone; photos are on the screen. “These pictures are photoshopped, by request, to show to people that I practice juggling pins with fire. I learned to juggle, but I only show accusers to shut them up.”

Mikael stands in front of her and asks, “Shall we start the dance?”

“Try holding my balls of fire.”

“Ewe. Please use some cool name to call them, otherwise I am not learning let alone teaching others.”

“Fine. How about Saphira’s balls?”

Mikael lets out a pity laugh. His no was just a whisper.

“Its still the same name.” He caught the fire ball, but it felt like fire. “Balls hot!”

“So we both learn that magician’s fire is still fire to other magicians.” Mikael gave her the look that says no shit.

“I have an idea. Throw it again.” He catches one and teleports it to his other hand, and again within seconds.

“Wow!” She makes a stance with a fire ball in each hand. “Now try this move.”

Slowly, they both learn to dance with the fire balls dancing at their feet by the time the clouds appear. Once the sky starts to blush, the fire takes a pink hue while the balls that are being teleported have a pink aura.

Despite the wonderful view and two magic elements working together, two did not stop. It did not feel right to stop the view.

Until their muscles ached enough for the balls to slow down enough to scar the stone they dance upon.

“That. Was. Awe. Some.” Mikael realized that it has been over a month since he exercised. Since he started to teleport.

Saphira was tired from using more magic balls with more energy spent as she danced with a partner.

“I concur.” Saphira would usually thrust herself back over to her building, but her muscles are too sore to trust her life with them. “So, any chance you have some energy left to teleport both of us back to the building I live?”

“Ah. Why can’t we take the elevator down?” Two people might be two much.

“This building has card keys to enter each floor.” She showed a smile as she blushed. “I found that out when I got too tired to trust my muscles. Ended up sleeping here during the night, and learned that one visits during the day during the week.”

“Guess I’ll try.” Mikael teleported them both, seeming to be easy. “Well. Teleporting when tired is an option, I just need an energy drink. Feels like I just jogged for five minutes.”

“Well. Come on down. Follow me to my lair.” She giggled at her own joke.

Mikael entered into her normal apartment. Drank some brand name sports drink, then passed out on her couch.

Saphira followed a similar patterned, but ended up in her bed.

The morning got them to make plans to live on his property in Grande Fort. She needs to work until her boss either finds her replacement or the two weeks is up, while her apartment’s owner is just given the required time for notifying her leaving the rental.

Mikael promised to build the second floor in his barn for her, he assured her that carpentry is fast and easy to do. The plans for the second floor were already approved.

He managed to finish the project in a week, the finishing touches of wires and lights were left alone.

“She might think I invited her to help me finish this barn. Which is sadly half true…” Mikael took a long look at the room he built. Not knowing what else is needed.

He is back at work, working on vehicles needing maintenance with his days off on Sunday and Monday. He was feeling that the magic was just a dream, the clouds he sees on Sundays nights are only part the dream that starts him off to sleep.

Until he went back to the hike that had a rock slide above the path he was on. It was cleared out; path is back open. No signs could be found.

“How did only this section fell on me?” He was too puzzled to realize that he talked out loud near another hiker.

“What?” An overdressed hiker has just passed him before turning around when he spoke out loud.

“Ah. Sorry, I was taking to myself.” Mikael moved slowly towards her. “I uh, am just cursing myself for getting an injury a month ago.”

“Was it from the accident of a rock fall that happened one month and one week ago?” Her voice sounds a little too high.

The hiker chick got Mikael suspicious of her. He was sure that no one was around him when it happened, thus it was labeled as an incident. Otherwise, they would have read about a landslide injuring someone due to the riverbank weakening. Plus, they would have seen him teleporting or at least getting hit by the dirt.

He used the narrow path to get a good at her while also nodding for a silent goodbye. He noticed how overloaded she was and took his large stride to get ahead.

“Wait!” The plead got her to also pinch some of his shirt as he passed her. “Oh.” Letting go and lowering her head. “I just need to know if you were the man I saw that was dragged under a boulder from that accident.”

“Umm. Miss. Some time passed since that incident, but you should at least remember it not involving anyone. No one getting injured is what an incident is.”

“I was involved!” She grabbed his shirt again. “This was the colour shirt I saw near the boulder when the river exploded!”

A second slowly passed before Mikael asked this, “Exploded?”

He pealed off her fingers. “I’m not interested in dramatic stories nor fake magic.”

The path was oddly too slippery with mud for him to pull himself away.

The hiker chick stated crying, giving the feeling that the wet environment and her are having the same mood.

“I just really need to know if the person I saw in that mess I made had died or not. Please tell me what you know!”

There was a lot of information Mikael needed to think through. He decided to continue to walk along the trail.

“Use this time to calm down to think rationally by the time we take a rest.” The hike started with the shirt still being pinched. The pinching stopped when the previous mentioned river has been reached. It is small enough to fit through a small pipe under the path, yet no damage or repairs could be seen.

The two hikers took in the scenes, the sounds, and heavy breathing they take once in a while. A mild temperature, sun peaking through the foliage, and every rock they pass took their interests away from what they needed to think on.

Benches could be seen, then they were close enough to sit on.

“I need to see what is inside your overloaded bag. Its too suspicious for a mild hike, especially after hearing you claim to blowing up the river.”

There were only snacks, ice packs, and a disproportionate amount of water bottles.

“I wish to introduce myself!” She held a half empty bottle as her short height is hidden by sitting on the bench. “My name is Amethyst. The bag is overloaded with water because I had almost passed out from dehydration a month. One month and one week ago, to be precise.”

“Why just water, when sport drinks help with the lost sodium?” Mikael grabbed a bottle from the pile and read the label. “Never mind. Why are you claiming to have had explode a river when its more obvious that its likely that you littered the bottles into a dam then have collapse?”

“If you cannot believe a river can explode by my hands, then I cannot tell you about the power I hold.”

He looked at the bag she had carried. It seems to be the same weight as herself. He quickly crouched on the gravel path and got a closer look of her face. Thinking of questions about the power she hinted.

A smirk had appeared on her face, as her bait had worked.

As soon as Amethyst dimples appeared, Mikael’s face became a bit flushed.

“When you mentioned power, was it referring to muscles from strength training or something harder to explain? Like how I disappeared without a trace?”

“I knew you had a secret!” Her fists are now holding her chin, ready to listen to his story.

“Yours first. Why did you destroy the trail?” His fist covered his face as he coughed while he quickly got up.

“I didn’t mean to…” She leaned back looking a bit disappointed about needing to talk about herself. “So, back then I was slow to realize that my headaches are from dehydration. I usually have one water bottle, but it was a hot August. My desperate self could smell the creak pouring through the pipe under the path, but I couldn’t reach it. I might have taken my anger onto the path and that was when the explosion occurred.”

“Woh. You gained the magic of strength that day. That is awesome.”

“What! Why would you think strength? Its water.” Mikael now have his previous question answered as he watched the backpack float up from the ground.

The wonder died soon, just as the water started to leak out of the bottles.

“Here is the visual enactment of what I tried to do, I tried to lift water with my mind out of the river and it caused the embankment to collapse.” An odd shy look appeared on her face. “Telekinesis is what comes to mind, not magic.”

“Telekinesis, but that is not even considered an object.”

“I thought after the incident and discovered that I could this!” Amethyst jumped off the bench, took a bottle of water and emptied the bottle.

Mikael excepted the water to hover, but she mentioned to shape the water into a horse.

He looked away, towards her when she giggled.

“Your face is priceless.” The water horse is galloping along the trail with the mane acting more like fire than hair.

“You brought the water bottles to make a herd of toy water horses, did you not tell anyone about your magic?”

“I did tell my family, but it was over the phone, so they didn’t believe me. I just moved here so I don’t have anyone to show this skill.” She placed the water back into the bottle, making Mikael glad he didn’t try any. “I brought the water to transport me around the cliffs to look for you. It was killing me to think that you had fallen because of me.”

“Really?” Mikael was oddly touched to hear that. “Wouldn’t there be a rescue crew to confirm it?”

“They had a team go down, a week after though.” She threw the bottle into her bag and grabbed Mikael into a tight hug. “I am just so glad to know that you are alive! The rescue team claimed that you were either dead or it was my imagination.”

She seemed like the hug and crying was needed to Mikael waited out before he told her the good news.

“I am happy you swept me off my feet.” He patted Amethyst’s head as she pulled away. “It provided me magic for teleportation.”

“Oh.” Shock can be seen on the face. “Teleportation?”

“You drove here, right? I can take you to the parking lot.” Her reply was just a nod.

“OH MY GOD!” The scream was instant. The happy note, that Mikael needed to ensure himself that the scream was a good thing, is that her reaction dropped the bag for her to jump around the outskirt of the parking lot.

It is a hilarious scene to watch but Mikael was too tensed to laugh about it until she came back to him with a look that asked, ‘Please do it again’.

“I would love to see your reaction again, but I need your help to drive me home.”

The sound that came from her could be claimed as a laugh. A pity laugh.

“Hmm.” Mikael was staring at her when she was laughing, it is more intense as he waited for her reply. “I will if you invite me in.”

“I shall, at midnight. That way, both of us can get ready for a special night.”

The drive was full of ambiguous questions and also where to turn to.

One was expecting a romantic night, the other a magician’s celebration.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

A.R Woods

It has only been recent that I finally am pushing myself to write a lot faster. Twenty years of this interest has built up many reasons, but it was still too hard. My health is pushing me forward, but I still need more help.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.