Fiction logo

The Temple Walk

The blooming flower of my life.

By Pratham SarankarPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
1
The Temple

I walked by the famous shopping mall, the tallest hotel and several arcades across the most crowded street in the city. People don't mind stepping on my foot and ignoring me. Touching and snatching can't be distinguished here. They look cute, emotional, and intelligent, but you never know the hidden personality behind faces and words.

I wore a maroon T-shirt with white and yellow flowers painted on it. I thought it was looking good. Little did I know that girls were staring at me. It was funny to them. They think flowers can represent only them. But, to be honest, it was a little awkward at first.

I have read somewhere, "Traveling is more about courage than the money." Yeah! I remember it was on Twitter. Someone retweeted, "Tell me a hotel which accepts courage as payment." It seems like people are trying to find reasons to be sad. Do they like being depressed? Are they out of their mind? I don't know.

A girl had enough courage to approach me and speak it out. She was trying to test me. Her friends were watching her from behind the curtain in a shop. She said, "Boy! Can I draw a flower?". Before I could say anything, she started laughing and went to her friends. It's not that I saw a girl for the first time, but she was cute. When she smiles, her lips go downwards. She tries to control her laugh, but she breaks out at last. I am happy my eyes were open to watch that.

I have had several female friends before. We build friendship connections with each other. It takes time, a week, a month and sometimes a year. People need to realize that life doesn't mean past or future. Life means today and now. You don't need to be alert for everything you do. You don't need to manipulate what's right and what's wrong. Something that doesn't hurt people around you is the right thing to do.

I want to approach her and talk. I want her to be my friend. Her friends are smiling and laughing too. But I can't take my eyes off her. All my senses are busy focusing on her. She has a black bag with her. The water line above the shop was leaking, and she was standing behind that. She looked at the water just as the peacock would look at the rain. I felt she want to dance in the rain. She wants to set herself free.

Maybe she is the victim of narrow-minded family members trying to oppress her dreams by burdening her with the stereotypes of the world. Perhaps, she also wants to be my friend. Her words can hide it, but not the eyes. Eyes are the windows of the heart. The emotions can't be hidden, at least from writers.

She is a good girl, and I am a good boy. Who is between us? Should I blame the world for this now? No one is standing between us. She is standing around 20 steps away from me. She will be there for at least 5 mins. If I don't take the chance, I will regret it.

Her friends started gossiping about something. She was also looking at me now. She is calling me. Her eyes blinked twice. It couldn't be any clearer than that.

I had just 100 bucks left. I needed 20 for the bus ticket for the way back home. I kept it separated. And for a flower, I need 50. The flower shop was on my right side. I hurried up and bought the flower for 50 bucks. It was a white rose. White roses are the symbol of friendship. It put a smile on my face.

I saw a bus coming, but It should cross them. I couldn't see it. They stopped the bus and boarded. I ran towards the bus. I tried to catch it. I couldn't.

I was standing with the flower in hand and tears in my eyes. I am dumb. I am stupid. I am crazy. I should die. I looked at the flower. It was still glowing. I wonder why it is still blooming. I walked towards the bus stop and sat there for some time.

My shoulders are wet with tears. I am crying and screaming from within, but no one outside should know. I don't want to end up in a mental hospital. The flower is still blooming. I kept it inside my bag. About 10 mins later, a bus arrived, and I boarded.

There are two doors in the bus. I boarded from the back door and sat at the nearest seat. The ticket collector approached me, and I gave him the 20 bucks. He gave me the ticket. The bus was heavily crowded.

I suddenly remembered the temple some km away. I asked the conductor to stop the bus at that temple. He agreed. The bus reached the temple around 12 mins later.

I unboarded and walked abruptly towards the temple. I found a place to sit and relax. The body could relax, but the mind couldn't stop. It wanted something to happen. I can't go home with this face.

I stood and walked towards the priest to get the blessings. Right beside me stood a girl. But who cares now? The one I loved is gone. I don't want to look at any other girl. I am not a bad boy with a good face. What is within is outside.

I was turning to go back. I knew it was a bad day. But just as I turned to my right. I saw her face. I was again in tears. Not sad this time. It was her.

And again, I am speechless before her. She said, "Oh! Boy, I think you need a flower drawn on your t-shirt." Now, it's my turn. Sigma mode activated. I opened my bag and got the flower I bought for her. I said, "Can you draw this?"

I am crying from within. It's the tears of happiness. The beauty is standing right before me. I have never seen anything like that before. Everything is glowing around.

She took the flower from my hand and said, "See you tomorrow at the Nadora." It put a smile on my face. She knew it was a yes. She was controlling the whole situation. I met her at the coffee shop the next day. She was a famous social media influencer, writer and sketch artist.

She came with a sketch pad. It wasn't the flower on that. It was me. She loves me. I love her. We covered the 20 steps together.

Sometimes, the problem can be solved by not trying to do so. Trust god or nature to help you, and believing in your deeds is also a good option. Nothing is impossible, and everything is achievable by just changing your habits. Just like problems knock on your door every day, happiness, money, and positivity will knock on your door every day if you attract them the right way.

Love
1

About the Creator

Pratham Sarankar

There are Writer, Poet and Actors. Dive into the cosmos to see the wonders.

Love in Divine, Beauty in Sunshine. Salvation in time and Wonders in my rime.

I promise the victory, I promise a dawn.

I'll set the kingdom, you set the pawns.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.