Fiction logo

The Tale of the Death Walker

Post-Apocalyptic Dystopia.

By AntChillyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Death Walker

Life hasn't been the same, Intergalactic creatures, pillaging, and… So … Much… Death. The human race is nearly extinct, and creatures roam the earth taking whatever they want. It gets worse, though. There is one entity not like the others, which seems to be superior to everything. It has to be by far the worst creature I have seen. The head looked like a goblin with neon green eyes stands two stories tall. A fierce roar that will make you shake in your skin, and that is not the worse part. When it walks, it shakes the earth, and it must be radioactive. It kills the land it walks on. The 1st time I saw this, I called Death Walker. It destroyed a whole military unit and ate them like French fries' bones crunching, blood splatting, and no hope in sight. The world went down quickly, and it seemed like a coordinated attack with multiple species of creatures claiming parts of the world that were tailored towards their living lifestyle.

Food shortage is unlike anything I have ever seen. There is hardly any animal life, most of the soil is contaminated, and the earth is slowly rotting away. Life is almost unsustainable here, and I haven't seen another person in years. The only reason I am living is from a doomsday bunker I built. People called me crazy, and they're all dead. I have lived here for ten years, but my supplies are low, and morale is low. I will leave behind this life to see if I can start fresh somewhere else or stay in the bunker and starve to death. My odds of survival are limited, and I have no clue what life looks like up there on the surface of the earth. I do know that air is still present so maybe I can find a new place to live.

I officially left the shelter, expecting death to strike me soon. This world is not the beautiful land it once used to be. Now everything is dark and gloomy. Smoke and ash fill the sky, and the air smells like sewage. I got lucky, though. I found a mansion with a large amount of canned food close by the side door. It also had a bed fixed nicely and had a big soft pillow up by the headboard, talk about paradise. Shortly lived as I found out I was living in the middle of a battleground between two groups of creatures. The mansion must have been a landmark. At least I got to watch some live entertainment as I had a perfect view through the main window in the house. One set of creatures had a reptilian-looking aspect to it. They were ugly and had a foul odor. But they had an otherworldly ability to go invincible. They stood about 8-10 feet and had dagger-like fingers. The other creatures look like sharks but build like chiseled statues. They had giant mouths and teeth the size of bowling pins. They had a unique feature of diving under the dirt and seamlessly moving from place to place like they were swimming. They look to be about 10-12 feet in size. These two groups did war differently, not like something I have ever seen. A gauntlet-looking feature where they would bring in sacrifice and drink the blood and send in warriors. The place looked like something from your nightmare. Something unique about these creators is that the winner takes it for dinner when killed in this gauntlet. Guess food is scary. After a week of this type of activity, I notice a different ceremony happening. The tensions were high between both sides, and war drums were blaring. They sent out what seemed to be the best warriors they had. I am pumped. I was watching these games all week to see this fight go down. Then that's when everything turned upside down. I feel a tremor, and it increasingly intensifies. Then I heard a crash through the side of the house, and that's when I realized that it was the worst thing that could have appeared. It was the Death Walker. Everything it touched started to melt, and my beautiful mansion was gone. As it walked towards the gauntlet leaving behind its deadly footprints, I had to stay around to see what was going to happen. As he walks up to the gauntlet, all the creatures turn to it. The Death Walker let out that fierce roar. I was so close this time. My ears started to bleed. Then the two creatures that were about to fight let out a less freighting roar together. They must have challenged Death Walker because he picked the reptilian creature up. As this creature is fighting for its life, it claws the Death Walker. That is when I notice a large heart-shaped locket pulsing green on the Death Walker.

The reptilian hit that locket on the Death Walker and it roared, then spit some waste on him, melted the creature, and ate it. The shark creature tried to run away thats's when I noticed the heart-shaped locket glowing dark fluorescent green on the Death Walker. The eyes were glowing so radiant they looked like the sun. That's when it smacked the ground creating a large explosion incinerating everything within the gauntlet. The after math looked like the reminisce of Pompeii. Everything was dead, all the creatures, all the land. The only thing that was left was the Death Walker. Then he walks away as if nothing happened, killing both groups of creatures.

As I see Death Walker moving on, I realized my new task in life was to kill that thing, and I have found out its weakness His power source looked like it came from that locket. It also might be the source of whats is rotting the planet. But for now, I'm going to continue to live on this forsaken planet and maybe even save the world. Im going to kill that damn Death Walker.

Horror

About the Creator

AntChilly

Technology Engineering

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AWritten by AntChilly

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.