Fiction logo

The Tale of Buddy

Buddy the stuffed dog is in a crisis when Andy misplaced him.

By Daniel CottlesPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
The Tale of Buddy
Photo by Cris S. on Unsplash

Why am I in the closet? Andy never puts me here. This isn’t where I belong. What if he wants to play or if he needs me for when he gets upset? I wish I could move so I can find him. It’s so dark in here, will he be able to see me on the floor, under his Paw Patrol shirt?

I hear him… if I listen closely, I can hear him. No... now, he’s crying. Don’t cry. I’m still here. Come and find me. Oh, I can hear his mother looking for me. His dad is trying to get him to play with a G.I. Joe but he wants me. His dad should know that a dog is a man’s best friend. Doesn’t matter if the dog is alive or stuffed. Oh Andy, I will be with you soon. Don’t worry.

Another day went by, and I felt so sorry for Andy. I was hearing him cry last night because he is scared of the monsters under his bed. I know that if I was there, I could protect him. We would stay up, not out of fear, and he would tell me stories about how he wants to be big and strong like his dad. He wants to become a superhero to beat the bad guys. He was going to make me his sidekick.

Wait… I hear him. He’s screaming. Not of sadness but he is happy. “Buddy!” I heard him scream out of excitement. “Where did you find him?” Andy said but I’m still in the closet. What is he talking about? “I found him under the couch. You must have left him there,” That was his father that just talked. How could he lie? I am right here! I am in the dark. Nobody has recognized me. How have they not seen me!

A couple of more nights go by. Andy is happy once again due to an imposture. How could his parents lie to him? His mother is cleaning right now. Cleaning his room. I hear her just outside of this dark closet. Wait, she just opened the door. I see light! She’s right here! She sees me! She found me after picking up Andy’s shirt. Now I am saved. I can be reunited with Andy. Oh what a wonderful day!

“Look what I found,” she said to Andy’s dad. He didn’t seem so happy to see me. Maybe he feels bad for lying to his son. Maybe he is sorry for what he did to me. “Well, now we have two,” he said looking aggravated, “just throw it out hun. The other one is newer anyway. The garbage man runs tomorrow so just don’t let Andy see you with it.” Throw me out? Why are you doing this to me? To us.

I guess this is farewell to Andy. I hope to see you once again dear friend. I wish he could have played a little longer. I will always cherish the memories that we made. You taught me everything you know. How to adventure, how to dream, how to care, and how to love. Farewell my dear friend…

“Hey Mike, hurry up! We got more houses,” A man shouted as this person was looking at me on the top of all the trash. He looked at me for a while, picked me up, and put me into his jacket. I’m very confused. Where is he taking me? After a long day I was introduced by another boy. “Hey, I got you a buddy!” the man said to, what appears to be, his son.

“Buddy! That will be his name! Thank you, dad! Let's go Buddy. I got so much to show you,” the boy said. He reminds me of Andy. Maybe this is my new home. He seems like a good person. He tells me he also wants to be a superhero, but I’m still waiting to see if I’m going to be his sidekick. Hopefully I stay by his side. I don’t want to leave another person who I can make happy…

Short Story

About the Creator

Daniel Cottles

Just a Alabama hick

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Daniel CottlesWritten by Daniel Cottles

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.