Fiction logo

THE TABLE

Luke Lawson

By Luke LawsonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I put the picture frame and the coffee table down at the front of the counter.

“No worries luv, how much is the table?”

“Oh, I dunno; I didn’t see a price”

“It hasn’t been priced yet”

“Oh, ok”

“Ah, it’s my first day back; I can’t deal with this”

“Oh”

The lady walked off and came back with a piece of paper that read St. Vinnies at the top with “coffe table $40” under it in black marker.

“It’s forty dollars”

“Oh, I only have 38 dollars”

“NO! I’m not allowed to give any discounts”

“I didn’t ask for one”

“I can lose my job! The manager said we’re not allowed to give discounts!”

“Ok” I stood at the counter “can I still buy the picture frame? It’s three dollars”.

“Yes” She scanned the picture frame with wiry old fingers

“Thanks, and about the table…”

“No, I can’t give discounts! I’m the floor manager! The top manager said no discounts!”

“Ok, I wasn’t asking for one, I have forty dollars I just have to walk across the road to get more money – could you hold it for me?”

“NO! We can’t hold things mate”

“Oh”

A girl walked over to ask if the floor manager was ok.

I tried once more “do you think if anybody tries to buy it while I’m out you could say a young man is coming back to get the coffee table?”

“NO! We can’t do holds either – the top manager said we can’t do holds. I see where you’re coming from but the top manager said no holds because we don’t know when you’re coming back.

She walked off again and I heard a smash at the front door. I walked over to help pick up some books in a donations cage with wheels.

“NO! Don’t touch it!”

“Oh”

“Look, thanks for your help mate, we can’t do discounts or holds the top manager said so – I can lose my job”

“Do they pay you?”

“NO! But I CAN still lose my job”

“Oh”

I looked back at the counter

“Can you move that table back to the back of the store?”

“Ok”

I picked the table up and started walking it to the back of the store, as I picked it up there was a huge hamper with something written on it that meant it was a gift to the CEO of Saint Vincent de Paul Opportunity Stores or something. I wondered why they have a Chief Executive Officer and thought it strange to have a company structure. I was under the impression it was a charity. I wondered how much rent they have to pay – I guessed it was probably the going rate. Then I wondered why there was still so much financial pain in the world when these stores are on every high street, the products they sell are received for free and most of the labour to sell them is from volunteers.

I put the table down and another old lady walked out from behind a back door.

“Nice table luv”

“Yeah, I want to buy it but I don’t think anyone here wants to sell it”

The floor manager screamed from the front of the store “that man has already been served!”

I read the name tag on the second lady “hey, Wendy, I just wanted to buy…”

“I’m not getting involved” Wendy said

I walked home and realised I didn’t even want a $40.00 coffee table but now I was hell bent on proving a point. I had kept that $40.00 to buy a coffee each morning until Friday when I receive my dole payment. I had enough to get one bottle of cheap wine too; but the coffee table was more important now.

I walked back in with five bucks and a girl stood at the counter with a second coffee table. Luckily mine was still there – the $40.00 sign had scared this other customer off I’m sure. I picked up the table and walked it up to the counter. Wendy served the girl and a man walked up to the counter and started talking. Wendy shook.

“I just stood in glass, there’s glass in the entrance. I just stood in it”

Wendy looked at the man.

“can I have a dustpan and brush or something?”

Wendy said “Oh, um, yes Um I….” The floor manager walked back over

“What’s going on!”

“There’s glass in the entrance” the man replied.

“Look, we’ll get somebody onto it”

The man walked off with a big smile on his face.

“Now” The floor manager looked at me and her face dropped. I looked at her name tag

“Hi, Ruth, may I please buy this coffee table?”

“Yes you may”

“May I please pay $35.00 on my card and the rest with this change?”

“Yes, that’s a split transaction”.

Ruth put $40.00 on the eftpos machine

“It’s declined” she said sternly to me

“Oh, how much did you put it through for?”

“The table is FORTY DOLLARS!”

“Oh, can I pay 35 on my card and the rest in change”

“Oh yes, my mistake; that’s a split transaction”

“Yes”

I paid and felt nothing.

“thank you for your help with the books luv”

“No worries, I’m sorry you think your hands are tied”

“WHAT?”

“Nothing”.

Now I have 8 cents and a coffee table with no coffee or wine to put on it.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Luke Lawson

I am Luke Lawson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.