Fiction logo

The Super Awesome Adventures of Princess Chloe

A Story I Told My Infant Daughter

By RanatahPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Super Awesome Dragon Mount of Princess Chloe

This tale was told to a happy, smiling infant, who did not understand a word I said, but loved how I said it! Little did I know that even after this tale, having a daughter would teach me new things about being a better and more accepting woman and human being. Later iterations of this tale include these more broad-minded views on what being a Super Awesome Princess is. She’s definitely SMART and KIND and HARDWORKING. She’s also GENEROUS, and PATIENT, and STRONG. She’s also the other things--sweet, loving, artistic, sporty, talented, outgoing, quiet, silly, serious, and everything along the way. She can look any way she wants. In fact, I think just about anyone could be a princess if they wanted to be.

Once upon a time,

There was a beautiful princess named Chloe.

But this was no ordinary princess,

she didn't live in a castle and wear fluffy dresses,

But lived in a forest with all the animals and wore comfortable pants.

And she was not just BEAUTIFUL

but she was SMART

and HARDWORKING

and BRAVE

and KIND.

And Princess Chloe loved to fly on her dragon and she loved to ride around on her dog.

Then one day a handsome prince heard about the beautiful princess that lived in the woods. He decided to travel to the woods far away to ask for her hand in marriage.

So the handsome prince traveled away to the woods and saw a beautiful girl on a dragon.

"I have come from far away to ask for Princess Chloe's hand in marriage!" he told her.

"That's me!" cried Princess Chloe.

"YOU?" exclaimed Prince Charming, "but what sort of princess does not wear dresses?"

"Don't be silly, prince," said Princess Chloe, "I need comfortable pants to ride into battle!"

"But I thought that only princes could ride into battle!" said Prince Charming, even more baffled.

"Why Prince Charming, I am shocked! You are not being charming at all!" said Princess Chloe. "It's the 21st century and a princess can ride into battle if she pleases!"

"You are right, Princess Chloe," said Prince charming, "I am very sorry. You are a very special princess and you deserve a prince who is far more progressive than me. It was very nice to meet you and your dog and dragon. Goodbye!"

And Princess Chloe lived happily ever after in the woods with all her friends and had a very successful career!

THE END

I hope you enjoyed this simple, silly, tongue-in-cheek tale that was something I said to her while she giggled and fell asleep in my arms. I was not a feminine woman, and having a daughter intimidated me. I perhaps was biased against women who presented more feminine. But I have learned a lot in the last few years. I did not attempt to sway her from liking princesses and feminine things, and as a result, my daughter became the biggest glittery, puffy-dress-loving, unicorn-toting princess you can imagine if you’ve ever met any little girl. That is just who she is. She had the choice of being who she wants, and that’s where she landed. She also developed a love for science, animals, and the outdoors, and I want her to know that she can love whatever wants to love, and who she is is totally okay.

So though most fairy tales have a moral, this one is missing another part, not just that the princess was awesome for being herself, but that that didn’t make her any better than other princesses. Princesses come in all shapes and sizes. And sometimes, just sometimes, they wear comfortable pants.

Humor
Like

About the Creator

Ranatah

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.