Fiction logo

The Sun and the Moon

Love and worship

By Monique HardtPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
42
The Sun and the Moon
Photo by Geronimo Giqueaux on Unsplash

I want to shine.

I want to be important.

I want to be you.

But you are a gleaming star, and I am a moon doomed to reflect you. I shine only with the light you gave me. Your heart, my veins; your mind, my skull; your smile, my dimples.

Worshipping you is the most painful thing I’ve done.

*******

“The moon looks beautiful tonight. It’s shining so brightly.”

“Yes; it makes this nighttime excursion pleasant and easy.”

“What would we do if it wasn’t there?”

“We would carry its memory on our back and trek onwards.”

A year ago, my lie infested you with bravery. We need firewood; we can’t wait.

It was a moonless night. You didn’t see the forest as it dropped into a vast nothingness. I carried your lifeless body on my back; it took me all night to reach our decrepit cabin.

The sun revealed what you’d become. I cursed the sun for crushing what little hope I had. That night, I cursed the moon for its absence.

You’re a skeletal home for maggots. This clinging pain, I want to be you, but something stops me again and again. Is it weakness? Strength? Is it your memory? Or do I still cling to the lie I told you that night?

The moon you once loved is luminous tonight. I pack my bag, and I walk.

It’s only a lie if I don’t follow through.

Microfiction
42

About the Creator

Monique Hardt

Monique Hardt is a longtime lover of the fantastical and the impossible, crafting works of both poetry and fictional prose. She began writing books at the age of ten and has been diligently practicing her craft ever since.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson8 months ago

    Very heartfelt.

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Wow! You took us on an emotional rollercoaster! Very well written and the end packs a punch!

  • Bew8 months ago

    https://vocal.media/criminal/the-orphan-killer-maguad-siblings-case-murder

  • Chi Dera8 months ago

    So interesting

  • Tressa Rose8 months ago

    This was an awesome read! Congrats on top story!

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    This took me like six reads but I think I finally got it, and it’s chilling.

  • Carol Townend8 months ago

    This is really interesting. It makes you think, and it gives a new perspective on memories that the moon can induce. I loved it.

  • Precious Godday8 months ago

    Wow 👌

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Boom! Congratulations ❤️

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    I love the sense of mystery you created, but I’m desperate to know what the lie was. The narrator’s angst, and determination at the end really comes through in your writing.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Starts off like an appreciation. Little hint of discord and then, ends up being quite macabre. Interesting. Congrats on TS.

  • sisz8 months ago

    Gorgeous!! ☀️🌙

  • haviz Aldino8 months ago

    awesome

  • SENDIJJA RICHARD8 months ago

    Awesome

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Nice work! Love the moon and the maggots! Great work!

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Gorgeous!! ☀️🌙

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    What an enigmatic piece. A tight and gnarly weave. Elegantly written. ❤

  • Madoka Mori8 months ago

    Wow. This was incredible, Monique.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.