Fiction logo

Adrift

No control, no foreseeable future, but today, I am alive.

By Monique HardtPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Adrift
Photo by Pan Da chuan on Unsplash

I am dying.

I know that I am dying, but I’m not entirely sure how, for I have no eyes, and no ears.

I don’t fear death, for it will come for me eventually. Every day that I do not die brings the possibility of death tomorrow. Within my system, there is no brain with which to process fear; I am lucky to have a mouth with which to speak.

And so, day by day I drift through the currents, my path chosen by them with no control and no choice. From icy water to temperate water, I traversed them all as the currents stole away my body.

Many have walked these paths before me, all meeting the same ending though the journey to get there may be different. Eaten by a fish, pushed onto a beach, shredded by a boat propeller, caught in a patch of garbage, pushed deeper into the cruel ocean waters by a down-welled current, we have many ways to get there. Thus, as I drift through the new stream of water, I know that I am dying.

But it’s okay, I do not feel fear, nor do I feel unease. I have no brain to process such emotions. The currents take me day by day, they decide my fate with each twist and turn. No control have I nor future. I cannot see what comes next, I cannot know what this future holds or even if this life was worth living. No brain, no nerves, no ears, no eyes, yet somehow, I am alive.

Even though I know I am dying, I am alive today, I am alive right now.

I am alive despite all realistic possibilities that I should not be, and I am content with it all.

Are you?

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Monique Hardt

Monique Hardt is a longtime lover of the fantastical and the impossible, crafting works of both poetry and fictional prose. She began writing books at the age of ten and has been diligently practicing her craft ever since.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.