Fiction logo

The Snow Angel

Written By: Kelsey Syble

By Kelsey SyblePublished 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
15
Photo by Şevval Kaynak (Pexels.com)

Death can only take so much flirting and teasing until it has had enough.

"I'm not ready," I wail.

"They're coming for us," Henry insists through blue lips. He squints at the pale sky.

My fingers and toes are numb. Tears pierce my skin. I wonder what my parents and their goldendoodle are doing today. Probably napping in the heat.

"Jess," Henry murmurs, interrupting my thoughts. "Let's pretend we're at the beach."

I join him in delusion, like usual. Overlapping waves echo in my ears. Saltwater pricks my tongue. But there's no sunshine in our pretend life. I open my eyes, returning to our endless world of white.

For so long, I yearned to fall asleep and never wake up; to greet Death like an old friend. But now that Death is here...

"Let's make snow angels," I suggest through chattering teeth. "Just until they come."

We lie together in the snow for a while, moving our arms and legs until we are frozen to the ground.

"Thanks for staying," I whisper as the gray sky and white ground blend and blur my vision. I cannot move even a single muscle of my body to look at him, but somehow, I know he is still here.

"Hey," Henry whispers back, "I love you. I've always loved you. You know that."

It's cruel that even in my last moments, he tortures me with lies.

A familiar warmth envelops me, filling me with incomprehensible joy. And then, he disappears, one last time.

Microfiction
15

About the Creator

Kelsey Syble

A Southern-born-and-raised writer now navigating life in NYC.

📸 🎥 @kelseysyble

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson10 days ago

    Beautifully written heartbreaking microfiction. Enjoyed every word. Especially enjoyed your opening line (quoted by Joe already) and this one: "I wonder what my parents and their goldendoodle are doing" ha!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    “Death can only take so much flirting and teasing until it has had enough.” is such a great opening line. This says a lot in so few words. Makes me wonder what happened between the two of them!

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    I felt this.....excellent!

  • Catsidhe3 months ago

    Haunting. Very well done!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    The lying was a bit of a shock. A sad note on why people torture themselves instead of finding the strength to walk away. This was a lovely read. Congratulations

  • Carly Bush3 months ago

    Wow! Great job, Kelsey, and a very well-deserved Top Story.

  • Why do you believe he's lying to you? I cannot help but wonder. The words came as a bit of a blow, a dose of my own reality, entering into the surreality of what is happening, dragging me into the snow with them.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.