Fiction logo

The Snatch

Micro Fiction

By Natalie WilkinsonPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Micro Heist Challenge
14
The Snatch
Photo by Kelsey He on Unsplash

I peeked around the corner casually while Louis sussed out the mark. Oblivious, he sat gazing into space at the park perimeter, his pricey leather laptop bag strap looped loosely over the bench back. Next to him, a tuna sandwich lay partially unwrapped, and next to the sandwich, a banana. I wrinkled my nose. I hate bananas.

A gold ring flashed on the guy’s finger as he raised his hand to brush the hair out of his eyes. He sighed, distracted. Perfect.

Louis strolled by, pretending to look for someone he knew. He kept going for about ten paces, then carefully doubled back behind. He looked at me. I nodded; the guy hadn’t noticed him at all.

I left my hiding place and walked towards the bench, needing to get close enough to get the mark’s attention so Louis could make the snatch. I’d pretend to chase him. Louis could easily outrun anyone, and I’m not a snail. The guy saw me and leaned forward.

He got it! We ran, muscles straining with the effort. The surprised guy jumped up, not knowing what had hit him.

After about a quarter of a mile, we stopped. Stolen tuna tastes the best.

Microfiction
14

About the Creator

Natalie Wilkinson

Writing. Woven and Printed Textile Design. Architectural Drafting. Learning Japanese. Gardening. Not necessarily in that order.

IG: @maisonette _textiles

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor10 months ago

    Stolen tuna? Must try it sometime. Well done and congratulations on your win

  • Cindy Calder11 months ago

    Loved this! Congratulations!

  • Jennifer David11 months ago

    Love love love! Made me think of some of my favorite movies. You set the scene perfectly. You held on to my attention the entire time and then made me cackle. But more than that you made me think and reread it. Had a different perspective each time I read it and that to me is the beauty of writing. Well done. Original.

  • The Dani Writer11 months ago

    A great plot here! Congratulations on your well-deserved recognition!

  • Geoffrey Philp 11 months ago

    Nice plot twist!

  • Rachel Deeming11 months ago

    Great twist! Congrats! Who knew tuna was so tempting?

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    So witty! Loved it. Congratulations on the placement :)

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    I was expecting a totally different twist. So well done! Congratulations on placing runner-up! You deserve it!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Lol. That was great. Congrats

  • Emily Binkley12 months ago

    Lol 😆 stalking a guy for a tuna sandwich.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.