Fiction logo

The Silver skulls of Aldea

based on true events

By Brandon CoxPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

It was a warm summer night on the Street of Aldea. I was taking one of my frequent climbs up my favorite tree, to get away from my parents fighting. This was a very tall redwood, that took a good twenty minutes to climb to the top. Once at the top you could see the entire neighborhood, and I was looking forward to the peace and tranquility. I had almost reached the top when I heard the voice......" Brandon, don't be alarmed ." Someone was already at the top of my favorite thinking tree with me. I was shocked at first , but He said very soothingly ..." Don't fall, I can't catch you if you fall and she would want me to catch you."

"She who"? I replied. "Your grandmother of course , who else silly? This man was very nicely dressed for climbing a tree at night time, and I felt no hostile energy towards Him. " My Grandmother? You knew my Grandmother?" " Yes, I knew Her very well. Do me a favor Brandon and stop climbing , I must keep my distance from you. Do you still have the locket she gave you when She passed away?" Who are you?!" I replied . "How do you know she gave me a locket ? How do you know my family? " "My name is Alex, and I was a friend of your grandmother, He replied. "I gave her that locket to give to you because I could not give it to you directly." It's pure silver and from Romania." "She never spoke of you, I said." Alex replied, " I asked her not to. I wanted you to have this fortune completely to yourself." Fortune"? " This locket is not worth a fortune , it's maybe one ounce of silver"?? While the man was talking to me , His eyes were fixed on the moon, and He never stopped looking at it. "No Brandon my boy, not the locket , the locket was just....meant to keep my kind away from you. No, the fortune I speak of is berried at the bottom of this tree, and once you climb down you can dig it up. I imagine it would be worth more than enough now to get away from your toxic parents who are constantly fighting , that is the reason you are in this tree to begin with, yes???" I said, " How could you possibly know that? I don't tell anyone." He replied , "You tell this tree, and this isn't the first time I've seen you up here, this is simply the first time I've let you see me."

I started to get a little creeped out, and I made my climb down. As I was making my descent , I could hear in the distance...." Be careful." Again, I was confused but not scared at all. The man was not hostile. I went home into my room and pulled out my telescope to see if the man was still in the tree. He was not, and I decided to go to sleep.

The next morning I woke up to the normal sound of my parents fighting, and this was a bad one. Things were being thrown , glass was breaking, and I could hear my mother scream: " Cops are on the way" . I decided to leave to go to my climbing tree , but first picked up a shovel from my dads tool shed to see if the mysterious tree climber was telling the truth about this fortune berried at the bottom of the tree.

I started digging , and after about ten minutes, I did in fact hit a wooden chest. It was not locked and the word " ALDEA", was spelled out on the top of the chest. I opened it, and it was filled with small silver skulls. Each one weighed a different weight. Some were five ounces and some were twenty. All together I counted 63 silver skulls, that weighed a total of 400 ounces of silver.

I cashed in some of my silver skulls , and was able to move out of my parents home. I never again saw Alex. I visit that tree often, and still climb it from time to time, but He never shows up. I hope He knows how grateful I am for the amazing gift He gave me.

Short Story

About the Creator

Brandon Cox

Well....Writing is in the blood, so lets put some words together and see what happens.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Brandon CoxWritten by Brandon Cox

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.