Fiction logo

The Sheet of Winter

Microfiction

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
The Sheet of Winter
Photo by Chandler Cruttenden on Unsplash

Winter draped over the town like a sheet of parchment.

That was how it usually looked from my large living room window.

Snow covered everything in a thin-ish layer of pristine white, from rooftops to lawns to my red car in my driveway.

Holding my hot cup of coffee, I watched the fat flakes gently float down to their final resting places.

Thank God I worked from home.

The wind was barely blowing, and only a few vehicles were scattered on the street, so the white fluff was mostly undisturbed.

A part of me itched to throw on my winter clothes, jump into the snow, and make snow angels as I did as a child.

But I knew my elderly neighbor across the street eyed all of us like she was a hawk, and we were her prey, then spread rumors like wildfire.

More than one person had moved because of her. And I didn’t blame them, although one of them had become my friend, so I missed having her live next door to me.

But we made it a point to spend time together at least once a week. Probably not this week, though.

So, I remained inside, curious if the snow would stop falling anytime soon.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Captivating!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.