Fiction logo

Young Romance at the Swings

in the Playground

By Arshad MecciPublished 12 days ago 4 min read
Like

Their lips lingered for a moment, each particle of breath sharing an intimate dance. When they finally pulled away, a silent question hung between them: had that just happened?

He leaned back, hands gripping the chains that held her swing. She looked up, her eyes meeting his in a mixture of confusion and joy. Arching her back, she swung towards him. He released his grip, stepping back to push her away, her legs curling under the seat as she soared upward. At the peak, she leaned back, her laughter echoing with her red hair flowing behind her.

He ran to catch her outstretched legs as she swung towards him, then released her, sending her flying to a new height. At the apex, she leaned back, viewing the world upside down.

"Found you!" she giggled as gravity pulled her back in a swinging arc. He pushed her gently, sending her back towards the sky.

"Here I am," he replied, watching her soar, her red hair floating as she reached the top, weightless for a moment.

As she swung back down, he gave one final push. For a split second, she defied gravity before the chains tightened with a satisfying clink, grounding her once more.

She stopped, feet scraping the worn grooves in the dirt, and looked back at him.

"So...," he began, but she interrupted, "Look, monkey bars!"

"Monkey bars?" he echoed, letting her lead him to the curved dome made of interconnected pipes. She scrambled up, sitting with her legs dangling. He followed suit, sitting beside her, their shoulders touching.

"So...," he started again, but she cut him off.

"When I was younger, I could swing upside down by my knees," she said, tipping backward, her hair following the arc of her head. He mimicked her, both of them hanging upside down, faces reddening from the blood rush.

"About what happened…" he tried again, his voice slightly muffled.

She turned to look at him, her hair hanging down. His ball cap slipped off, landing in the dust below.

"When I was a kid, I wanted to be a gymnast. But, as you can see," she gestured to herself, "that didn't pan out. I loved swinging and climbing, but gymnastics wasn't my calling."

He looked at her, about to speak, but she continued, "You know what else I loved? Teeter-totters." She swung down, hopping off and running through the metal webbing.

He followed, hitting his head on a pipe as he straightened up. Rubbing his head and grabbing his hat, he chased after her.

She sat on a two-pipe teeter-totter, hands on the pegs beside the pipes. Smiling at him, she gestured to the seat across from her. He settled on the opposite end, and they began to bounce up and down.

"I think there's a weight distribution issue," he joked as he adjusted his weight, making her rise and fall.

"Yes, I see," she laughed. "But what about what happened at the swings?"

He started to speak, but she interrupted, "No more physics. No more math."

"Okay," he agreed. "About what happened…"

"That's not fair," she protested.

"It's solid physics," he defended, but she interrupted again.

"That's physics and math again," she pointed out.

"Right, right. Sorry," he apologized. "Why didn't I say something before now? I was afraid. Afraid of not... No matter how this night goes, I will forever hear bells. I know that."

Silence fell between them, broken only by the gentle squeaking of the swings in the breeze.

"Tonight, when we were sitting on the swings, I saw you. I mean, I really saw you. I kissed you, and it felt like I was back inside myself, a better self."

"If I remember correctly, we kissed each other," she teased.

"Yes, we did," he admitted with a smile.

"When we first met, you were interesting. With all your math and science stuff, very geeky, but never nerdy. Just interesting. I got to know you better, and time just passed," she explained.

They both leaned back, looking at the emerging stars.

"So, about what happened tonight?" he asked again, his smile returning.

"You know what else I liked when I was a kid?" she asked.

"What's that?" he responded.

She lifted her legs, gliding down the teeter-totter to meet him face to face.

"Slides."

Their lips met again, sealing their connection with a bond stronger than any molecule, promising a future written in the stars.

Young AdultLove
Like

About the Creator

Arshad Mecci

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.