Fiction logo

The Sea Witch

Rising

By Tracy Kreuzburg Published about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
Kayla Butler Photography

When a cephalopod is afraid, senses danger, her ink provides a hiding place, long enough to escape from actual or perceived danger.

Charcoal bath salts cloak her in purity, clouding her limbs in perfection. As she pseudomorphs within the warm water, she remembers what has brought her to this self-created, submerged catacomb.

A mother was lost and a child was borne. Her energy and self-love were expended by grieving, celebrating and giving.

As the toxins are drawn from her, she feels buoyant and rises from her watery tomb.

Robed in self-imposed ink, a soft roar emanates from her reflection.

Kayla Butler Photography

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Tracy Kreuzburg

I love reading, writing and storytelling, and using stories to convey truths. I feel this is a platform that will encourage me to write my stories, I also have an interest in connecting written work to art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • J3 months ago

    "I am kraken, hear me roar!" I love it. If Lovecraft knew Cthulu was a woman, he was right to be scared. P.S. Sorry for all the sudden spam, but I've only just discovered you and am clearly a little obsessed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.