Fiction logo

The Red Sky

A short dragon story

By Jay Dee QuimeraPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

There weren’t always dragons in the valley. The world was normal, until He came along. I write this after five years of living underground, in hopes that it gets to someone that can stop Him because I know that I can’t. Trust me, I tried and ended up losing my arm because of it.

The day it happened was just like any other. I remember the day as if it was just yesterday. I was heading towards school with my two best friends, walking from the bus stop, when a flash of light burst in the sky. It was a white light, almost blinding; my friends and I had to close our eyes for a second. When we opened them we saw a hole in the sky. It looked small from our vantage point, but in my heart I knew it wasn’t. It couldn’t be with how many dragons came out of it. People stared up at the sky wondering what was going on. Nobody had any idea the horrors that would come from that. My phone was blowing up from my parents and siblings and other friends wondering if I saw the hole as well. At first nothing happened and the hole stayed gaping for minutes. People crashed into trees and other cars trying to strain their necks to see the abnormality. Birds stopped chirping and bugs just ceased to make any sort of noise. Dogs and cats ran into holes under houses and any other type of hiding place they could find and at that moment I should’ve followed their example and made my friends and I hide because if I had then I probably would not have lost my friends. After about five minutes of nothing, the loudest shriek ever heard sounded out of the hole. Many people flinched and covered their ears including me, but I could still hear its echo in my head. After the last echo sound ended, chaos ensued. Hundreds of dragons soared out of the hole and began to fly towards Earth. A multitude of colors flew out of the hole and soared in each and every direction. Everyone was in a state of shock, that is until they started shooting fire from their mouths. They shot fireballs and spewed long arcs of fire towards the city and everything surrounding it. Soon the smell of sulfur penetrated the air and despite not being close enough to the smaller cities, we could still feel the heat of the fire. Everyone ran for cover, but there was only so much a house or building could do for protection. I lost my best friends that day; we all ran in different directions trying to protect ourselves and when I looked back, they were gone. I can only assume they were scooped up by dragons. There was no news coverage, no service and no end to the dragons. Soon the sky was as red as the scales of those monsters that were hellbent on destroying us. It seemed as if the hole would never close, but after about 2 hours of just dragons, the hole finally closed. By then they had spread out to the whole world. Nobody was safe. Of course the government fought back with their guns and bombs and nukes, but it barely made a dent in the amount of dragons that were in the world. Soon they too were overtaken. Everyone that managed to survive was forced to go underground to hide from the dragons and eventually the dragons left us alone. It’s been five years since then. The dragons have taken over and roam the surface while we make a living underground. Of course we haven’t given up from taking back what’s rightfully ours. We take turns going out onto the surface if only to check on the status of the dragons. We’re not sure what their food is, but we’re hoping that they’ll die down without any humans on the surface to eat. When it was my turn, I got every weapon imaginable to be able to defend myself and forced myself up to the surface. Of course I was terrified, but I was told to scour the surface for any more canned foods and weapons as well as more clothes, as there were more people being born. When I got to the surface, I did my best to stay hidden since the dragons were just walking around leisurely. The sky was in a permanent state of red and the air reeked of smoke and ashes which made everything look hazy. I had to focus hard and keep my senses sharp so as to not risk getting caught by those things. Seeing how things were, I wasn’t sure that we’d be able to get the surface back, but I still held on to a glimmer of hope, that is until I saw Him. I was sneaking through the overturned cars still slightly burning when I heard one of the dragons walking. I stopped in my tracks and held my breath, hoping I would go unnoticed. When I peeked out from the side of the car, I saw the dragon going towards a man and my eyes widened as another landed close by. Soon about fifty or so dragons stood in front of this man. The man did not look terrified at all, in fact he looked very comfortable and content. With my heart beating harshly in my chest, I saw the man raise his hand out towards the dragons and the strangest thing happened. The dragons bowed their heads.

Young Adult
1

About the Creator

Jay Dee Quimera

Hi! My name is Jessica and I've been writing for about three years now. I love anime and manga as well as a lot of fantasy and paranormal. I'm currently writing a novel. Follow @jaydee.writes!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.