Fiction logo

The Red Eyed Plague

The little golden locket

By DragonDreamerPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
A picture of the locket

Start writing...It all started with the red eyes, it was ruled off as a minor illness, but then it got worse, it became globally known and more people passed, it was mainly taking older people over their 30's. That was it at first, then it started to grow and kids started to get it, no one knew what caused it. It took 99.5% of the human population including most of my family, we didn't even get to say goodbye because it could still pass onto us. My big brother Dylan and I are the only ones left, and now the world is basically abandoned except for the .5% of the human population that is mainly made up of kids. There are abandoned cities, towns, and stores. No one wants to go out and face the chance of getting sick, they say that there is an oasis, where the sickness has been cured. After the red eyes the victim would experience nausea, that was the second stage, the third was that the victim experienced non stop vomiting, then at the last stage they would be so tired and they would drop to the floor just like that. "Angelica, ANGELICA!" Dylan raised his voice, catching me in my thoughts as I looked at the map. I sighed and looked at the circled state, Montana, that's where the oasis is. I looked at the map knowing we were at the edge of Kansas, "come on, it's time to move" my brother said and I touched my golden heart shaped locket, which held the last pictures of my family. I felt tears forming in my eyes as the last happy memory I had with my family rushed to me, it was my 16th birthday, mom got home from her shift, she always smelled like mint even after work at the hospital, we had a game night with the new game dad bought me. I was all about playing games with them, I played harmless pranks on them that even they thought were clever. Now ever since the sickness I can't be a regular 18 year old, it's been around for two years and yet we just heard about the oasis. I grabbed my backpack and slipped on my army boots, I tied my black hoodie around my waist and put my straight brown hair with blonde highlights into a ponytail. My brother tapped his foot impatiently the whole wait, I flashed him my look that mom would give my brothers before they would get in trouble. I walked out after grabbing my flashlight and held it in my hand while I walked. We had a bunch of water, food, and supplies we knew we would need. I rushed past the abandoned houses that creeped me out, Dylan laughed lightly at my new look as we speed walked down the road. We saw cars crashing into houses and store's ransacked for supplies, I held my flashlight closer as the sun started to fade. I walked with Dylan as we turned on our lights and made our way through the trashed neighborhood we spent the last two days at, we spent the night walking to get closer to Montana. Once it was morning I noticed on the map that we were in Nebraska, we walked into a city that was abandoned and seemed like people had been rushing out of there. I walked towards a car that had an open door and seemed a little beat up while trash was blowing past it in the wind. I looked inside and noticed that the keys were gone. "Angelica, what are you doing?" He asked, rolling his eyes "trying to find keys" I said and saw in the floorboard laid, the key to the black suburban with black interior and a cross necklace dangling from the rear-view mirror. I put the key in the ignition and turned only for it to actually turn on, "oh my gosh, I did it Dylan!" I yelled "okay, let's go get some food, then let's head to the oasis as soon as we can'' he, said as I got out of the car "Dylan, we have enough food in my backpack, we could just stop later and head to the oasis as fast as we can" I said and he glared at me "Angelica, don't even start, I'm hungry and the food we have left is your's because you are trying to save it" he said "ya and as long as we have my food we'll be alright" I growled and suddenly saw a man watching us in a store "Angelica, you know your wrong, why even fight with me. You may have found the car but I'm willing to sacrifice you to do what I need to get to the oasis" his meaningless words hovered over my head like a cloud, just building for rain on a hot sunny day. I felt all emotion leave my face as I saw a little girl with him, she seemed to be shocked to see me. Suddenly she stepped out and I saw the same type of locket as mine, the golden heart reflected the little light that shines. I stepped past Dylan and walked up to her with a small smile, she held her necklace and seemed to look at me with curiosity as the guy who looked around Dylan's age walked out. The little girl got closer to me as I bent down to her level, "I'm Bella '' she said a little on guard "I'm Angelica" I said looking into her beautiful ocean colored eyes and beach bling curly hair. The older guy seemed to be skeptical of us, he had black hair and green forest eyes that seemed a little misty. Bella tried to touch my necklace but Dylan pulled me back, "Angelica, you don't know them, or where they've been. Let's start getting ready to go to the oasis" he said and I turned to him while getting up "so now I'm right when other people are around!?" I hissed md in his sudden change of mood. I crossed my arms at the look he was giving me, “it seems you two dont really like each other right now, what exactly were you guys fighting about in the car over there?” the guy asked, sounding a little concerned, as Bellas stomach growled. I took off my backpack and grabbed a bag of goldfish for her, along with a water bottle. She took it with glee and I saw the guy's eyes widen in envy. I grabbed the same snack and drink, then gave it to him. I then turned to my brother and sighed with acceptance "fine, let's go back up our bags, plus the car's tank could almost be out. And if not we can just fill up a can" I said and he nodded, "where are y'all headed?" The guy asked with a full mouth accidentally spitting on me, "you might want to chew and then talk" I said laughing while brushing off the mushy food that was a little slimy but dry. "What my sister is trying to say is, we're going to the oasis" Dylan said "can we come?" Bella asked and the guy looked at us with pleading eyes "of course you guys can" me and Dylan said at the same time. I walked to the back seat of the SUV and the boys sat in the front while I played thumb war with Bella, once we got to the store Bella and Dylan loaded up on gas while I walked in with my backpack. I searched around the store and found a duffle bag and a kiddy backpack with a baby elephant on it. We found a cooler and loaded up some of the leftover ice since the electricity wasn't turned off. I grabbed all of the drinks that would need to be cooked and all of the food. I packed up lots of snakes while the guy was on guard. I suddenly found a book my mother used to read to me and my siblings before sending us off to bed. I grabbed it and rushed out to the car with the guy and put the bags in the back, Dylan closed the car door and I rushed to get in. I felt drowsy but refused to close my eyes. Bella was watching as we passed the buildings, I tried to listen into the conversation Dylan was having with the guy but the music was a little too loud. I sighed at how bored I was and just decided to do what Bella was doing, the buildings made me feel small. I suddenly felt an air-conditioning blow on me and the music turned down "hey Angelica, how are you guys doing back there?" Dylan asked and I shrugged "I'm bored but I don't know about Bella, she's just watching the buildings go by" I said and he nodded while still looking at me through the rear-view mirror. " Well that sounds interesting" he said and I nodded, I felt my leg start to bounce from boredom. I felt my head lean against the window and before I knew it, I was passed out. I woke up to on a road in the middle of nowhere, the guys were out of the car and Bella seemed worried. "What happened?" I asked and she jumped at the sudden sound of my voice "they heard a pop" she said and I nodded and got out of the car. I noticed Dylan and the guy both having trouble with the car and finding the spare tire, I sighed and crawled under the car and got the tire then came out and helped them change it. The guy was shocked but Dylan seemed proud of me, based on the look on their faces they were ready to go when suddenly I heard a bark in a bush. They boys rushed to the car while I stood still while watching it closely, I noticed a fuzzy husky pop out with dirty white fur and a cut on its nose. "Here boy" I said and whistled and the dog walked up limping. I made sure there were no injuries on his chest before picking him up and putting him in the car. I saw the black collar with his name in silver "Snowball" I said in a baby voice and his ears purred up while his tail wagged. I noticed that a thorn was in his paw when he decided to jump on my lap. I pulled it out, making him whimper and pet him to comfort him from the pain. Once we stopped in a town we went to the nearest house and washed Snowball that seemed like they had a dog too since they had a spray to make the wet dog smell go away. Once his bath was done I trimmed his padhair and cleaned the cuts he had, I then started to bandage them and made my way back to the car with Snowball and Bella then we left again and headed to a different city. By the time I woke up we were in a forest and Infront of us was a big dome surrounded with a tall stone wall, I helped Snowball out of the car with Bella trailing behind me. Once we got to the door we saw people in hazmat suits, Dylan Hid me behind him and the guy hid Bella behind him just like Dylan. Then the guys walked up to us and grabbed the guys arms and dragged him off while two others did the same with my brother, two more were about to take me and Bella each but I grabbed Snowball and Bella grabbed onto my legs and we walked to the wall and a door opened. Once we stepped in...

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DWritten by DragonDreamer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.