Fiction logo

The Red Eyed Bull

Why Does it Haunt me?

By Ashley TenoldPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Feeling my feet pounding into the dirt, as my heart races and the pulsing is felt throughout my body. The trampling behind me, as hooves hit the dirt and picking up a trail of dust behind behind them. Not wanting to look back, to see those horrible scarlet eyes of the black bull. My feet keeping up at a pace and as I take to turn a corner, my body goes flying, and hits a wall.

Shooting up I stare around in my room, realizing it was just a dream. My body covered in sweat, and my heart beat pounding in my ears. Trying to take in deep breaths, and closing my eyes to calm myself, I just end up reliving the situation all over again. My body imagining the feelings of the bull's hot breath behind me, the dirt kicking up and coating my lungs. My eyes feeling sore as I realize that I was crying.

Getting up from the bed, I head towards the bathroom to wash my face. Turning the lights on and looking in the mirror, I noticed the dark circles under my eyes and how ragged my brunette hair was. Sighing, I decided to take a shower. Mainly to make sure that I looked clean and not so worn out.

Turning on the water for the shower, I begin to undress to hop in. My skin shutters from the light coldness in the air, and I hurriedly hop into the warm shower. The feeling of the water running down helps wash away any uneasiness I had felt, and to release any nippiness I had felt. Then I start to wash myself. Making sure to use my lavender shampoo to help myself to relax.

After washing my hair and body, I continue to stand in the shower. Enjoying the warm water hitting my skin. After a few more minutes, I turned the water off, not wanting to waste any more water. I reach my hand out to grab a towel through the curtains, not wanting to release the heat from inside. Feeling the soft towel, I pull it in and wrapped myself into it. Enjoying the towels caress.

Getting out, I looked over at the mirror again. Sighing, seeing the dark bags under my eyes, but at least I looked like a drowned rat rather than a shaggy mess. Granted, not too sure which is better. Chuckling to myself, I walk out and back into my room, and start to get myself dressed for the day.

After going through my closet, I choose to put on a purple and black sundress with mandala patterns all over it. Drying myself off, I put on the dress and walk out of my room.

The emptiness of the house always felt like it was taunting me. Making myself question if I was being watched by some unseen force. Which possibly didn't help with the nightmare. That one nightmare that I continue to have these past few months after I started to live here by myself. A huge bull with red eyes chasing me. Though the scenery always changes.

Whether it's in a town or in the woods. It's always chasing me, and I don't know what for. Even if I manage to escape, it always manages to catch me and, I assume, kills me. Which I always wake up when it gets me, but I always look around me trying to make sure that it was a dream and didn't come real. Obviously, that's one of my biggest fears since this has started to happen.

Shaking my head from the thoughts, I go over to the coffee pot and start to get my coffee ready. Trying to fend off the feeling of being watched, I turn on the that I keep on the counter and start listening to a channel with 70s, 80s, 90s, and 2k music. Listening to the music and waiting for the pot of coffee to finish brewing, I slowly dance around the kitchen. One of the few times that I'm grateful for living by myself. Not having the feeling of being silly, and my paranoia drifting away. The smell of the coffee drifting throughout the room, and my stomach grumbles slightly.

Rubbing my stomach, I go towards the pantry and grab an already made strawberry and cream cheese pastry. Nibbling on it slowly, as the coffee stops. Walking towards it, I thought I heard a low growl. Turning to look behind me, I see nothing. My hairs standing on end, slowly smoothing downwards. I start to go back to the coffee, having chills going up and down my body.

Looking out the window before I start to pour my coffee, I notice a shadow out in my lawn. Body stiffening as it seems to be the bull in my dreams. A tear going down my face as it shifts its gaze towards me, and then disappears. Taking in a deep breath, I pinch my arm, hoping I was still dreaming. Just to feel the pain and realizing I was very much awake.

Looking around frantically, I find my phone and dial a number. Hoping and pleading with anyone from above to hear me. Then I hear a gruff voice on the other end.

"Anna? It's only 7am. What do you want?"

"Greg, could you please come over... I think I'm starting to see the bull in real life."

"..."

"Greg?"

"Fine, but realize something... If you can't handle this on your own, you'll need to be put back onto your meds." Greg said, slightly irritated.

Wincing at his words, understanding what he means. I chime in, "You're right... Don't worry, I'll work on this myself." I said, feigning a cheerful voice.

Dial tone.

Looking at the phone, I sigh as I set it down. Knowing that he thinks my dreams are just manifesting due to my lack of medication usage. Which I didn't have the heart to let them know that I was taking it, thinking that was the case as well. Unfortunately, it didn't seem so.

As I go back to the coffee, and look outside. The sun was finally saying its good morning. I laughed half heartily as I bring the coffee to my lips, as a tear goes down my face. Feeling something wet touching me from behind, though no residue was there when I went to touch the spot.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Tenold

A 29 year old mother of two.

Loves writing, sewing, crocheting, singing, and dancing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.