Fiction logo

The Puppet and the Puppeteer

A dance of lethargy and tiredness

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 4 min read
The Puppet and the Puppeteer
Photo by Manyu Varma on Unsplash

Today i will just say words and explain my thought processes.

ENNUI!

I am you, and you are me! We are all in this together. Protected within squares, rectangles and many shaped boxes secured by many faceted passwords and coded secrets. We store our most treasured parts of us in these coveted boxes with many encoded encrypted phrases, which we misplace or lose. The code to the code is lost in the wind. Then you are told to reset your password in order to access the password protected password which you forgot. Madre de Dios, help us!

Lethargy!

On any given day, I feel pretty much like a marionette, a hand puppet, a mere shadow of myself, trapped within a puppeteer's slippery, evil and conniving hands. He pulls the strings, I dance. He lengthens them, he shortens them, he yanks and laughs, evil maniacal sounds emanate from his guttural throat. He twirls the strings, his puppet dances. I pull and tug, I writhe and squirm this way and that, day after day, hour after hour, minutes, seconds....all the time trying to escape the torment of my allegory, my symbolic prison of confinement.

I must find a way to reset. Change into the freedom of ecstatic feelings...of overwhelming expressions of happiness, and find a joyful elation for living, which is my right to explore.

Who am I? You may ask.

Boredom!

I am you and you are me.

Every day we awaken to the sounds of another day into which we will dive headfirst within a world arbitrated and perpetrated by unseen and unknown hands, much like that puppeteer who has orchestrated my metaphoric strings. We laugh and love, toil and play, experiment and create, nurture and prune, and we pretend that we are masters of ourselves.

Yet it all begs the question. Are we indeed masters of our own selves, are we, at the very crux of the matter, really free to choose for ourselves. Do we not all have master puppeteers twirling our strings while we dance their dance, sing their songs, do their bidding, all the while waiting for them to throw us scraps from their tables. ~~~~

Cynicism and stoicism!

I sat at my computer staring at the blank screen which a moment ago was filled with the images of total strangers living, loving, laughing, dying, crying, moving and just being there for the sake of being there. The washed and unwashed mass of social media.

Anyway, the thing was now blank for no reason. It lights back up with a telephone number running across the screen. What am I supposed to do, I wonder. Dial this number if you want your computer to work again, was the new message on the screen. Puppeteer. Who needs more of these freaking fools; I thought to myself. I dial the number. Someone or something picks up. I say nothing. After a long pause a quizzical voice enquires:

"Hello"?

Criminal!

"Who are you and what do you want"? I ask in a matter-of fact voice. I don't really care what they have to say, I'm just listening so I can tell them where they can shove their hacking.

"I can fix your computer, but you will have to pay five hundred American dollars for the repairs". I know it's a foreign call, which American asks for American dollars. Is it not understood that if you are in America, you will be paid in American dollars. Moral of the story, they are certainly not in America.

"Who am I supposed to send this money to". I ask, just for the sake of asking.

Whenever anything goes wrong with my computer and I try to call Microsoft or whomever the computer company supposedly is. I get sent overseas to voices with a distinctive accent, so whenever I hear this accent, I assume that they are working for these legitimate companies. Unfortunately, the hackers mostly have the same accent, so how am I to tell who is real and who is not. More puppeteers at work.

"We work for the computer company. Just enter your information on the new screen which is popping up now and you will be ok".

"Go find yourself another sucker, go hack yourself you jackass". I said, trying to stay calm. "I paid two hundred dollars for my computer, if I need to spend five hundred dollars to repair it, I may as well buy myself a much better one". Click! I promptly turned off the offending computer, plugged it out and shoved it away from me.

Broke pocketed!

I assume they didn't get into my accounts, or they would have noticed that I am totally broke and my credit cards were either maxed out or cancelled. I was up to my ears in debt. They had totally wasted their time and mine.

I turned my computer back on and quickly reset my password. I looked at all of the relevant ones that I also needed to be reset just in case. Fat lot of good that will do if I am hacked, then I would be really properly hacked.

It had been a really bad day for puppeteers to test my mettle!

A week later the computer was fine. Still, I think that I may need an upgrade as soon as I sort out my woeful finances.

The puppets and puppet masters still play on!

Satire

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I like your take on this challenge and the new type of free verse you challenged yourself with! You are extremely talented and I always love reading your work!

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.