Fiction logo

The Preacher's Sermon and the Vanished Wallet

I Was Told That I Will Walk And Behold I Walked

By Emmanuel OjenikePublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Like

In the year 2021, I, Donald, found myself attending a lively crusade. The atmosphere was electric, with people singing, dancing, and praying for divine miracles. Now, I must admit, I wasn't exactly the most devout individual, but hey, I figured it wouldn't hurt to join in the festivities.

As I stood there, minding my own business, a stranger suddenly appeared beside me. He had a long beard and a glimmer of excitement in his eyes. Without warning, he reached out and touched my shoulder, saying, "You will walk!"

Now, let me set the record straight. I may not have been the most athletic person, but my legs were in perfectly good shape. I wasn't limping, dragging my feet, or hobbling around like a penguin. So naturally, I brushed off the stranger's comment, thinking to myself, "Well, I already walk just fine, thank you very much!"

The crusade continued, and the preacher on stage delivered an impassioned sermon about blessings, prosperity, and the power of faith. It was all very inspiring, but I couldn't help but wonder if there was a hidden message in that stranger's words. Was he trying to imply that something extraordinary was about to happen? I pondered over it briefly, only to dismiss it as silly superstition.

Finally, the crusade came to an end, and as the crowd dispersed, I reached into my pocket to retrieve my wallet. But to my utmost dismay, it was nowhere to be found! Panic washed over me like a tidal wave as I realized that my wallet, with all my money and transport fare, had been stolen! It was a classic "pickpocket in the crowd" scenario, and I was the unfortunate victim.

As frustration welled up inside me, I couldn't help but recall the stranger's words, "You will walk." Well, guess what? I had no choice but to walk! My grand plan of hopping into a comfortable taxi or catching a bus home had vanished along with my wallet. I stood there, wallet-less and dumbfounded, contemplating the irony of the situation.

With a heavy sigh, I embarked on my unplanned journey, trudging along the dusty road, my mind filled with a mix of irritation and amusement. It was as if the universe had conspired to teach me a lesson about taking things for granted. "Oh, you don't think you need a miracle? Well, here's one for you—walk home, Donald!"

As I walked, I couldn't help but laugh at the absurdity of it all. The stranger's prophetic touch might not have magically fixed my legs, but it certainly gave me an unexpected exercise session. My legs, which had been perfectly content with a sedentary lifestyle, were now in for an extended workout.

Passers-by stared at me, surely wondering why a seemingly able-bodied individual was trudging along the road like a lost soul. Little did they know that I was a victim of divine irony, forced into a situation that defied all logic.

Eventually, after what felt like an eternity, I arrived home, weary and wallet-less. It was a humbling experience, to say the least. From that day forward, I learned to appreciate the simple act of walking, never taking it for granted again.

After arriving home, I collapsed onto the couch, still in disbelief over the events of the day. It was a comedy of errors, a series of unfortunate events that left me both frustrated and amused. I couldn't help but share my misadventure with my family, hoping that they would find some humor in my misfortune.

As I recounted the story, they couldn't contain their laughter. My brother, always quick with a sarcastic remark, quipped, "Well, Donald, looks like you got your miracle after all! But instead of walking on water, you ended up walking home!" We all burst into laughter, finding solace in the absurdity of the situation.

So, my friends, let this be a lesson to you all. Never underestimate the power of a stranger's touch or the irony of life's unexpected twists. And if someone tells you, "You will walk," just make sure you hold onto your wallet tightly, or else you might find yourself walking a lot more than you bargained for!

PsychologicalShort StoryHumor
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.