Fiction logo

How Wooing (Toasting) A Lady Almost Backfired

The Battery that Unveiled the Truth

By Emmanuel OjenikePublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Like

I took a taxi one morning on my way to work. As luck would have it, I found myself seated next to a stunningly beautiful and fair lady. Determined to make a good impression, I greeted her with a friendly smile and asked for her name. However, she completely ignored me, as if I were invisible.

Undeterred by her lack of response, I quickly hatched a mischievous plan to grab her attention. I slyly reached into my pocket, pulled out my phone, and began to put on a show. With a mischievous grin, I pretended to make a fake call, hoping to pique her curiosity.

"Hello? Oh, hey, it's Daniel!" I announced, making sure my voice carried over to her. "Listen, I've got a favor to ask. Can you do me a huge solid? Wash all those cars and park them in the east wing of the estate. I'll be back in a week's time!"

I paused for a moment, pretending to listen intently to the imaginary person on the other end of the line. Then, with a wink in the lady's direction, I continued, "Oh, and by the way, I had to take a taxi to the airport because I'm catching a flight to Dubai. While I'm away, I left $25,000 in cash in my bed cupboard. Feel free to use it for your needs, alright? Thanks a bunch!"

As I continued with my fake call, the lady's eyes widened, and she stared at me in disbelief. I was convinced that I had her full attention now. A smug smile spread across my face as I ended the call and turned to her, eager to see her reaction.

"Why are you looking at me like that?" I asked, expecting to see a mix of surprise and admiration.

To my utter dismay, she calmly reached into her handbag and pulled something out. With an amused glint in her eyes, she handed me a small object. It was the battery of my phone. My heart sank as I realized what had just happened.

"It fell down when you were removing your phone from your pocket," she said, suppressing a giggle.

I was dumbfounded. I sat there, utterly speechless, for what felt like an eternity. My shirt was now drenched in a mixture of sweat and embarrassment. My attempt at a playful prank had backfired in the most epic way possible.

Unable to contain her laughter any longer, the lady burst into fits of giggles. Seeing the humour in the situation, I couldn't help but join her laughter, albeit with a tinge of embarrassment. We both found ourselves caught in a moment of shared amusement, connected by a silly misunderstanding.

From that point on, our conversation flowed effortlessly. We laughed about the incident, exchanged stories, and discovered common interests. It turned out that she hadn't ignored me earlier out of rudeness but because she was lost in her own thoughts.

As the taxi ride continued, we continued to share jokes, teasing each other playfully. By the time we reached our destinations, we had become fast friends, bonded by a shared sense of humour and a memorable taxi ride.

And so, what began as a failed prank turned into a serendipitous encounter. I learned that sometimes the best way to break the ice is through laughter and the ability to laugh at oneself. That taxi ride became a memorable journey that taught me the importance of humility and finding humour in the most unexpected situations.

So, the next time you find yourself in a taxi, remember this cautionary tale and think twice before attempting a prank. But hey, if you're up for an adventure, who knows? Maybe you'll stumble upon a lifelong friend and a hilarious story to tell. Just make sure your phone's battery stays firmly in place!

Short StoryYoung AdultLove
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.