Fiction logo

The Perils of Hunting.

Alvin's Encounter

By Lamar WigginsPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
22
- Photo taken by Hannah Moore -

Written for the Mackenzie Davis Ekphrastic Prompt. The randomly chosen image above is the challenge. Write a micro/sudden fiction based on the image. Word limit 750. Credit goes to Hannah Moore for providing the image. Thank you, Hannah! Additional details can be found here.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Each year, the dampness of late spring brings to life, a delicacy. Hidden amongst leaves which once belonged to the towering oaks is where the delicious morel sprouts again. Much easier to find than truffles, yet still required rigorous eyes.

Each year, I mapped a new location to search for that gold mine. One that would yield droves of the inconspicuous mushrooms. Nature’s savory gift can also fetch a hefty penny at twenty-two dollars a pound.

*

Homer lake was tucked away in a quaint town, a mere eight miles from the bustling city. Once I arrived, a ten-minute hike was the only thing between me and the hunt for organic treasure. I always go alone as this niche hobby of mine didn't excite friends or family.

Once I made it I past the glimmering lake and entered the forest, I could clearly smell the remnants of petrichor, a scent held by thriving moss. The conditions were perfect.

Walking forward a few dozen feet, I noticed cryptic symbols carved in the trees. Judging by the amount of healing the trees had done, these designs were fairly old. Their precision reminded me of crop circles. A brief moment of dread climbed my spine until I surmised that they must have been etched by an eclectic artist.

*

The first few morels were revealed within five minutes of crawling on my knees. They were clinging to the base of a birch tree. The next tree yielded a couple more. At that rate, my backpack would be filled within an hour. It was promising. Upon the third or fourth tree, I stuck my hands in a pile of leaves to move them and felt a sudden pinch on my right index finger. I thought I may have jammed it into a hidden branch wedged in the dirt. But as I recoiled a millisecond later, a small yellow snake clung to my finger. Its fangs vanished into the flesh. I wasn't afraid of snakes; however, this was a surprise I didn't see coming. I instinctively thrashed my hand back and forth, detaching it. It flew six feet away and slithered back to its home underneath the leaves. Blood began to pool from the puncture wounds as I released foul words into the wind. Shockwaves of pain traveled through my hand to my wrist. I wonder if that snake was poisonous, was my next thought. I quickly dropped the bandage and thought about lessons learned as a boy scout. It was too late; the venom was circulating. The earth began to vibrate and spin, hot flashes soon entered the equation. I made it to a sturdy tree just in time before succumbing to the paralyzing affects. Sitting with my back against the tree, I lost all strength and couldn't retrieve my phone. I was on a slow road to death.

*

In the blurry haze, I saw what looked like a young girl walking towards me. It was a girl. Her hair reached her waist. She looked exactly like my deceased sister, Linda. It was Linda! I was dead and witnessing my first angelic visitor. But all she did was stand there and stare at me. Her face never deviated from a curious look. Suddenly, her eyes flashed a deep shade of orange. Her fingernails turned black and began to lengthen. Panic was not something I could express at the time. In my mind though, I was going crazy. Her attention was then called elsewhere. She quickly looked to her right then fled the scene deep into the forest. The fluttering heartbeat in my chest told me I was still alive.

"Boy! Looks like you done got yourself bitten. You’re lucky I saw your car and came looking to see who was trespassing. The lake is closed on holidays, you know." A park ranger said as he pulled out a syringe filled with snake-bite serum.

"You don't want to be out here past sundown. This area is known to harbor shifters... so they say. I've never seen one myself, but the crazy stories I've heard will have you questioning your sanity."

I slowly began to recover. As soon as my muscles functioned again, my anxiety was set free, I blurted.

"I SAW ONE!"

He shook his head knowing I was on a poison induced cloud. I know what I saw, it pretended to be Linda.

After that encounter, I never returned my hunt to Homer Lake, avoiding all possibilities of becoming the hunted.

Dall-E

AdventureShort StoryHorror
22

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    This is beautifully written. Well done.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    A great spooky story, Lamar, and there you go, writing about one of my favorite things! We found morels at the bases of the birch trees in Big Valley Woods, a community where Pam and I lived in a motor home for a few years. Unfortunately, they weren't very plentiful, but man, we loved what we found. I also learned to forage nettle leaves, candyflower and other goodies from the woods. More stories there, perhaps..

  • Leslie Writes3 months ago

    This is so creepy and atmospheric. I also like how you kept us guessing. Was it a hallucination from the venom? A near death experience? No, a creepy shifter! Ah! On a side note - I’d like to try a morel mushroom and see what all the fuss is about. Great story, Lamar!

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    This story fits so well with the picture, Lamar! I was thinking that the way it's framed makes it look like a prey looking at a predator, a kind of misty lens effect, so snake venom makes so much sense. I adore the slow burn of the set up, and then the reveal of "shifters" being seen in the woods. What a fun read!

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    Oh wow, at first I wanted to tell you that I’d go morel-hunting with you in a heartbeat (love them but never know where to look for them), but then it turned so fast! Great story!

  • Chloe Gilholy3 months ago

    I am mirroring what everyone is saying. I thought this was fantastic.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Excellent response to the prompt, just the right amount of creepy and intrigue 😁

  • Test3 months ago

    Very creepy and disconcerting. You built up suspense so well. And loved that ending! No way I'm going to any 'Homer' Lake ever. Kind of gone of mushrooms a bit now too! On another not, I am really sorry, not sure what happened. Was subscribed and then apparently I'm not. But sure I was IDK

  • Omggg, it's so scary to think what would have happened if the park ranger didn't find him! This was such a suspenseful story and you did that photo justice!

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    Who would think hunting mushrooms could be so mystical? Great story, Lamar!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad3 months ago

    Awesome story! It goes perfectly with the image you were given. I love the shifter twist that you put on it. But was it really a shifter or just a hallucination from the snake bite—we may never know.

  • A mushroom hunter who almost became the shifting fertile ground for his hobby. Excellent story, Lamar!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler4 months ago

    Lamar, you drew me right into the foreboding forest. Wonderful story!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Amazing story and the picture at the end was awesome!! “a scent held by thriving moss” I learned something new today. Thank you.

  • wow! "I saw one," brought goosebumps. Great story telling Lamar

  • J. S. Wade4 months ago

    Fantasy story Lamar ! 😎

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I was waiting for this one and it didnt disappoint! I love the uncertainty, myth or reality, he's never going back!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.