Fiction logo

The Package At The Door

A Mystery

By Nedra EppsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I was looking out my bedroom window at the stars one evening when I saw him place a package on the stoop of the house next door. I wouldn’t have really cared if he hadn’t looked left, then right, then over his shoulder before he put it down.

“Hmm ... that looks suspicious.” I also thought it was strange because no one lived there anymore. Our neighbors had moved out about two weeks ago. “Well ... maybe someone will come back to get it.” I went back to my bed to finish reading my book.

When I passed by the house the next morning on the way to school, I noticed the package. It was plain ... wrapped in brown paper. I shrugged and continued on my way to school. I saw my friend, Alice, up ahead and hurried to meet her.

On my way home I was thinking about the test I had to study for the next day. “Ughh! Math!”

As I placed my foot on the steps to my house I looked to my right and saw the package still there. “I hope it’s not something important.”

I got something to eat and went to my room to study. My eyes were drawn to my window. “I wonder what’s in the package?” Then I pulled out my math notes and began reviewing the material for my test.

I was late getting up the next morning, and my math test was in my first class! I dressed and ate hurriedly, then ran out the door. I ran into my class right before the tardy bell rang. As I sat down and caught my breath, I vaguely wondered if the package was still on the stoop next door.

It’s still there! I walk into my house after school. I’m really getting curious about that package. “What if our neighbors were spies and that package is critical to completing their mission?” I giggled at myself and my silly imagination.

After I took a shower and went back to my room I tiptoed to my window and peeked out to look next door. I had no idea why I was tiptoeing or peeking. I guess my imagination was running away with me again. “But what if that package was a present for Mrs. Howard (our neighbor who moved) from her dad who she had not seen since she was a little girl? She thought he was dead. But he had suffered from PTSD and finally cleaned himself up and worked up the courage to see his little girl.” I felt so sad that Mrs. Howard might never get to see her dad. Then I remembered I had no idea what was in that package and who was the man who left it there. It was dark that night I was not able to get a good look at him.

The next morning, I actually walked up the neighbor’s steps and crouched down to get a better look at the package. I thought I might see a name and an address. But the package had no writing on it; I dare not touch it! Who knows what was wrapped inside? “Maybe it’s a bomb activated by touch or movement, and I really don’t want to blow up the neighborhood!”

I was really distracted at school. My teacher even reprimanded me for not paying attention during class. She asked me a question and I didn’t even hear her. I shook off my distraction and looked down at my book to catch up with the lesson.

I rushed home from school. When I got to the house next door the package was gone! “Whew! The neighborhood is safe!” Then I laughed at myself. A bomb? Really? I had really gotten carried away! The mailman probably saw it and picked it up.

But for a few nights after, I walked to the window and looked to see if anything else showed up on the neighbor's stoop.

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Nedra Epps

I am the Founder of Vision Heirs Publishing and Consulting, LLC

I help people edit and publish their books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.