Fiction logo

The Origin Experiment

Risking life for love

By S. M. RisdonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Running my fingers over the cold metal of the locket, I look up at Johnny. He’s staring down at me, studying my face.

“What’s this for?” I ask him.

“It’s a gift, Reggie,” he admits.

“You only give me gifts when you’re about to do something dumb,” I tease. “What are you planning on doing this time?”

“Nothing,” he says, turning his gaze away from me.

Johnny pivots and takes a few steps away, his blond bangs covering his eyes so I can’t see the warm brown irises that always make me feel at home. Whatever he has planned, it isn’t good.

“You’re lying to me,” I say. “This locket is shaped like a heart. You’ve never given me anything with a heart before. What’s going on?”

“Can’t I give you a gift without the third degree?” he asks, trying to rub the tension from his stubbled chin, still refusing to look at me.

“No, Johnny. You’ve avoided anything and everything in the way of romance for as long as I’ve known you. Six years you’ve always kept me at arm’s length and repeatedly told me that I’m like a sister to you. So, why this and why now?

“You’re a real pain in my ass, you know that?” he chuckles, glancing at me from under his bangs with agony in his eyes.

Neither of us move. Silence hangs heavy in the air between us. Johnny’s gaze darts from behind me to my eyes as he considers what to say. He sighs, arms dropping to his sides as he steps back toward me.

Too close too quick, I back up but hit the cool, stone building behind me within a couple steps. Still, he comes closer, wrapping his arms around my waist and lowering his head so our noses are nothing more than an inch apart. The locket falls from my hand, clanging against the stone ground by my feet.

“I love you, Reggie,” Johnny says, breathing heavily. His gaze is locked onto mine. “I always have. I’ve tried to deny it because the world is too dangerous to make promises. I could breathe in the wrong direction and be shot by a Ranger.”

“Johnny…”

“No, let me finish,” he insists, pressing his body against mine. “I told you that you’re like a sister to keep myself in check. To keep my feelings in check. I can’t do that anymore. I’m being drafted. But I’m leaving tonight. I just couldn’t go without telling you the truth.”

“Drafted?” I ask, panicking. He might as well be marked for death. “How do you even know? Drafts for the Origin Experiment aren’t for another week yet.”

“Let’s just say I pissed off the wrong person,” he answers, looking behind him for a moment. “I can’t avoid the draft this time.”

“What does that mean?”

I search his eyes for an answer but come up empty. The streetlamp at the alley entrance glints in his eyes, but reveals nothing. He doesn’t respond, either. Instead, Johnny closes his eyes and leans down, his lips pressing against mine.

My body vibrates in his arms, his lips sending pleasure through me. Beyond my control, my arms find his shoulders, wrapping around them and pulling him closer to me. I’ve wanted this for so long but didn’t realize how starved I was for his touch.

Johnny pulls away first, pain wrinkling his features. He leans his forehead against mine for a moment before rushing toward the street.

“I’m coming with you,” I call to him.

He stops in his tracks but doesn’t look at me.

“No,” he cries, panic in his voice. “I have to do this alone. I’ve already put you in too much danger by being here with you. It’s better this way.”

Before I can respond, he’s made it to the end of the alley and back to the street. He looks down both ends of the road, then takes off at a run to the right. A tear rolls down my cheek as I stare down the alley, hoping and waiting for him to come back to me.

“Better for who?” I whisper, the words dispersing in the gentle breeze.

Excerpt
Like

About the Creator

S. M. Risdon

A mom with a love for writing. I hope to be able to have my books published and see them in bookstores around the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.