Fiction logo

The Night Watch

Entering my access code I watched with relief as a total of 1.3 million Euros appeared on the screen

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 11 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
4
Detail from Rembrandt, The Night Watch: image public domain via Wikimedia Commons

I had plenty of time to think about it during those long night shifts. In the end, I couldn’t believe how easy it was. As a security guard at the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, I had access to all areas. It took less than twenty minutes during the evening lockup. I slipped into the gallery, carefully razoring the painting out of its frame, before replacing it with a beautifully crafted fake. It would not fool anyone taking a closer look, but it gave me time to get away.

Waiting for the courier, I sat outside the cafe, a short black coffee and a portion of honey cake in front of me. I heard a voice from behind.

“Do you mind if I join you?” he asked in English, giving the agreed code.

“Delighted,” I replied. He handed over the laptop. Pulling up the display, I watched the Bitcoin application start. Entering my access code I saw, with relief, the crypto equivalent of 1.3 million Euros appear on the screen.

“Not a bad payment for a day’s work,” the courier said, smiling. “Shame you won’t be able to spend it.”

“What?”

“Vincent Parker, I am arresting you for the theft of a painting from the Rijksmuseum.”

Microfiction
4

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    It's always tough for an amateur to pick up the signs that all is not right with their heist. And doubly difficult to get away with anything of much import.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This is way better than my effort! Well done!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Very clever framing devise, a night watchman steals Rembrandt’s The Night Watch. (Sorry about the pun.) A well crafted story. I enjoyed it. I love the Dutch Masters and would love to visit the Rijksmuseum someday.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Oh no! 😱 how tantalising, a million euros, and not able to spend any of it 😖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.