Fiction logo

The Newlyweds

1408 Marigold Drive

By JordanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
The Newlyweds
Photo by Thomas Curryer on Unsplash

The rain slammed against the window as dinner was baking in the oven. Their fight was a big one and Zack had slammed the door to take a drive. That was over an hour ago. Seven months of marriage had completely stripped us of the beautiful friendship we had created leading up to our big day all over petty little fights. I couldn’t tell you what half of them had been about, but today’s fight was over what to do with the landscape in the front of the house. I laughed at it mentally, yes, but why were we becoming so heated about these small disagreements. The oven timer beeped and I carefully pulled the enchilada casserole from the rack and placed it on the stove top. Another hour had passed before I finally made a plate to eat. I dished out a plate for Zack, put it in the microwave with a note, poured a glass of wine, and settled on the recliner with my book.

The glass of water began to make rings on the coaster. I’d driven around until I found a bar and stopped in for a drink. When the bartender asked what’d it be, I heard myself ordering water. Ashley and I had another fight and it was killing me that all I seemed to do lately was make her cry, she’d never let me in on just how much my words were hurting her, but that was my Ash - tougher than nails and always sweeping my bad habits under the rug. I’d really let in on her this time over the stupid flowers for the front yard. What the hell Zack, I’d been beating myself up for the past two hours about how damn selfish I could be. The bartender strolled over after a few regulars left and asked me if I’d like anything else. The more I thought of the pain I caused my wife, the more I wanted a whiskey to erase the memory. “Not tonight” I muttered. “If you don’t mind me asking, you in recovery and fell off the wagon tonight?” He was gentle with the words, like he didn’t want the pressure of being in a bar to offset a recovering alcoholic. “No sir, just had a fight with my lady” I paused wondering if I should spill my guts to this complete stranger. “Hmm” was all that came out of his mouth. “We’ve been married seven months and can’t seem to get along like the last couple years when we weren’t married.” My thumb rolled my wedding band around my ring finger subconsciously. He smiled and we struck up a conversation about how his wife left him years ago, the four beautiful children they’d had and the wonderful years they’d shared. When I asked why she left he shrugged and breathed “God needed her more than I did I assume.” He continued to wipe down the bar giving me advice, when he turned to me and said “Go home, wrap her in your arms, when she says she’s sorry tell her you are too, be there for her, listen to her day, and don’t try to fix her problems, she can handle her own, just be there to build her up.” I slid off my chair, tipped the man, and shook his hand. The rain had let up just enough for me to see on the drive home. four and a half hours I’d been gone and listening to that old man’s stories of life and love. The metal street sign came into view and I said a silent prayer, thanking God that 1408 Marigold Drive would forever be our first home and the place we learned to live as newlyweds, as husband and wife.

The house was quiet, the stove lamp still on, I walked over to turn it off and saw “Press start baby!” written on the note Ashley had left for me on the microwave. I pressed start and hung my coat on the rack. I made my way to our room, when I noticed a beautiful lump on the recliner, balled up with her book, and sleeping so peacefully. I walked over, placed her book on the table, took the blanket off of her, picked her up, and carried her to our room. She stirred a moment when I laid her on her side of the bed. I kissed her forehead for a long time until I heard her whisper “I’m so sorry Zack...” I smiled, thinking of the old man’s words. “Shhh, me too baby, me too!” I pulled the blankets back over her as she fell fast asleep. I strolled back into the kitchen to retrieve my dinner and smiled as I pulled my favorite meal from the microwave. God I didn’t deserve this woman, and it was high time I started showing her just how much I truly loved her and how thankful I was to call her my wife.

Love

About the Creator

Jordan

just a dreamer putting words on paper.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JordanWritten by Jordan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.