Fiction logo

THE NEW YEAR'S FALL

CHAPTER 1: HOPE AND MISERY

By MissclickedPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
7
PAPER PLANES DON'T FLY LONG, DO THEY?

Do you believe in death?

Do you believe in the out-lash of karma; the atonement of sins?

Well you may or may not but there's always a 'take' for whatever you 'give'!

Date: 31st December 2060

There isn't much to write about what is yet to come, but here I am still with the strength of pen and paper. This isn't the map to 100 years of fortune, rather about an unfortunate conclusion to some rich man's greed, so whatever you read now, just know you won't live the same. The place you live in now was once a hope to 8 billion people. After everything, we lost this hope was the only coping mechanism we had. Who am I to say all this? You may ask, well, just one of the 8 billion people with the same desire but much of a complex connection.

The world changed rapidly more the times humans thought it would. The technology grew bigger, and the greed wider. I am afraid I don't have the sweet time left to describe the misery, but if you are curious enough, here are some pages in the order of how it all went down. I don't know who you are or your name, but if this has found you, know that I am at ease with not being the only one with this secret now. It must have been erased by now all the things they laid their foundation on. There wasn't much to do once we lost all that we had to protect ''paper planes can't fly for that long, I guess?.

There isn't anything you can do even if you put two and two together, but die knowing you all lived upon many who weren't ready to die yet. They say the path of karma revolves round, so if it comes back, at least you would know why is it you all? And where is it from? Well that's a lot of talk I did for someone almost in their deathbed, just do me a favor burn these as you read them; or DON'T.

THE SECTOR 10

Date: 1st January 2045

Hey it's me, Elena again, just checking in to tell you that we finally got our dream job. I have been working day and night just to be able to see that acceptance. Mom and dad would have been so proud and happy if they were here today. Anyway, I told my aunt, and she filled in for that void like she always does. Finally, I will be a researcher at the NATIONAL BIOTECHNOLOGICAL RESEARCH INSTITUTE....yay! . This place has been my dream land since I graduated from college, the latest technology and all the various microscopic beings have always been my muse and now that I have the opportunity to work around everything, that is no better than a star wish come true.

I hope the world keeps changing for the betterment of humanity and with every growing year we adapt to better technology. Well, I guess I am the happiest one on the planet today, but tomorrow is the big day. I have to wake up at five and that would be a pain. Now that I have got one of the Elite jobs, I could live in Sector 10. You know the place is only available to people having the Blue card referring to elite job members. There's a lot to do, so I'll take a leave now. I hope that I won't be late tomorrow. See ya!

WRITER'S NOTE: Hello fellas! first of all thank you to all the wonderful writers on this platform who have supported me in all the numerous ways. As a new person here I have been trying out different styles of writing and trying to explore what I am best at. So here is a piece of my first fiction series THE NEW YEAR'S FALL, please know that I am still a quack at these and your valuable suggestions/advises would be highly valued and appreciated. Take care and have a great day!

Short StorySeriesSci FiMysteryMicrofictionFantasyClassicalAdventure
7

About the Creator

Missclicked

Hey fella! welcome to my blog or you could say a little window into my thoughts. Here I will be writing about various topics like, life experiences, short fictions, poems and sometimes a little insights to my life. I hope we all get along!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    I really love this futuristic piece of yours. I see a lot of my concerns about our planet addressed and answered somewhere in the future. This is really great.

  • I'm so happy you're writing fiction as well! This story was so fascinating! I loved it!

  • Eshita Bhati10 months ago

    Well, I would say, the piece of fiction was good delivering some of the major concerns of future. But I personally found your real stories way better. I would suggest to keep writing as exploring is also essential.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.