Fiction logo

The Murphication of a Purple Man

Murphication: When Murphy's Law take control of your life

By David E. PerryPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Like
Created with Bing AI

Let me enlighten you on the precariousness of the situation I’ve found myself in. There was an industrial accident at my job. It caused me to lose my right eye. On top of that, since I was blamed for the accident, I lost my job as well. It gets worse.

To make a few bucks, my friends and I started a band in which we would perform at different small events around town. Johnny played the guitar, Bobby played the drums, and I would switch between the trumpet, the saxophone, and the trombone. The other day, just as we were getting ready for a gig, a truck ran over my horns. I was able to save the trumpet, but the sax and the trombone were destroyed. It gets worse.

Part of our act is that we dye our hair a different color for each show. This time we chose purple. However, instead of just my hair, my skin was purple too. One good thing, a movie director saw us and asked us to be in his newest movie. He’d fly us to Hollywood. Sounds good? Not!

The flight led us into a storm. The pilot flew over the clouds. That’s when we saw it. A UFO descended from above. The creature inside looked at me and snarled. “What was that”, Johnny screamed.

I was down to one eye, and one horn. I was flying in an airplane, and I was purple.

“Looks like a purple people eater to me.”

Created with Bing AI

Short StoryMicrofictionHumorFantasy
Like

About the Creator

David E. Perry

Writing gives me the power to create my own worlds. I'm in control of the universe of my design. My word is law. Would you like to know the first I ever wrote? Read Sandy:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.