Fiction logo

The Magic Shark

Jaws meets Aladdin(ish)

By Jordan HarrisPublished about a year ago 3 min read

The tropical breeze flew into the face of 15 year old Jerry Phillips. He was on vacation in the beautiful USVI islands with his family. He was staring out to the ocean because his family told him to go outside and not to be on his phone the entire time. This left Jerry to be very bored and not having anything to do. Suddenly, there was a rumble in the water. Jerry stepped back for a second so he could see what it coming out of the water.

Then, out popped a shark. But there was something strange. This was no ordinary shark. This shark was walking on it's tail, something that most sharks cannot do. Also this Shark was able to talk. "Hello" replied the shark. "I am The Magic Shark." Jerry would've taken a huge step back, since this was a bloodthirsty carnivore, but when he took another look, he realized that this shark did not seem threating. It seemed very friendly compared to other sharks. "Why do they call you The Magic Shark?" asked Jerry. "I am The Magic Shark because I am capable of granting wishes." the shark replied. "So you're like a genie?" asked Jerry. "Yes" said The Magic Shark. "Only I don't grant three wishes, I grant unlimited wishes. But there are only three rules. You can't wish for someone to die, you can't wish for money, and you can't tell people that I exist."

Jerry thought about this for a moment, and said, "Well I know what I'm going to wish for first. I wish I had a hot fudge sundae." suddenly, a hot fudge sundae appeared in Jerry's hand. His eyes widened with surprise and excitement. He took one spoonful of the sundae, and felt a bundle of joy on his taste buds. "This is amazing!" exclaimed Jerry. "Probably the best ice cream I have ever tasted in my entire life. What else should I wish for?" Jerry thought about it for a while, then he said, "I wish I wasn't so bored here on this vacation." "Wish granted." said The Magic Shark.

Suddenly, a bunch of people showed up, with upbeat music being played. There was people close to Jerry's age dancing to the music being played. Jerry no longer felt bored. He actually felt more excited than he did before. He thanked The Magic Shark for providing him with people to talk to.

Jerry then had another wish in mind to make. He wished that he was good and surfing and that he had a surf board to surf on. Sure enough. The Magic Shark granted that wish.

Jerry was enjoying himself at the party, until he saw a girl a year older than him. This girl was extremely beautiful with tan skin, dark brown hair, and brown eyes. Jerry was gawking at her very awkwardly, and then he had an idea. He asked The Magic Shark if he could grant him confidence to talk to the girl, and The Magic Shark agreed. Suddenly, Jerry felt confident enough to talk to the girl. He walked up to her and said, "Nice weather we're having, huh?" "Yeah" said the girl. "It sure is. What's your name?" "My name is Jerry." replied Jerry. "What is your name?" "My name is Traci." said the girl. "Nice to meet you Traci." said Jerry. "I'm on vacation here with my family. What brings you here?" "I'm on vacation too." said Traci. "Say, would you like to go with the arcade with me? I'm a master at Pac-Man." "Sure." said Jerry. "I love arcade games. But first I have to take care of something." He then walks to the ocean, looking for The Magic Shark.

But there was one problem, The Magic Shark had disappeared. Feeling confused, Jerry walks back to Traci, and the two walk together to the arcade. The two teens eventually hold hands, sparking the start of something amazing. The Magic Shark popped out of the water, observing the twosome, saying "Well, looks like my work here is done.", and smiled to himself.

Short Story

About the Creator

Jordan Harris

Just a 20 something college student trying to find his way in life. I'm new to the writing world so give me a chance.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jordan HarrisWritten by Jordan Harris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.