Fiction logo

The Magic of Love

Thankful

By Alexandra MaldonadoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Magic of Love
Photo by Virginia Simionato on Unsplash

“I’m sure that they’ll be a lot of people you want me to meet, Grandma, but I have other plans this year,” Natasha was saying, leaning against the counter in the kitchen.

“What could so important that you miss family dinner?”

“I’m not saying that I’m going to miss family dinner. I’m having family over tonight.” The oven dinged in the background and she got up from her position, taking the casserole out and placing it on a cooling near the sink. “You are more than welcome to come if you want to.”

“No, that witch will be there and I will not be associated with her.”

“Evira is sweet, she won’t hurt a fly, unless it deserves it.”

Evira came in from the outside, closing the door and sighing. She placed her bag on the end table near the door along with her keys.

“Thanksgiving is tomorrow.”

“But Mom has something to do tomorrow that she said she could come today and that’s why we’re having our dinner today, because I was invited to someplace else to have dinner,” she looked behind her, smiling and waving. “I gotta go, have to check on my rice.”

“But—”

“Bye, Grandma.” Natasha hung up the phone, dipping her head between her shoulders and sighing. “That was gruesome.”

“I heard the last bit.” Evira came closer, hugging her from behind, resting her chin on Natasha’s shoulder. “Who invited us somewhere tomorrow?”

“No one, but she was going to wiggle her way into inviting me to her work party.”

“Work party?”

“Yeah, she invited a few workers to her house and she’s trying to set me up for a promotion at her place.”

“But did you tell her about the promotion you just got your work?”

“I did, I’m happy for myself, I’m in charge of a whole team of people, and they follow my every word.”

“Not every word.”

“You know what I mean.” Natasha turned around, curling her arms around Evira. “How was the last day before holidays? Did they cry?”

“Surprisingly, the parents did.”

“Really?”

“They started to tear when they noticed that I didn’t give their kids a lot of work for the long weekend.” Evira laughed. “I just can’t tell if it was happy tears or sad tears.”

Natasha laughed, breaking away from her and setting the casserole on the table, the rest of the food spread out.

“You didn’t tell her that a few other family members are coming,” Evira responded, her tone matter of fact.

“It’s the members of the family that she tolerates but won’t consider them family unless they come presentable.”

“I see.” Evira hummed, thoughtful. “So, the blue mohawk that Jessie wears isn’t cutting it for her?”

“Ev.”

“I’m just saying.”

~*~

“Evira, can you set the table for more guests?” Natasha was fixing her hair, a pin in her mouth and one shoe on. “I just got a text from my mom, she said she was bringing someone.”

“Okay!” Evira got up from the couch, her heels clacking through the house, and got some new plates. She turned around and tilted her head to the side. Her eyes roamed over the table, tyring to find some space. Then, she widened her eyes, green glowing from within, and the plates all shrunk a little, giving her room for the extra plates.

Natasha found her way down, her skirt flowing freely around her legs, her sneakers shiny new and bright white. “Oh, that’s good,” she said, smiling at her from the doorway to the kitchen. “Let’s get this party started!”

Evira chuckled, her arms crossed in front of her chest. “Why is mother bringing someone? And why so sudden?”

“I don’t know, she sounded very strange when I called her earlier.” They both went to wait in the living room, curling into each other. “I think she’s scared of this person.”

“And she’s bringing them here?”

“Maybe so you could check them out, I guess.”

Evira nodded, humming. “I think you’re right.” She tilted her head to lean it against the back of the couch. “I will set everything up.”

“But let’s not think about that now,” Natasha smiled, tucking her head under Evira’s chin. “Thanksgiving is for thanking her and everyone for coming and spending it with us, even when it’s not even the actual day.”

“There is a thing called friends-giving and Jessie said her friends invited her to their house tomorrow.”

“I know.” They stayed there for a few minutes just waiting for the people to arrive, silence enveloping them, Natasha content to be there. “Thank you for following me home.”

Evira smiled, pressing her lips to Natasha’s forehead. “Thank you for accepting me for who I am.”

familyLoveYoung Adult
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Maldonado

Writing has always been a dream of mine. I love write and make stories, make a whole world full of charactera that represent me and my life. I put a little of me in my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.