Fiction logo

The Magic of Love

A Winter Morning

By Alexandra MaldonadoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Magic of Love
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Natasha woke up, snuggled under the blanket, curling further into the warmth. Someone was poking her, a tingling sensation forming at the base of her spine. She opened her eyes, squinting through the sleep still weighing her down. Evira stood near her bedside table, covered head to toe in winter gear. The puffiest coat she owns, her brown pom pom hat and gloves in her dangling from her limp fingers.

“Let’s go for a walk,” she said, voice low from behind her matching scarf.

“Wha?” Natasha lifted her head from her pillow, shaking her head slightly to clear her mind and possibly her ears. “You wanna go for a walk?”

“It looks nice outside,” Evira muttered, arms crossing over her chest the sleeves of her coat crinkling with the movement. “I’ll wait for you downstairs.”

“Okay.” Natasha flung her blankets to the side, already full of energy and raced to her closet to find her warmest clothes. “I’ll be down in a few.”

~*~

They both walked down the street, hands curling in their gloves. “I’m surprised that you wanted to go for a walk.” The morning sun was shining high, the snow from the past few nights were piled on the side, the brown mushy look somewhat appealing for this walk.

“I don’t know, I just wanted go out and this seemed like the perfect day to do it.”

Natasha smiled, swinging their joined hands back and forth. “I’m glad.” They continued to walk in silence until they reached the park, a few people milling about and kids running in the snow. “Look at this,” she said, running ahead. “Come on!”

Evira followed behind, her hand digging deep into her pocket. This is it. She looked behind her, watching the people gather around the middle of the park, mumbling a little and shuffling their feet. Natasha didn’t notice and continued through the snow, gathering some in her hand and throwing the ball she made at Evira. “Natasha, can I ask you something?” Evira said, her hands in the air, green flowing from her gloved hands and stopped the snow ball before it could reach her.

“No fair,” Natasha said. “What’s the question?” When she turned back around, she saw some kids smiling up at her, each holding a big card in their hands. “What’s going on?”

The first card said “I’ve loved you since the first time I saw you.”

The second card said “I’ve admired how you stand up for those that were different. Especially me.”

There were five cards in total and each one said what Evira loved and admired and liked about Natasha. When the last card was read (“You’ll always be my first love, no matter what happens.”), Natasha turned around and saw Evira on one knee, holding a tiny box with a bow on it. Behind her the other people, formed the question Will you marry me?

“Oh, my god.” Natasha felt the air become tighter, her cheeks hurting from the huge smile on her face, her eyes stinging with unshed tears. “Oh, my god. Yes!”

Evira sighed, her shoulders slumping with relief. “I wasn’t sure you were going to say yes.”

“Of course I was going to yes.” Natasha took off her glove and held her hand out for the ring. “We’re practically married at this point.” She leaned closer, rubbing her forehead against Evira’s. “Plus, my mother adores you.”

“Yeah, she does.” Natasha smiled, bright and shiny under the winter sun.

“We did good, Ms. Evvy?”

They looked down at the kids, their big eyes huge behind the cards they still held. “You did good kids, now go back to your parents.” They cheered, dropping the cards and running in circles and rolling in the snow.

“Did you get your little kids to help you?” Natasha asked, shaking her head and admiring the ring on her finger.

“They are the only ones who don’t hate me,” Evira said, who shrugged. “And their parents.”

“Ms. Evira, thanks for lettings us be a part of this moment for you,” one the patents say. “And congrats.”

“Thank you.” She hugged Natasha, leaning her head against hers. “I’m glad I got to do it today.”

“I love you.”

“I love you, too.”

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Maldonado

Writing has always been a dream of mine. I love write and make stories, make a whole world full of charactera that represent me and my life. I put a little of me in my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.