Fiction logo

The Magic of love

Summer Nights

By Alexandra MaldonadoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Magic of love
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Evira sat crossed-legged on the porch, squinting through the rays of sun beaming down on her. Her hands were curled around a glass filled to the brim with cold water, ice clanging against the sides. She titled her head back to feel the sun better, breathing deeply through her nose.

The sun warmed her through her long sleeve shirt, the condensation making her hands wet and a little slippery. Her fingers tingled against the glass' surface, a little green sparking around her hands.

“Hey!” Natasha’s voice rang through the yard. “I have an idea.” She ran up the stairs, swinging down to sit next to her. “Wanna go on a walk?”

Evira sighed, shaking her head to the side and letting her black hair fall over one shoulder. “Why do you insist on taking me somewhere public?” she asked, taking a sip of water. “I don’t want to go and have people look at us, at you, and make wrong assumptions.”

“I just want everyone to know you.” Natasha turned her whole body sideways, bending her left leg until her knee was pointing outwards. “I want them to know you the way I do.”

“They have tolerated me because of you but they DON’T want to know me.” Evira stood up, stretching her back, groaning with the cracks. “I’m heading inside,” she said. “It’s getting dark.”

“The sun is still high in the sky, Ev.”

“Bye.”

Natasha stayed seated, watching Evira walk back into the house, the door slamming shut behind her, making the silence that she left unbearable. Natasha sighed, sitting up straight, hands folded in between her knees.

~*~

Evira stared out the window, Natasha having moved from the spot she was in to the swing chair, curling under the blanket and watching the sun finally set. Evira leaned her head against the glass, her breath fogging it up, her fingers tingling with pent up rage and magic, small green sparks coming flying from her fingertips.

The phone rang, breaking her out of her thoughts. She answered it, voice a low rumble. “Hello?”

“Where is my granddaughter?” Natasha’s grandmother spat out, the sound of her teeth grinding was loud in Evira’s ear.

“She’s outside,” Evira answered, walking towards the door and swinging out through the doorway. “Nat, it’s your grandmother.”

“Oh.” Natasha stretched her arm out, palm up. “Please, I’m comfy,” she said, pouting a little.

Evira smiled, her cheeks cracking under that pout. “Fine.” She walked further out, sitting down next to Natasha and handing her the phone. “Have at it.” She leaned against the back of the swing, placing her arm over the back of the swing, fingers curling in the soft fabric of Natasha’s shirt.

“Hello, grandmother.”

The sound of Natasha's voice rang through the air and it settled something in Evira's chest, something that's dark and hollow. Her fingers rubbed against Natasha's shirt, embedding her magic into the fabric.

"I don't want to go." Evira turned her head, her eyes narrowed slightly. She could feel her face become cold with anger. "Because I have a girlfriend, who I care about every much."

"Nat, hang up." Evira stood up, putting her hand out. "Let's go on that walk now."

Natasha looked up, her mouth twisted to one side in saddness. "Okay," she said, hanging up the phone and getting up. "I don't have a sweater, though and you know how cold I get at night."

Evira smiled, curling one arm around Natasha and snapping her fingers. A warm feeling enveloped them both, and Natasha laughed, her head thrown back and her fingers curled in Evira's sweater.

"Well, aren't you prepared?"

"Always."

Fable
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Maldonado

Writing has always been a dream of mine. I love write and make stories, make a whole world full of charactera that represent me and my life. I put a little of me in my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.