Fiction logo

The Leprechaun

A Quirky Short Story

By Jeannie AromeaPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
A quirky short story

CHAPTER 1

Imogen was walking to the laundromat to do her laundry. It was a regular thing to do on a day off in the town of Braylington, Merth City. Her idiotic cousin Nickru didn’t own a washing machine, and he was happy to wash his clothes by hand.

On the way in front of the laundromat she noticed a small man very short, clearing the street of rubbish. Imogen liked his presence. He spoke to her. “I’m clearing the pathway of this rubbish. People leave rubbish, and I have to clean it up. I have this spear to grab rubbish but when it comes to glass I find it difficult.”

Imogen sensed he had mystical energies, as if he was something out of this world. She headed towards the entrance of the laundromat and started loading her washing in the washing machine. She peaked out the door and still noticed the strange small man cleaning up rubbish, with a spear and putting it in a large rubbish bag. Then she saw him clean up the class by waving his arms up and down in the air. The air was glittery and the glass magically disappeared.

‘Oh wow! Did I just imagine that?’ Imogen thought. No she did not. She knew she didn’t It was reality. But she was now living a fantastical reality.

Imogen finished loading her washing. She sat on one of the benches and began to listen to music on her ipod. and play solitaire. It would take thirty minutes for her load to finish and then another fifteen to dry.

Once done she headed outside. The little man was still out there.

“Hi” Imogen greeted.

“Hi!” he answered excitedly. “It’s all clean now. I’ll head home now.

“That’s great. Where do you live?”

The little man pointed in the direction towards the street. Just over there near that creek.”

She thought, Oh he really must be mystical. He probably lives in a tree house.

Well, I’m heading home too. I need to eat dinner.”

“Ooh can I join you?” he asked.

“She turned to him with a candid smirk. “Yeah sure, why not. Come to my house at dinner time six o clock. I’ll have dinner served for you. I’ll write my address down for you. See you then.”

Imogen handed the piece of paper to the midget man. He looked at her with his gleaming blue eyes and sharp teeth, thank you sweet. You will receive many gifts in the near future, I assure you. May be a pot of gold or two.”

“Imogen smiled delightfully. She loved guests, especially mystical magical ones. And she really needed a saviour right now to help her. Imogen looked down away for a moment. Imogen then turned around and strangely enough the little man had disappeared into thin air.

CHAPTER 2

There was a knock on the door. Imogen opened it.

“Hello young maiden.”

“Hello, little man! Thank you for showing up. What’s your name?”

“Oh, how rude of me to not introduce myself before. My name is Anthony The Leprechaun. But you can call me Anthony if you like.”

“So, you are a Leprechaun?” Imogen asked. The little man nodded his head affirming the answer. Imogen then thought to herself. So she was right. He is mystical and magical, and she wasn’t imagining what she saw earlier. The magical dust and disappearing glass, the sudden fading into thin air of the leprechaun. He was definitely a magical being.

“Come in.” she smiled.

“Do we have company?”

“The only person here is my cousin. But we can ignore him. He has a tendency of trying to read my mind though and get into my head.”

“Ah that kind. The evil type. I know those. Don’t worry, maiden. Tell me, if he bothers you during our dinner, I deal with him.

Imogen then had an excited feeling run through her. Her saviour was really her saviour.

“So, show me to the kitchen, young Maiden. I’m starving.”

“Yes, Anthony, right this way. By the way, my name is Imogen. You may call me that.”

Ok, Imogen.” Then he bowed down to Imogen kissed her hand and looked into her eyes with his sparkly blues and grinned at her with his sharp teeth. His ears were really pointing outwards. They were very sharp too. He was quite elfish. “I will call you, Princess Imogen, yes?”

Imogen felt so honoured and she smiled and nodded.

“Come this way Anthony.”

Anthony followed her, and they sat at the table. She served him a stir fry of beef and rice noodles.

“Oh, what do you call this dish? It smells wonderful.” said the leprechaun.

Really, its like he’s never eaten human food before.

“I normally just eat fruit, bread, and I love my roasts with potatoes. Except, I never make them.”

“Oh really? Who does? Your wife?” Imogen asked.

The leprechaun grinned at her. No I’m not married.” Then he ignored her question and walked off to the kitchen.

“I’ll make you some dessert right now.”

Imogen was getting excited. She loved his salesman energies. They gave her hope, faith and love inside of her. Everything she needed. A few moments later the leprechaun came back with a white cream sponge cake.

“How’d you do that?” she asked.

Magic my princess Imogen. I can even get you a pot of gold if you cross a bridge and come with me to leave this place. I’ll give you anything you want.”

Imogen smiled ecstatically. “Really?”

“Yes!”

At that moment Imogen’s cousin Nickru walked in the door.

“Oh who’s this?”

Imogen felt a bit afraid but her fear was going away with the leprechaun by her side.

“This is my guest, Anthony.”

“Oh hey.” said Nickru speaking in his fake confident unconfident way. “I’m a bit offended that you invited him.

“I can invite whoever I want to. I pay my part of the rent. And don’t be so rude. My guest is sitting right here.”

Nickru walked out to the garage. A few moments later he walked in with a large axe. He then struck poor Anthony the Leprechaun.

“There! Good.” He screamed with wild crazy eyes. And dragged Anthony to the garage.

Imogen was scared. Nicholas went straight back to his garage beginning to bang and make crazy noises drilling holes. He had chopped Anthony up with the axe and buried him in his back yard.

CHAPTER 3

The following day Nickru walked out to his backyard, the yard had grown into a magical enchanted garden full of leprechaun trees and one of them was Anthony.

Nickru was just staring at the sight in shock.

“You thought you could kill me, hey. But you cannot.” He said with his Irish accent. “I’m a leprechaun.” Then he disappeared and repaired as a leprechaun not as a tree anymore standing in front of Nicholas.

“I want you to leave my princess Imogen alone. Stop tormenting her. Stop reading her mind. Stop telling her what to do. Stop writing mean things about her.”

Then Nickru answered, “No. What are you going to do about it?”

“Torment you back. Enter your dreams and make you so scared you would want to run away from Braylington and never want to fall asleep.

Nick had a scared look on his face.

“Just leave my sweetheart alone. Deal?

“Ok. Deal.”

“Good.” The leprechaun said with a sly grin and gleaming eyes.

Nickru then went to hit the leprechaun but he magically faded and appeared behind Nickru.

“Oops, you missed me! Here I am!” Hahahaha"

“Aaaaah” Nickru screamed.

“I’m the leprechaun. You can’t kill me, or escape me.”

Nickru ran to the garage to hide. He grabbed a power tool and stood in the garage waiting for the leprechaun. There was tension and thrill within him. The leprechaun then suddenly appeared.

“I gave you a chance. Now stop stalking my princess.” The leprechaun used his mind powers to persuade Nicholas to use the power tool on himself.

At the moment Nickru drilled the power tool into his skull and through his brain and he instantly died.

CHAPTER 4

Anthony the Leprachaun appeared in Imogen's room where she was hiding with her cat. She was resting on her bed hugging her cat. "Don't worry my sweet princess. the deed is done."

She quickly sat up. "What deed?"

"Nickru will never hurt you again. Now, how about we go n our way now and I give you a pot of gold that you deserve. And may be a ray of sunshine and a rainbow?"

"Yes, that would be lovely."

"Where would you like to go? I can take you anywhere."

Let's go to Aberfeldie.

"Ok, over the rainbow we go. Here's a pot of gold. He said handing her the gold.

"You can get anything you want with it. It's worth more than any mansion in Aberfeldie. You can buy a palace with it, even two."

"I think one mansion in Aberfeldie is enough. I would like to donate half of it to wildlife charity.

"Good for you."

"Where did you come from by the way Anthony?"

"I came from the creek across from your way. I lived there for quite a long time."

"Why me Anthony?"

"Because your special and you asked for help. You needed it. So I am your lucky leprechaun right here at the right time."

"I'd love for you to move in with me in my mansion. That way no one will ever hurt me again."

"Yes, and I can grant you as many gifts as you wish, as many pots of gold as you wish, as many rainbows and rays of sunshine."

Imogen was smiling. She felt blessed with her mansion and her free life with her baby cat by her side, nobody tormenting her ever again. Life was perfect.

"I want to change your name Imogen, you deserve a princesses name, not a maidens." he said

What do you want to change it too.

"Princess Esther. Better yet. Queen Esther. It suits you more.

"Ok. I like it."

"Now Queen Esther, kneel down for a moment. I anoint you with this olive oil on your forehead. You are now crowned a Queen.

THE END

written by Nina E Dalin @ Jeannie Aromea Entertainment All rights reserved © ​

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Jeannie Aromea

Hi I'm an author, poet, singer songwriter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.