Fiction logo

The Last Witness

"The Sea does not dream of you" - Steven Erikson

By Hunter WilsonPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - January 2024
25
Courtesy of user kordi_vahle, on pixabay

I stood by the shore, watching the waves, sole witness to the End. The water lapped up against my feet, no longer boiling but still painfully hot, asking a silent question I did not answer. I did not move. The water receded, dragging with it sand, shells, ash, and bone.

Out on the horizon, the sea began to swell and foam.

It would make landfall soon. Probably not far from where I stood. I didn't move.

The sky was orange, the color of dying embers, spotted with doorways into night. Nothing had come through in months, but then, nothing had needed to.

If I looked closely through one of those doorways, the celestial matter within would resolve itself into the empty high halls of Heaven.

I did not look closely.

I stood by the shore, watching the swell, last witness to the End.

Behind me, nothing stirred. Nothing flowed through the ruined streets of my town. Nothing permeated the air where my family lived and died. Nothing remained, not even shadows.

And nothing strode forward to stand beside me at the shore, and nothing sang to comfort me as I watched something rise from the sea.

It almost looked human as it waded toward the shore, submerged to its hips out beyond the shelf.

When the water reached only its knees, it stopped, its head so far above I could see only faint impressions of a face. Its flesh was silver-blue, and I couldn't tell if that was hair streaming down, or just seawater.

It raised a webbed hand toward the sky, almost in benediction. I followed the motion, gazing up as it looked down. A face that was almost human, regarding me with… compassion.

I could not bear to hold its gaze. I did not deserve what it offered, that… gift. I averted my eyes.

I felt rain, thick and heavy on my skin. I smelled salt, and dared to look up again. It no longer looked at me, but up into the doorways that sat etched into the sky above us.

In the high, empty halls of Heaven, something stirred, and I heard a sound like the gnashing of teeth and echoing footsteps.

I felt a presence, a terrible majesty, a divine pressure. A white light and a pristine madness.

And the doorways closed. The creature from the sea looked down to me again, and I felt its kind regard, its love that was not love.

It returned to the sea.

I stood by the shore, watching the waves, sole witness to the End. The water lapped up against my feet, now cold, asking a silent question. I answered.

The water receded, taking with it sand, shells, ash, and bone.

Nothing remained.

MicrofictionHorror
25

About the Creator

Hunter Wilson

Actor, writer, occasional dumbass.

Instagram/Threads: @myslyvi

Tiktok: @melhwarin

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barrogaabout a month ago

    The story creates a frightening mood by using outstanding imagery and emotional depth to present a clear picture of the ending.

  • Mark Coughlin3 months ago

    I could visualize the scene. Nicely done.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    So sad! Well done, that's a sub from me 😁👍

  • JBaz4 months ago

    A dystopian feel with every beautiful word you wrote. Congratulations

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Oh my. This is wonderful. Captivating from start to finish. Congrats on the TS.

  • Test4 months ago

    Astounding effort! Keep up the phenomenal work—congrats!

  • Test4 months ago

    Beautifully done -You create atmosphere so skillfully and that ending is so had hitting 🤍

  • Kodah4 months ago

    Loved this❣️ Deserved for top story!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Very powerful and so very sad.

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Wow congrats!!🫶

  • Miss Shamim Akhtar4 months ago

    Congratulations

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    You put so much into this story in terms of content and ideas. It's like the ending of an apocalyptic movie. Great atmosphere as well.

  • Asad Ali4 months ago

    good image and story

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    So powerful, both the imagery and your language!

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Chilling

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wow, this was so poetic and scary.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.