Fiction logo

The Last Son of Godric

By: Jonathan Marsden

By Jonathan MarsdenPublished 2 years ago 6 min read

"There weren't always dragons in the valley. Did you know that?" Wind howled across the eerily quiet battlefield. Smoke and ash from the destroyed camp settled across the field of bodies from both the rebels and the Imperials. There was the soft sound of dirt shifting underneath my boots as I paced in front of the man kneeling before me. "Dragons first appeared only 20 years ago, about the same time that your leader overthrew the rightful king, General Grey." I stopped my pacing to look at his face, hair matted to his head with dried blood, and knelt next to him and directed his gaze to the valley below us. "Do you see that bend in the river? There was a town there, 20 years ago. That was my home. I still remember the day that a shadow swept across the it, followed by the heat of dragon fire. I still remember the screams of every person that I knew being burnt alive. The miller, his daughter, and I made our way to the capitol, barely alive, surviving off of whatever scraps we could find. We weren't the only refugees carrying word of dragons, but your so-called king did nothing."

"At least my king ruled for the people."

I swung my gauntleted hand and hit Grey's face. A fresh stream of blood began flowing from his brow. "I didn't say you could speak. Besides, if that were true, my village might have been saved."

A woman in the dark uniform of an imperial scout rode up and dismounted her black horse as she approached. "Sir, we've tracked the remainder of the rebels to the mountains, a few miles west of the river."

"Good. Tell Captain Prescott not to engage until I arrive with the rest of our forces. This is the last time we will face the rebellion." The scout nodded and remounted her horse, riding off towards the advance battalion. I turned back to the man at my feet. "Well, General Grey, it was a valiant effort, truly, but this," I drew my longsword, "is the end of your journey. Any last words?"

Grey looked up at me and scoffed. "My words mean nothing to you, but you should know best of all; the rebellion won't die with-"

I swung my sword, and Grey's body fell, relieved of its head. "You're right. Your words mean nothing to me." I turned to the man that had been standing behind the general. "Lieutenant Thatcher, gather your men. We'll ride to meet with Prescott's forces before nightfall. It's time we end this once and for all."

"Yes, sir." He turned away and began walking towards the temporary encampment for the Imperial troops.

I knelt next to the body of General Grey. "Dragons aren't the only thing that appeared in the valley on that day, 20 years ago. There's a reason I made it out of my village alive." I lifted my hand and recited an incantation. A bolt of green energy shot down my arm and out of my hand, racing toward the body at my feet. Slowly, it began to crumble to ash, until the only evidence that Grey had been there was the gold dragon insignia from his uniform. My father's words flooded into my mind, unwanted and intrusive.

You're not normal, son. You never have been, and you never will be. This gift has been in our family for a long time, growing stronger with each generation. If you only applied yourself-

I pushed the thought out of my head. "I guess you were right, dad. All I have to do is apply myself." I smiled bitterly and began to make my way to the encampment. "It's time to finish this."

***

The remainder of my battalion, 300 cavalry, 200 foot soldiers, and 200 archers marched in uniform behind my horse as we approached the mountains. The same scout from before rode up alongside us. "Sir, Captain Prescott is waiting for you. There have been some complications."

"What complications?"

"It's better that you hear it from him, sir." We arrived at the edge of the forces and dismounted. "If you'll follow me." She led me to a small outcropping where Captain Prescott was gathered with a few of his subordinates.

"General Godricsson, good of you to join us."

"What's happening, Captain? I've been informed that there are some complications."

"The remaining rebels have taken up residence in the old silver mines."

I scoffed. "How is that a problem? The goblins will take care of them."

"That is the problem, General. The goblins have fortified the entrances, and are guarding it alongside the rebels. It seems as if they've become allies."

I cursed under my breath. "I've come too far to stop now, Captain. The rebellion must be snuffed out."

"With all due respect, General, those mines are a death sentence. Even if we get past the entrances, the men that enter those mines don't come back out."

"Whose head do you think it'll be if we don't end the rebellion here, and now? Mine, Captain Prescott. We march on the mines."

"Sir-"

"That is an order, Captain. Gather your men. We march, now."

Prescott tightened his lips, but held his tongue. "At your orders, General."

He motioned to a few of the men standing near the edge of the outcropping, and they began making their way through the camp, spreading the word. Soon, 1,000 men stood in formation, ready to march on the mines. Captain Prescott, Lieutenant Thatcher, and I stood at the front of them. I cleared my throat. "Today marks the end of the rebellion. We fight not for our own glory, but for the glory of the Empire! Long live the king!"

A thousand roared in response. "Long live the king!"

"Forward, march!" The footsteps of a thousand men thundered toward the mountains. A roar echoed off the cliffs in response. The footsteps slowed to a stop as I turned around. A familiar shadow passed over the battalion, standing in an open field. It was the perfect trap. The flapping of wings was like a hurricane, and as it landed, the ground shook beneath the feet of the Imperial army. The air stood still, as fear filled the hearts of the men that knew they were about to die, for in front of them was something that they had only heard stories of. In front of them stood a dragon, but that was not what made them afraid. Their fear was not of the dragon, but of its companion and rider: the false king, Dominic Wolfsbane. "Shield wall!" I crouched behind the shields that clattered into a clumsy wall in front of me and muttered an incantation. My mana spread to the shields just before dragon fire washed over us. I heard the screams of my comrades that I could not protect. The torrent of fiery death stopped after a few moments, and I withdrew my remaining mana from the men in front of me. "Charge!" The remaining Imperials flooded forwards, towards the dragon. There was no chance for them. As they fought the dragon, I made my way towards the one man in this world that I loathed. The man that had destroyed my home on the back of this very same dragon, 20 years prior. I strengthened my voice with mana. "Dominic Wolfsbane! I challenge you to a duel!"

The fighting slowed as my voice washed over the field, and my eyes met those of the false king. "So, there is honor among the Imperials, after all. A leader that won't send his men to their deaths."

I laughed. "I simply wish to reserve the honor of killing the false king, myself."

"What is your name?"

"General Killian Godricsson."

He tilted his head as he drew his sword. "So the rumors are true. The last son of Godric, here, in the flesh. If it is a duel you wish, then a duel you shall have." A circle formed around the two of us. "As a courtesy, you may strike the first blow." Not wasting a moment, I strengthened my limbs and sword with mana, exploding towards him, and our swords clashed. His brow furrowed. "So, the legends are true. The line of Godric possesses the ability to harness mana." Our swords clashed again, and again. "You are more powerful than I anticipated, but it is no matter." He struck my mana imbued sword with more force than before, and smiled. I pushed back with all my strength, pouring my mana into my arms, my knees buckling under the intense pressure. "You put up a good fight, son of Godric, but it's over. Your family is not the only one blessed with the gift of magic." My eyes widened as my sword began to crack. He smiled as it shattered. "Send my regards to your father." His sword erupted into flames and swung towards my neck, and I closed my eyes as I accepted my death. It was all I could do, but still, I failed.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Jonathan Marsden

I'm an American writer, located in Southern California. I've always had a love for writing, especially when it comes to fiction, and even more since I love to play D&D. This seems like a good outlet for my creativity. I hope you enjoy!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JMWritten by Jonathan Marsden

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.