Fiction logo

The Last Message

A Story of Undying Love

By Shoaib ShahidPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Like
The Last Message
Photo by Akbar Zaheri on Unsplash

She stared at the screen, waiting for the message to arrive. She knew it was coming, but she didn't know when. She checked the time on her phone. It was 11:59 pm. The last minute of the last day of the year. The last minute of the last day of her life.

She had been diagnosed with a terminal illness six months ago. The doctors had given her only a few weeks to live, but she had defied their expectations. She had fought hard, endured the pain, and tried to make the most of her remaining time. She had traveled to places she had always wanted to see, spent time with her family and friends, and fulfilled some of her bucket list items. She had even fallen in love.

His name was Adam. He was a journalist who worked for an online magazine. They had met on a dating app, and hit it off right away. They had so much in common, and they made each other laugh. They had gone on dates, watched movies, cuddled on the couch, and shared their dreams and fears. They had also shared their secrets.

She had told him about her illness on their third date. She had expected him to run away, or at least to pity her. But he didn't. He hugged her, kissed her, and told her that he didn't care. He said that he wanted to be with her, no matter what. He said that he loved her.

She loved him too. He was the best thing that ever happened to her. He made her feel alive, even when she was dying. He made her happy, even when she was sad. He made her hopeful, even when she was hopeless.

He was also the reason why she was waiting for the message. He had told her that he had a surprise for her, something that would make her smile. He said that he would send it to her at midnight, as a New Year's gift. He said that it was something special, something that he had been working on for a long time.

She wondered what it could be. A poem? A song? A video? A proposal? She didn't know, but she was curious and excited. She trusted him, and she knew that whatever it was, it would be amazing.

She checked the time again. It was midnight. The new year had begun. She refreshed the screen, expecting to see his message pop up. But there was nothing.

She waited for a few seconds, then a few minutes, then a few more minutes. But still nothing.

She started to worry. Maybe something had gone wrong. Maybe he had forgotten. Maybe he had changed his mind.

She decided to call him. She picked up her phone and dialed his number. It rang once, twice, three times, then went to voicemail.

"Hi, this is Adam. I'm sorry I can't answer your call right now, but I have something important to tell you. Please check your email as soon as possible. I love you."

She hung up and checked her email. There was one new message from him.

She opened it and read:

"Dear Saira,

I don't know how to say this, so I'll just say it.

I'm dying too.

I have a rare form of cancer that affects my brain and spinal cord. I found out about it a year ago, but I didn't tell anyone. Not even you.

I know you're probably angry and hurt right now, and you have every right to be. I should have told you sooner, but I didn't want to ruin our relationship. I wanted to make you happy, not sad.

I also wanted to do something for you before I go.

You see, ever since I met you, I've been working on a project for you.

A story.

A story about us. How we met, how we fell in love, how we lived our lives together.

You would smile after reading this, and this helps you to remember me.

I've written it in a book format, and I've uploaded it to an online platform where anyone can read it.

It's called 'The Last Message'.

It's my gift to you.

It's my way of saying goodbye.

It's my way of saying thank you.

It's my way of saying I love you.

Please read it when you can.

Please don't hate me for keeping this from you.

Please don't forget me when I'm gone.

Please know that you are the best thing that ever happened to me. You are my everything.

Please know that you are my last message.

Happy New Year,

Adam"

She stared at the screen, tears streaming down her face.

She clicked on the link to the book.

She started reading his story.

His last message.

Her heart turned into a vast desert. She was engulfed in the desert’s parched silence, and she felt that she was nothing but another grain of sand in the wind.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Shoaib Shahid

HSE pro by day, night storyteller. I write fiction, shorts, and stories with self-discovered lessons—just a storyteller.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.