Fiction logo

The Journal of Aylah Glynhorn

Adventures with creatures

By Liliana CresswellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My DND character.

I was stalking through the jungle while looking for creatures when I came across this momma tiger with her cubs. The momma tiger went off to search for food for her young ones so I took the opportunity to get a closer look at the babies. There were three of them and they were the most adorable little kitties that I had ever laid eyes on. Just as I reached out to touch them, I heard a low growling noise coming from right behind me. I spun around and was face to face with a huge male tiger. He was obviously the daddy tiger of the little cubs. My God was he a gorgeous cat! He had massive paws the size of my head and long, sharp fangs that protruded from his mouth.

I knew that I had to think fast in order to get meself out of this situation. Otherwise, I would end up dinner for the cubs. Thinking quickly and not breaking eye contact with the daddy tiger, I pulled a raw steak from out of my knapsack. I tossed it into the air in front of the daddy tiger. I watched as the daddy tiger caught the steak in midair and began to devour the meat. Once he was done, the daddy tiger rolled over onto his back with his stomach exposed. It was a few seconds before I realized that the daddy tiger wanted me to rub his belly. Crikey! Well, I wasn’t going to pass up this chance so I bent down and began to give the great big beast a belly rub. When the tiger was satisfied, it dozed off to sleep. I took that as my cue to leave, amazed at the experience that I had just had.

Bugbear. That blasted bugbear was so elusive. I had been searching for hours for this beast. I was beginning to get exhausted. Just when I had given up hope, one appeared. As quietly as possible, I crept towards it. I must not have been quiet enough because I saw the creature’s ears perk up at the noise. Before it could turn around, I tackled it to the ground. Crikey! What a rush! The bugbear let out a roar and struggled to break free but I managed to subdue the creature rather easily. I was fortunate that the beast did not seem to have a weapon on it. Which led me to believe that the bugbear was not in hunting mode.

The creature tried to grasp me with its claws but it failed to do so. The bugbear seemed to tire itself out after a few minutes. Apparently, they aren’t very energetic creatures. This is all very fascinating for me! I am learning so much about them!

Aboleth

Someone in a pub that I frequented told me about this strange creature. So I decided that I needed to find it. I thought that it would make a great addition to my compendium. This was back when I was still compiling the first one. I had no idea, other than leads from others, as to where I could find these creatures. Fortunately, people were more than willing to part with the information. Unfortunately, they were not as willing to join me. Oh well, I work much better when discovering these creatures on my own anyway.

I set out for my destination. There was a lake not too far from the village that I had been staying at. The person that I had chatted with in the pub told me that I would find an Aboleth there at the lake. Many of the locals had been avoiding that area for quite some time because of the creature, but not me! I wanted to look at the beast with me own eyes.

I approached the lake with caution. I saw the beast resting on the shore. The Aboleth resembled the largest eel that I had ever laid eyes on. Although, it was not very big for its kind, as I could tell. The Aboleth that was in front of me looked as though it was hardly an adult. I wondered briefly if the Aboleth had the ability to electrocute things as certain eels could. But I decided upon watching it that the Aboleth did not possess those capabilities.

I knew that I wanted to get a closer look at the creature so I decided to move forward a bit. I was able to get close enough to touch it. But before I laid a hand on it, I noticed that there was a mucus surrounding it. Thinking that it might be toxic, I made sure that I did not come into contact with the creature. I backed away slowly, making sure to put distance in between meself and the creature. Me informant warned me that Aboleths could control someone with their mind and also through contact with their bodies. Crikey! What an amazing creature though! It was definitely going into my compendium!

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Liliana Cresswell

Co author of the Shieldheart Series with Leotie Valhana.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.