Fiction logo

The Hunter

An intro

By Jedidiah JohnsonPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
The Hunter
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

If, preceding your picking this story, you have preconceived about what this story may be about, I’ll ask you to please place them aside. This tale is not to be taken lightly for no one could prepare themselves for what will take place henceforth. I was given no such warning before my life was turned upside down by the most peculiar and frightening events. My journey is not one to be read by those of weak disposition, so if you are unable to continue than I implore you to put the book down and walk away.

The day had become dusk and the changed to night had begun. The wind was slow and steady, it rustled through the trees in a whisper, bringing with it a fresh smell of the pine forest we were walking through. “Shhhh” said Dex, “it’ll hear you”. Dex was the leader of our group who had decided to take me along, he was of a sturdy build, had jet black hair, a firm, angular jaw, and scars all over him. It looked as if he had picked multiple fights with a bear and only just made it out alive. “And quit dragging your feet” said Juno, a lean woman with striking eyes of blue resembling the color of a misty sea and short brunette hair that was put into a ponytail for the hunt. The rest of the hunters were spread out around different parts of the forest. At this point I was a little perturbed because I didn’t think I was being loud at all, but here I was being berated for making noise. So in a an agitated tone I began to say, “but I don’t see anything out here-”. Just then the wind shifted brining with it the horrible smell of rotten meat and death, the smell was coming from behind us. Dex and Juno turned on their heels quicker than a snake, and when I turned, my head spun as well, because what I saw reshaped everything I thought about the world I lived in with a single glance. It was a horrifying creature, with pitch black eyes, razor sharp teeth, it's figure resembled that of a werewolf with fur all over, the color of dirt, and it’s head looked much like a lion that hadn’t eaten in weeks, it had horns that looked strikingly like that of a ram, it had wings that looked tattered and ripped but still usable, on its hands (if you can call them hands) were 4 inch claws that looked like they were made to rip through flesh. The most disorinting thing however, was the tail, the tail was a serpent, that looked just as menacing as it’s bodily counterpart. “What the heck is that!” I bellowed, “it’s a Thanafer” said Juno with a driven look in her sea mist eyes, with looked like they were thirsting for a furious battle, a thirst that was about to be quenched. Dex ran at the beast with yelling a war cry, he carried a short sword for mobility and started on it with quick jabs and slashes towards its chest, but for every slash and jab he had to be quick to evade the monsters deathly quick thrashing. “Take it’s flank” said Juno as tossed me a large knife and she ran to the aid of Dex. I was stunned for a moment but then, taking in the severity of the moment I was in, I came to my senses and ran around the villainous beast’s tail that was currently being used to cause Dex a fair amount of stress. Before I could land a blow the head of the tail reared around and came at me, and just barely missed my head as I ducked beneath its vicious strike, but before I could be pleased with keeping my neck in tact, the tail started wrapping itself around me taking what breath I had left away from me. Just as the lights in my eyes were beginning to fade, a rock flew from behind us and hit the snake tail in the mouth causing it to squirm enough to free me and I resigned myself to thank Juno if we survived this. Dex and Juno were faring no better than I was with the tail, Dex had just received a new cut across his chest that didn’t look lethal but it did look painful, and Juno was covered in bruises and small cuts, as if she had only narrowly escaped the claws of the hideous Thanafer. I was back in the heat of battle with the snake tail. I had just rolled away from a bite and out of range when I felt inspired by Juno’s rock throw, and just as the snake was striking I threw my blade and it found its mark in the serpent’s throat. Thankfully the tail became limp, but I had lost my weapon.The thanafer howled in pain and started to turn towards me when Dex grabbed its arm and hacked off a few fingers, with a cry of pain the beast redoubled its efforts on Dex and Juno after that and left me at its flank. Both Dex and Juno were being pounded and I knew I had to do something. In desperation I grabbed a fallen branch, and snapped it in two. They weren’t knives but they were sharp enough to pierce skin and that was good enough for me, I bellowed and ran for the monsters flank, I jumped and stuck my stakes into the Thanafers back and started climbing towards the shoulders of the beast drawing blood with every gash. The Thanafer was crying out with pain but was still distracted by Dex and Juno making precise cuts with their short swords. Finally I made it too it’s shoulders and then I took my stakes and jammed them into its neck. With that it started thrashing uncontrollably, but it could no longer roar as it had been, it was only making gurgling noises. I was holding on tightly to my stakes, waiting for the right moment to let go. Finally I did and stumbled to the ground. I looked up and saw a the thanafer on the ground twitching, and then saw Dex and Juno looking down at me. “He’ll do” said Dex, “do for what?”, “welcome to the hunters Sticks”

Fable
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.