Poets logo

Rilian's Pain

Inspired by "The Silver Chair" by C.S. Lewis

By Jedidiah JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Rilian's Pain
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

It was for vengeance I set my gaze

To find therein justice paid

Upon serpents, my thoughts thus stayed

In anger, I raged through night and day

My thoughts thus ruled began to turn

For consumed was I, by lustful anger burned

Set to destroy to kill to vanquish then return

Thought I my manhood by vengeance to earn

This lustful anger then shifted direction

Thought I from snakes to make protection

But beauty did ‘tice me to give provision

To her, I was cast in submission

Thought I “tis good to set myself away

From anger which burns by night and day”

Upon things passions much sweeter swayed

But tricks and games this beauty played

For at first this beauty showed me light

Thought I to find found a true delight

Then senseless driven I to endless night

Consumed again, but now by magics blight

As if to torture, the spell incomplete

For by day to stand on my own two feet

But not awake, for beauty set me to sleep

Then night to rise, and too my Mind from the deep

But bound was I fixed in my place

Forced to dwell on my own disgrace

Upon lustful rashness, I set my face

And earned myself years of waste

This silver tongue that filled the air

So sweet to hear and sang so fair

Words to sway and light to bare

cast me, cursed me to this silver chair

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.