Fiction logo

The House on the Hill

By Shaylyn Torres

By shaylyn N torresPublished 2 years ago 30 min read
Like

A fresh start. That’s just what I needed. I purchased a new home, in a new state, California. It’s a two story home with grey shingles, a white finish, and a light ocean grey-green covering the window panes, and the banisters on the porch. Both the balcony and porch extended out wide and far. There is a white picket fence around the property, and behind the house there is a barn. It is long, wide, and has two stories. The roof is rounded, and for some reason there are two horses residing inside. A mare and a stallion. The mare’s coat ,and mane shone beautifully, a pure white. They had matching black eyes, and the stallion, who stood tall and proud, had a dark black coat. The barn was well kept, and clean. Both horses had plenty of food and water, and their saddles and bits sat across from their stalls and shone like a well-polished coin in the sun. How odd.

This home was supposedly abandoned, but it looks perfectly clean as if it were still occupied. The inside of the house was simple, yet elegant. A beautiful wood finish, and a simple wallpaper all around the house. I suppose the home was as decorated as any other in California, 1875. It’s been a long day of unpacking, and exploring the land, but thanks to the men in town, it only took a day to unpack. I collapsed on my bed, exhausted. I don’t begin work at the wood mill in town for another couple of days, so I guess I can spend that time caring for the land, and getting to know the horses. My head sinks deeper into my pillow, and all the thoughts I had drifted away. I finally fell into a deep, and peaceful sleep.

BANG!!!!

A loud slam had awoken me from my sleep. I lit the candle next to my bed, and look at the time from the clock mounted on my wall. The clock read 3:45 A.M. I groan, wishing I could just sleep through the night.

BANG!!!!

Another slam rings through the house. I move to go check the source of the noise. The second floor, where my bedroom is, is clear. Nothing out of the ordinary. I’m sure I’m still exhausted. But, I could have sworn I heard a child laughing downstairs. I quietly move down the stairwell. The parlor room and the dining room are empty. But, I can hear something moving around in the kitchen. It sounds like utensils clanging together. I quietly step closer to the kitchen, and I can hear whispering. I walk closer and closer until I’m at the entryway , and suddenly the noise stops. I peek around the doorway to see into the kitchen, but there is nothing there. I guess I really am just exhausted. I finished checking the rest of the house, and then decided to go back to bed.

When I finally awoke again, it was 6 A.M. Lifting my tired body out of bed, I move towards my wardrobe and get dressed in work clothes. Simple dark trousers, and a white shirt that I’ve tucked in. I put on my beat-up leather boots, and head downstairs. I go into the kitchen, and boil myself some eggs to eat with some leftover cornbread from the day before. Once I’ve finished my breakfast, I head outside to the barn to check on the horses. They seem to be a bit antsy. I wonder when the last time they were able to roam about and strengthen their legs? I got the horses ready and took them out to the pastor I had come across the day before from exploring. It had a small pond on the inside for the horses to drink from, so it seems they’ll be kept in good freedom for a while.

I began to work around the property, tidy it up a bit. Do my best to make this property look as decent as I can make it. When it had reached noon, I had grown hungry from all the hard work. As I moved inside to prepare a lunch for myself, I wipe the beads of sweat rolling off my forehead. I quickly wash my hands, and guzzle down a cool glass of water. I ate my food in peace, gently listening to nature sing outside. Once I had finished eating, I began to clean up. I glanced out the window at the pastor to check on the horses, and I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I must have heat stroke and am hallucinating.

I rub my eyes to make sure I’m seeing clearly , and sure enough I am. Standing right in the middle of the pastor, petting the horses, is the most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen. She has long, golden blonde hair that curled ever so softly. She was so pale that her skin looked like porcelain. Her lips and cheeks were a light shade of pink. She had freckles scattered across her cheeks and nose. Her smile. Oh, her smile. So beautiful. So perfect. But, then I saw her eyes, and I felt my breath hitch in my throat. Those eyes. They are the deepest, most pure shade of blue with what appears to look like gold flakes in them. She has a very petite figure, and the gown she’s wearing is a baby blue color with white trimming. She is absolutely breathtaking. I walked out of the house, and towards the pastor where she is. She had her back to me as I approached. I cleared my throat, hoping I won’t make a fool of myself in front of her.

“Excuse me, Ma’am?”

She jumped and quickly turned around towards me, wide eyed.

“ I apologize, I didn’t mean to startle you. My name is Jack Smith. It’s a pleasure to make your acquaintance Ms.?”

“Olivia-Paige Quinn, Sir.”

Even her voice was as beautiful as she is. I smiled at her, hoping to ease some of her discomfort.

“Well, Ms. Quinn. May I ask, where are you from, and how did you come about my property?”

“Oh, well I-I um used to live here actually, Mr. Smith.”

“I was told that this property was abandoned.”

She had looked to the ground, with a blush rising to her cheeks. She hadn’t the faintest idea of what to say…. Well, that didn’t take me very long. How moronic can I be? I wasn’t trying to embarrass the poor girl.

“I find myself apologizing again, Ms. Quinn. I never meant to embarrass you. If I may ask, where are you currently staying?”

Her blush deepened, and she started to fiddle with her dress. She looked absolutely adorable. I couldn’t help, but admire her.

“Well,I’m embarrassed to say Sir, but. Well. I, uh, have been staying on the second floor of the barn. It had made it easier to look after Winter and Shadow.”

“ Now, that simply won't do. A stunning young woman, such as yourself, shouldn’t be sleeping in a barn! No Ma’am. I can’t have that. You can stay in the house with me. Of course you’ll have your own room.”

“ Oh no! I couldn’t possibly. I wouldn’t want to impose.”

“Don’t be silly. I insist. Now, before I forget, who are Winter and Shadow?”

She giggled as she replied, “ I had named the mare and stallion. Winter’s the mare, and Shadow is the stallion.”

I chuckled and nodded in understanding. I had walked her to the house, and found a room for her to stay in.

“Do you have any belongings, like clothing or personal items?”

She looked down as if ashamed, “No, I don’t. I’m afraid I had to leave everything behind.”

“Hmm, well how about we prepare the horses, and go into town. I can buy you some clothing, and whatever else you may need.”

“That sounds lovely. That’s very kind of you Mr. Smith.”

“Call me Jack. Please. Mr. Smith makes me sounds so old.” I joked.

She giggled as she nodded her head. She takes my breath away at every little thing she does. We went back out to the horses, and prepared them for our ride into town.

“ Well, Ms. Quinn, May I lift you into Winter’s saddle?”

“Why, yes you may, Mr ...I mean Jack. Please call me Livvy. Ms. Quinn is too respectable for my liking.”

“ As you wish, Livvy.”

I smiled brightly at her as I lifted her onto the saddle. I lifted myself onto Shadow, and we began our journey into town. After about 45 minutes of riding, we reached town. I let her roam about the stores to pick out what dresses she desired. She picked out some hats, and a brush as well. Once we had finished our shopping, I loaded the items onto the horses, and help Livvy onto Winter once more. Livvy and I enjoyed each other's company on the ride home. She told me she loves to read, and absolutely adores horses. It seems as though her and Winter are already quite the pair. Shadow and I have bonded as well. It seems as though he really listens when I speak to him.

Once we reached the house, we took the horses back to the barn, and into their stalls. As soon as the horses were situated, I took all of Livvy’s new belongings up to her room. I let her put her belongings away, as I went to wash up. As soon as I had finished getting dressed, I had gone back down the stairs to started on super for Livvy and I. But, when I had gotten to the kitchen she was already serving the food onto plates for us to eat. She had strands of hair sticking to her forehead. Her cheeks had a blush across them, and once she had the food served, she wiped her forehead and then her hands on a towel. She looked positively stunning with how satisfied and proud she was of herself for cooking.

Every-time I see her, my breath away hitches in my throat. I sat down and enjoyed supper with her. She proceeds to tell me all of the things she would love to do someday. She wants to see the world. As she is telling me about were she would like to go, I can’t help but want to give her all of what the world has to offer. Maybe one day I can. Since she made supper, I told her her to go ahead and get some sleep for the night while I cleaned up. She thanked me for my hospitality once more, and then went upstairs to her room. I finished cleaning in no time, so I had gone upstairs to go to sleep myself. As soon as I had gotten comfortable, I had drifted off into a deep sleep.

BANG!!!!!

I was awoken by a loud noise again. Checking the time once again, it read 3:45 A.M. I immediately got up and went to check on Livvy. I knocked on the door and when there wasn’t an answer, I gently opened the door to look inside. Her room was empty. Immediately worried for her safety, I quickly move through the rest of the house checking everywhere I could. Once I’ve reached the hallway that leads to the kitchen, I can see a dimly lit lamp or candle flickering creating shadows. The shadows were shaped like three figures. Two females, one child. A boy. I can hear them whispering. My heart is pounding inside my chest. Not from fear, but from excitement, worry for Livvy, and curiosity of why so many people were standing in my kitchen. One inch closer and I can hear one of them singing.

“ Out in the gloomy night,

Sadly I roam,

I have no Mother dear,

No pleasant home,

Nobody cares for me,

No one would cry, even if I should die.

Barefoot and tired,

I’ve wandered all day.

I’m asking for work, but I’m too small they say.

On the damp ground, I must now lay my head to rest,

Mother, why did you leave me all alone to death?”

It was such a beautiful voice, but that song. It was the most depressing thing I've heard. I felt the pain in her as she sang. My curiosity was getting the best of me. I had to find out who was in my kitchen, and who was singing such a painful song. When I finally peaked my head around the corner, what I saw had my heart pounding so hard against my chest, I thought it would break through. There she was, Livvy standing towards the counter beating eggs in a bowl. Still in the same baby blue gown as before. But, she wasn’t alone. An older woman ,who I would imagine what Livvy would look like when she got a bit older, sat at the table gently humming along to Livvy’s sad song. On the floor next to the older woman is a little boy dressed in all white, just like the older woman. The little boy, unlike the two women, has black raven like hair, and the same deep blue eyes and light freckles. They were all so beautiful.

I took another step to actually enter the kitchen. They all had lifted their heads to look up towards me. Their deep, blue eyes, all staring intently at me. It made me what to shrink back into my own skin. I took what I hope wasn’t a noticeable gulp and spoke.

“ Hello, I apologize for startling everyone. I don’t believe we have met before. I’m Jack Smith. It’s a pleasure to make your acquaintance.”

The older woman had stood from her seat, and the little boy had cowered behind her skirt, barely peeking his head out to see. She had reached for my hand, which I had gently taken. To my surprise her hand was ice cold.

“ Hello, Mr. Smith. I’ m Ms. Hayley-Jennifer Quinn. This is my son, Oliver Jacob, and I notice you have already met my daughter Olivia-Paige.”

I was taken back. Her daughter? Livvy? I quickly glanced at Livvy, and she had avoided my gaze with a deep blush. Clearly embarrassed. She never mentioned she had a family. But, then again a young girl on her own isn’t common. I’m such a bonehead.

“I apologize for the intrusion, Mr. Smith. Olivia-Paige had told us that there is a new resident in our old home, and that you were so kind as to let my dear girl stay with you. I had made the assumption that my boy and I would be included in such an invitation.”

She had smiled showing her pearly white teeth. I simply laughed it off, and told her that of course the invitation extended out to Livvy’s family. I bid them all a good night, and went back on up to bed. That was terribly awkward. The next morning when I had awoken, I began what is now a normal routine. Getting dressed, and then heading down to the kitchen to begin breakfast. Once down there, I had seen Livvy and her family already at the table enjoying some breakfast.

“Jack! I made some breakfast for everyone this morning. Won't you come eat with us?” She had explained excitedly.

“Olivia-Paige! How rude of you! I taught you better than that, young lady. We are guests in Mr.Smith’s home. You will address him as such.”

Ms.Quinn’s voice went from shrill and feminine to deep and intimidating. It even made me want to put my head down in shame. But, the moment I saw Livvy’s eyes go from excitement to shameful sadness. I knew I had to stand up and be a man.For her.

“Ms.Quinn, I don’t mean to interrupt your discipline of your daughter,” she had looked at me with a hopeful, proud gleam in her eyes, “but I’m afraid I must. Livvy didn’t speak out of turn. I had asked her to call me by my name as being called Mister makes me feel old. With that said I must insist that no one calls me ‘Mr. Smith' anymore. It’s damaging to my already fragile male ego.”

Ms. Quinn was taken back at first, but then nodded with a soft smile, and a chuckle. I had once again glanced at Livvy. She was already looking at me with thankful eyes. I went out to work in the field, and finished a days work in a few hours. Wiping the sweat off my face, I noticed Livvy walking closer with Shadow and Winter. Just seeing her brightens my day and makes my heart skip a beat. I smiled and met her the rest of the way.

“ Why Ms. Livvy, what brings you out here?”

“Well, Mr. Smith,” she said playfully, “I was wondering if I could bother you for a ride with Winter and Shadow on such a beautiful day?”

“Why of course Ma’am,” I said as I bowed to her just as playfully, “what kind of man would I be to turn down such a beautiful young woman such as yourself?”

She blushed a deep red and let out the cutest little giggle I've ever had the pleasure of hearing. From that moment on, for the next few weeks a new routine had begun. I would awake in the morning, after getting ready for the day, I would join the family for breakfast and head to work for the day. Then when I would arrive home Livvy would greet me with Winter and Shadow for a short ride before supper. For the next few weeks this routine continued and it felt wonderful. My relationship with Livvy began to grow and blossom. She brought me delight and comfort. She felt like home. I had grown quite a liking to her. But, one night was different. After I had come home from working at the wood mill, instead of Livvy meeting me for our ride, it was Ms. Quinn.

“Hello Jack. I notice you have been spending an awful lot of time with my dear Olivia-Paige. I was hoping to have a moment with you. Would you join me for a walk?”

“Of course, Ms. Quinn.”

“Please call me Hayley-J.”

“Of course, as you wish, Ms. Hayley-J., Ma’am. I don’t mean to pry or to be rude. I hope I don't offend you. But, do you mind my asking of where Mr.Quinn is?”

“I was wondering how long it would take you to ask,” she chuckled, “ He’s gone. Long gone. He had left the children and I long ago.”

“ I’m so sorry to hear that. If it’s any consolation, he’s a fool for leaving you all.’

“Thank you for your kind words, Jack. It’s quite alright. We have all moved past it. Now away from such a depressing topic. May I ask where a Mrs. Smith is?”

“ Well Ma’am there isn’t one yet, I suppose I just haven’t met the right one yet.”

In that moment, my mind had gone straight to Livvy.

“Hmm, what a shame. Well, Mr. Smith , I have the most splendid idea! I would like to offer myself to be such a woman.”

She giggled, and the moment she had said those words my body was filled with disgust. Yes, she is a beautiful woman, but over the past few weeks of getting to know her, I have gotten to know her as a selfish, greedy, deceitful woman. She has also presented herself as secretive, and vindictive. Immediately uncomfortable with her proposal, I had gently turned down her advance. The best that I could.

“Ma’am, as flattered as I am by such an offer. I’m afraid I have to decline. You see, my heart already belongs to another already. My home,” I had rubbed the back of my neck, not sure what else to do in this awkward situation. “ I truly hope, and know you’ll find a man that will worship you. I’m afraid it just isn't me. Now if you’ll excuse me.”

I then walked away and headed towards where I knew Livvy would be. After Ms. Quinn had made an advance towards me, I decided I wanted to find out more about the home and the Quinns. The next day when I had gone into town for work, I had gone to the library instead. Once there, I had pulled every little bit of information I could find on the Quinns. The articles were dated October 3rd, 1866. Nearly ten years ago. These articles talk about how Mr. Jonathan Charles Quinn, a hard-working, raven-haired, black eyed family man, that was loved by the community, had tortured, and killed his wife, Hayley-Jennifer Quinn, and his son, Oliver Jacob Quinn. He had snuck into his son’s room in the middle of the night and slit his throat. He had then raped, and proceeded to torture his wife, until she finally died from blood loss and excessive pain. Their daughter , Olivia- Paige Jeanette Quinn had disappeared, to never be seen again. Unable to find his daughter, Mr.Quinn had panicked and dismembered his wife and son’s body and left them in the ice box. Once found and detained, Mr. Quinn had admitted to the murders, and that the reason he had killed his family was for the woman he had been having an affair with, and ultimately fell in love with. When the sheriff had gone to retrieve the dismembered bodies, they couldn’t be found. He was hung for the murders on November 11, 1866. The property had sense remained abandoned.

I can’t believe this! How is this possible?! I’ve been living with these people for weeks! How could they be dead? I’ve shaken their hands! Livvy! Oh dear Livvy, she’s been missing for the last ten years! Has she been in the barn this whole time? I need to go back home. I need answers. I got out of the library quickly and rode home as fast as Shadow would carry me.. As soon as I got back, I put Shadow and Winter in the pastor, and made my way back to the house. On the walk to the house, nervousness, and anxiety had settled in. I don’t want to offend Livvy, or hurt her by bringing back those awful memories of her past, but I need answers. I had gone to where I knew Livvy would be at this time, the kitchen. There she was standing beautifully in the new pastel purple gown I had bought for her on that first day we met. All the nervousness, and anxiety I had simply washed away when I looked at the beautiful woman before me. She still takes my breath away, and all I want is to be near her. To feel her warmth. It’s now or never. I need answers. I need to know how this is all possible.

“Hello Livvy. How are you this evening?”

“ Jack! Hello. I’m doing quite well. Thank you for asking. How are you? How was your day?”

“ It was well. It’s even better now though. I did take a trip to the library today, and I found some information on your family. The information I found says that your family was killed, their bodies missing and that you’ve been missing this whole time. Is it true, Livvy? Because it doesn’t make any damn sense to me.”

“Oh no. Jack, you didn’t?! Please, tell me you didn’t?!”

“”Yes, but what’s the matter Livvy? What’s so wrong about me knowing your history? Please talk to me tell me, is it true?”

“ Yes, it’s all true. I barely escaped with my life, and I’ve been hiding ever since. I had come back that night to give my mother and brother a proper burial after what my father had done to them. My mother and my brother, they became spirits after my father had tortured them to death. But, they have become something else now. Something dark, which is why it’s so dangerous for you to know the truth. Please you must keep this a secret, just between the two of us.”

Before I could say anything more, she quickly went back to cooking and said hello to her mother and brother, who must have just come into the room.

“Hello Mr. Smith. How was your day? Informative?”

My skin paled as I realized she knew that I was aware of the truth now.

“Good evening Mrs. Quinn. It was quite an enlightening day to say the least.”

“Anything you would like to share with us?”

“ Oh, nothing of importance. Just information on some crops I would like to grow here.”

“Mmmm. Alright then.”

After that supper had gone by fast , and awkwardly to say the least. It was time to retire for the evening, and frankly my mind was spinning. Tossing and turning, I simply couldn’t get my mind to shut off. Finally, giving up, I just let my mind drift off to Livvy. The most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen. As I continue to think of her, my eyes grew heavy. As they grew heavier, and heavier, I finally drift off into a deep sleep.

“JACKKKK!!”

The loudest scream I’ve ever heard had just echoed through the house. I shot up out of bed, so fast my head was spinning. I lit ,and grabbed the lamp and looked at the time. 3:45 A.M. Who or what could that scream have come from? Wait! LIVVY!?!?! I lunged for the bedroom door to go run to Livvy’s bedroom. The door knob wouldn’t budge! Another scream echoed through the house.

“LIVVY!!!! I’M COMING!!!”

“JACKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!”

I continued banging on my door trying to get it to move. I don’t know how long the room was cold for ,but to me it suddenly felt ice cold. I could feel a presence. I wasn’t alone anymore. I slowly turned around terrified of what I would see. Low and behold there was Mrs. Hayley-Jennifer Quinn standing in the middle of the room. Another scream rang through the house.

“Now, don’t you worry Jack,” She chuckled, “My harlot of a daughter will be fine. If you agree to be my husband that is.”

“Husband? You're insane! You're dead! I don’t know how well you are with arithmetic, but that does prove to be a serious problem. Seeing as dead plus alive doesn’t mix very well.”

“Now, Now Jack. There’s no need to get smart. There is a simple solution to such a simple problem.”

“ Simple? What ‘simple’ solution could you have to such a problem?”

“Easy, if you agree to be my husband, I’ll simply kill you. That way we can be together for all eternity.”

“Well, Mrs. Quinn. I would never want to be stuck with such a vile woman for all eternity. It’s no wonder your husband left you for his mistress. Shoot! if I was him, I would have left you for a hitching post.”

“JACKKKKKK!!! PLEASE!”

“LIVVY!”

I moved towards the door to try and get to her, but that damn door wouldn't budge an inch. Mrs. Quinn let out a giggle. Ugh. What a disgusting noise.

“Tsk. Tsk. Tsk. Now, Jack. Do you really think I would simply let you out of here?”

“Livvy is in danger! You can’t keep me in here forever!”

“AS SHE SHOULD BE! WHY SHOULD THAT BRAT GET TO LIVE, WHILE MY SWEET OLIVER J. AND I HAD TO DIE?!”

“You should take that up with your husband, and his mistress. Although, I can see why he would” ,I spat at her.

She obviously wasn’t pleased with that answer. She quickly backed up, and then her appearance began to change. Her jaw dropped open unnaturally low, and she let out this most horrible, ear-bleeding scream to have ever been heard. Her normally deep, piercing blue eyes changed to a bloody, demonic red with the pupils in slits like a cats eye. Her normally porcelain skin had become ragged and black. Her teeth, now pointed, and razor sharp with a wicked long tongue. The faintness of horns were now protruding from her forehead. Her arms, legs, hands, and feet were now elongated, with razor sharp claws from her hands. Instead of five fingers and toes, there was now only three on each foot and hand. Finally her normally golden blonde hair was now a dead, stringy brownish black color.

Terrified, I backed up as quickly as I could into the door and tried with all my might to get the damn thing open. Finally! It opened! Livvy I’m coming for you. Just hang on a bit longer,I had silently begged. I ran straight for her room. As soon as I reached her door, I tried to get it open to the woman that has become my everything in such a short about of time. What is it with them making sure the damn doors don’t bloody open?!

“JACK! PLEASE HELP ME! THEIR GOING TO KILL ME!”

“LIVVY! I’M RIGHT HERE! I’LL PROTECT YOU, I SWEAR IT ON MY LIFE! JUST HANG ON A LITTLE BIT LONGER!”

“HURRY!”

As I went to kick down the door, Livvy’s screams had stopped. The house was quiet. Fearing the worst, I frantically tried to break the door down. In the midst of my frantic attempts of trying to break down the door, that horrendous giggle went through the house. I slowly turned around to see Oliver, Paler than usual with his eyes sunken and black, standing in the middle of the hallway staring at me. He slowly lifted a hand to his throat, and moved his finger across it , laughing maniacally as he did so. Once again terrified, I turned around to run towards my bedroom somehow having a feeling of safety there. I locked myself in as soon as I got into my bedroom. Quickly looking around, I saw movement through the window. I quickly ran to see what it was. Shadow! He must have escaped the pastor after hearing the commotion! I quickly tie sheets and clothes together and toss it out the window. I slowly crawl down and mount Shadow. Taking off into a sprint, I searched the property to try and find Livvy.

“JACK!!!”

Another scream rang out. It came from the barn. I quickly turned Shadow around and went straight for the barn. I need to get to Livvy! Once at the barn, I was ready to vomit at the sight before me. It was Winter. On her side, blood everywhere, coating her pure, white coat. Her belly was torn open, and there eating at her insides was Oliver. Or at least what was Oliver. He quickly looked up, and smiled a wicked, bloody grin before going back to his meal. Not waiting for the demon child to make a meal out of Shadow and I, I turned Shadow around and went back towards the house. There was a movement at the window, it happened so fast I almost didn’t catch it. Getting closer to the house, focusing only on getting to Livvy, I didn’t notice that the demonic, vile woman comes out of the woods surrounding the house and lunging straight for Shadow and I. She had knocked us over so powerfully, that I had landed a few feet away from Shadow. When I finally was able to get up, I looked straight towards where Shadow’s screams were coming from. That demon was ripping poor Shadow to shreds.

“SHADOW!!!! NO!!!!!”

“JACKKKKKK!!!!!!!”

“LIVVY! HANG ON!”

Not having time to mourn for the loss of both Winter and Shadow , I got up and sprinted towards the attic. To Livvy. Once, I finally reached it, my heart broke at the sight before me. Livvy was beaten and laying in a pool of her blood on the floor underneath the window. I ran to her, scooping her up into my arms. I cradled her as I cried, and begged for her to wake up.

“Livvy! Livvy! Please wake up! I can’t lose you! Don’t leave me! Please! Livvy, wake up!”

“J-J-Jack.” She whispered ever so quietly, that I almost missed it entirely. Shocked, and happy she was alive, I hugged her to me.

“Don’t you worry, Livvy. I’m here now. I’ll get you to the doctor. Your gonna be just fine. Just hang on a bit longer.”

“ J-Jack. T-There’s no t-time. You have to s-stop them. Y-you have to kill them.”

“How?”

“B-burn their bones. Their b-b-buried in the barn. B-by Winter’s stall. “

‘Okay, Livvy. I will. I swear it. I’m going to get you to safety first.”

“No. I-It's too late for me. Please Jack. E-end this. I-I love you.” Both of us are crying now.

“Oh no. Livvy! No! Don’t go! I love you too. Please don’t leave me baby.”

She let out one last shaking breath, and went limp in my arms. In pure agony of losing the woman I love, I let out the loudest, most painful scream I could. Yelling out for lost love. Once I couldn't scream or cry anymore, I leaned down and left a small, gentle kiss to her now cold lips. I gently laid her body down with a new heaviness upon my soul. I will kill that vile, demonic woman, and her bastard child for doing this. They will pay.

I stood up, and charged out of the house and towards the barn. I grabbed a shovel and began digging at Winter’s stall. That demon woman had appeared in front of me, and backhanded me so powerfully I had flown to the other-side of the barn. She continued to throw me around the barn beating me to a pulp, until she made the mistake of throwing me by the barely exposed bones. As soon as I landed, I quickly wiped the lightly covered bones and grabbed the lamp and smashed it on them. They went up in flames, and the demon woman and her bastard child let out a horrific scream before vanishing out of sight. It was finally over. I let out a breath I didn’t know I was holding, and let the darkness consume my vision.

The next week had been one of pure misery and hell. I mourned over Livvy, Winter, and Shadow. I gave them all proper burials, and visited them everyday. I hoped that Livvy would appear to me, but she never did.

Another week has passed, and Jack Davis Smith was once again sitting at Livvy’s grave hoping for her to appear. Right, when he was about to give up hope, she had appeared in the distance by the barn. Standing there in her beautiful baby blue gown, she smiled at him. Waiting. He ran for her, picking her up and swung her around as soon as he reached her. They shared a long, loving stare before sharing a deep and passionate kiss. They finally broke apart, and walked hand-in-hand to where the neighs of Winter and Shadow could be heard inside the barn. Off to the side, in the willow tree by the house, a soft creaking could be heard. Upon further inspection, the body of Mr. Jack Davis Smith swung gently in the breeze. A note nailed to the trunk of the tree that read, “ I found my one, only to lose her. I can’t be without her a day longer. It’s time to join her in eternity.”

A few months have passed since that horrific night, and a new owner has now taken residency in the house on the hill. As he and his young son move their belongings into their new home, the gentleman took notice of a blonde, petite woman sitting by what looks to be graves outside .

“Hello? Who’s there?”

“Oh my. I’m so sorry sir. I didn’t mean to trespass. I just came to visit my dearly departed daughter and her husband.”

“My condolences ma’am. That’s quite alright. I’m David Browning. It’s a pleasure to meet you Ms.?”

“Hayley-Jennifer Quinn, Mr. Browning. Please call me Hayley.” She softly smiled at him.

“ Well then, Hayley. Would you like to join my boy and I for supper?”

“I would love to.”

As Mr. Browning had begun walking to the house. Hayley Jennifer Quinn had looked off towards the barn, where Livvy and Jack stood watching. She was playing with a pendant that was dangling across her neck. It was a reshaped bone fragment. Small, and unnoticeable. She then lifted an elongated finger to her lips , with her eyes glowing their demonic, blood red, cat slit. She shushed towards them, before returning to her normal appearance, and following Mr.Browning inside.

The End.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

shaylyn N torres

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.