Fiction logo

The Great Snowball Battle

Game Story #2

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Photo by Kris Bruynson, Flikr

This story goes with a game. The game is played as follows:

The story below is read while the players of the game sit in a circle and pass an item around. It could be a prize that they play for, or it could be a token item.

When the story includes the words left, right, or across, the item is passed in the appropriate direction. Whoever has possession of the item at the end of the story wins. I plan on having a prize box full of items for winners to choose from when I play this with my small family of four on Christmas Day. With so few participants, our reader will also participate. Again, the item passed can be the prize. This general idea is not original to me.

Here's the link for my first story:

And now for this story:

* * * * * * * * * *

Every year, right at the start of Christmas vacation, right when my friends and I get home from school, we plan our epic snow battle. The rules are simple: right when anyone is hit, they are “out” for a count of five seconds. Whichever team is left with the last unhit player wins.

Being that everyone believes that my late Uncle Lefty initiated this snow battle tradition, we always play on the field right across from Uncle Lefty's old farm. As the oldest players, the Rightford twins, James and Matt, are always the captains.

As one of the youngest, I have often been left as the last person chosen. This year, the Rightfords' little sister, Cindy, and her friend, Josie, joined and were the last two left. James chose Josie, which left Cindy on my team with Matt.

Facing Uncle Lefty's old farmhouse, my team, under Matt's instruction, set up on the left side of the field, while James' team had the right. Uncle Lefty left his old tractor for us to play with. He left it rusting in the middle of the field. It made a right nice barrier between the teams.

Right away, we set about constructing ramparts of snow and stockpiling our spherical ammunition, using every bit of snow left in the area. Across the field, I could see the other team doing the same. I pulled my sled to the left of Uncle Lefty's farmhouse to make additional snowballs and then dragged them back to the right of our pile. Matt's eyes widened in his ski mask. He patted my right shoulder and held out his right hand for a high five. He exclaimed, "All right, let's win this!"

James blew his whistle from across the field, which signaled “game on.” A few tentative snowballs were lobbed over the right side of the tractor. We threw some right back across, and we knew a frosty missile found its mark when we heard little Josie barking out, “one, two, three…” on the right.

I rushed up to the tractor with as many snowballs as I could carry and reserves in my left and right coat pockets. Dozens of snowballs pelted the tractor, but I was left unscathed. I popped up and creamed Billy Johnson on the left side of their rampart and quickly ducked down as a snowball whizzed right overhead. I threw a few blindly across, but to no avail. The next time I popped up, James was ready on the left and hit me right in the chest. However, he was struck simultaneously. I heard Matt yell, "Yes! Right on the kisser!"

We were left with Cindy and Matt, while the other team was left with only one person, Timmy Jones.

After I counted to five out loud, I zig-zagged left and right back to our wall, and jumped over the right end. Matt whispered, "I have a plan. It's risky, but if it works, we'll have the last team member left. He spelled his plan right out as we kept our eyes peeled across the field.

When the time came, Matt snuck across to the tractor while I went around the field to the left, and others went to the right, leaving Josie right where she was, behind the wall.

Matt yelled, "Charge!" and threw a bunch of snowballs across to draw fire in a kamikaze-like rush. I heard people counting but kept advancing stealthily to the left. I heard Matt swear across the field and begin counting. I made it to the left of their wall and there was Timmy, left alone. We both fired snowballs, which collided in midair and burst. I was quicker with my second effort and hit his left arm. The other team made it across to Cindy, but they were too late. We were the victors!

Matt ran back and lifted Cindy right up in the air. Everyone held right hands out for high fives. The only thing left to do was to head home for hot cocoa, which sounded good right then. As we walked across the field heading home, we laughed about our exhilarating day. It was a right fun snow battle!

family

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Julie LacksonenWritten by Julie Lacksonen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.