Fiction logo

The Great Fall

Misadventures and Mischief

By AmberPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Unknown

Chapter 2: Part 1: Uncertainty

I slowly blink my eyes as the light crawls in past the cracks of my walls, when I suddenly hear rustling in the next room. “Max?” I call out. “Is that you?”. The floor feels cool against my bare feet as I quietly get up and peek around the corner.

“Boo!” Jake yelled. “Ahh!! Jake!! You idiot!!”, I scream. “What are you doing here?!”. “Oh, Grace… I was just trying to make you some breakfast while listening to the divine song of your snores.” He, chuckles to himself with a sideways grin. “Ugh… I hate when you sneak in on me. And, I do not snore!” I say with utmost certainty, while elbowing Jake in the side.

“So, Grace… What do you have planned for today?” … (I can’t actually tell him my plans because he will try to stop me) … “Oh, nothing. I thought I might stop by Joanna Blake’s little store and see if she has made any clothes I might like.” I say, knowing that Jake wouldn’t be interested. “What are your plans? Maybe some target practice with Cain?”. “Hmm…” Jake purses his lips and squints his eyes at me… I can tell he’s trying to decide whether or not he believes me. So, I say… “If you’re free, maybe I’ll bring you with me and have you model some of the jewelry Joanna has made!”. I slightly grin and take a bite of my roll. “Oh, no.” Jake retorts. “I’ll be busy with Cain all day today. Maybe next time!”. We both laugh as I shove him out the door. “I’ll see you later!” I say, as Jakes walks away. “Later, Grace!” Jake laughs and shakes his head as he walks towards where Cain stays.

Okay, now for the good stuff. I really do want to stop by Jo’s. But, only because she has been making these awesome knife shields for me. One that goes around my ankle, one like a necklace and another around my waist. I finally get to pick those up today! Then, I’m going to the south side of the compound where I have found a secret entrance/exit for myself. Small enough for me to fit through undetected. On the last adventure I went on with the boys, we passed something that intrigued me. It looked like a house. I only saw the entrance… the greenery was overgrown, but the house looked solid. I don’t believe it’s anything my people built. But, my curiosity has gotten the best of me. I need to know what’s inside!

“Good morning, Jo!” I say in a sing song voice. (Joanna Blake is a gorgeous woman about the age my mom would be now. She has long, wavy, raven colored hair and eyes like emeralds. She is petite in stature, extremely kind and gifted in crafts.) “Good morning, my sweet Grace! Are you ready to check out these shields and show those dull boys what’s what?” She responded jokingly. (Jo has always known that this world here wasn’t big enough for me. She understood that I needed more and couldn’t be limited to what everyone expected of me. I respect her for that.) “Oh, yes! You know I always am! If I don’t show them… who will?!” I respond with a laugh, shrugging my shoulders playfully. “Okay, Grace! Here they are. Even the necklace is made from leather. It’s going to be very strong.” She hands me the shields, watching my expressions eagerly as I gaze over her work. “Jo! They’re perfect! Thank you so much! I’ve never seen such beautiful work. You’re truly a talent.” I say, with awe in my voice. (I can’t believe these are mine!) “You’re quite welcome, dear. I’m so pleased you like them. Just remember, you have to come help me cook for the festival in return!” … (oh… the festival… yeah, you know how I said it’s almost time for my society to elect new leaders? Well, before that happens, we have a festival in honor of our current leaders to express our gratitude for their rule.) “Yes, Jo! Of course, I’ll be here. In two days, right?” I say, questioningly. “Mmhm, in two days, dear. Please be here bright and early.” She said, calmly but sternly. “Okay! Thanks again!! I’ll see you later.” I wave goodbye as I walk away, looking around to make sure no one is watching where I go next.

There is a shed on the south side of the compound, across from the mill. It holds a grate on the inside that connects to the other side of the wall. It’s damp and doesn’t smell the best… but, it’s a place that no one thinks about or guards. I found it the last time I got in an argument with my Aunt Max and I wanted to find a place to be alone, where no one could find me. That’s when I was inspired. I’ve only used it a couple of times. I try to be careful in case someone (Jake) gets the idea to follow me.

I look cautiously through the grate on the other side before I lift it up, just to make sure no one is out there. I make my way out and dart to the tree line. Peeking from behind a tree, I look back for a second at the compound for two reasons. To make sure I’m not being followed and because I always like to say goodbye… in case I don’t make it back. I trace my steps back to the trail we used last time, so I can find the house again and I start walking. Still on edge, but feeling a little more easy than I did a while ago.

Alright, Grace. Here we go.

Let’s go find some answers.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Amber

I love to create. Now I have an outlet for all the stories and ideas the flood my brain. If you read my stories, I hope you enjoy the journey as much, if not more than I.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.