Fiction logo

The Great Fall

Misadventures and Mischief

By AmberPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Forbes Credit

Intro:

What is that? I wonder, as I see a glimmer of light bouncing back from my lamp.

I walk deeper into the darkness, reaching down to feel a cold, metal chain.

I pick it up and examine it… a necklace?

It’s definitely from the old world.

A heart shaped Lockett? How enchanting.

I wonder what’s inside.

My name is Grace Evander.

I don’t know much about the old world, but what I do know is that everyone tells me to stay away from it. I don’t understand how people are fine not knowing about the ones who came before us and what happened to them. But, I for one, intend to find out everything I can. A couple of my friends and I sneak out and go on adventures. There is this one place I have been wanting to go. The last mission we went on, I found a picture. A place, somewhere in the old world. There were structures as tall as mountains, but you could see right through the walls. I knew I wanted to go there and explore. Maybe I could find answers… Maybe I could finally figure out what our ancestors have been hiding from us.

How a people, once so advanced and sophisticated, was destroyed.

That is where this story begins.

Psst! Hey! Wake up!!, I whisper, starting to shake my friend Jake. He’s an annoyingly heavy sleeper.

Psst! Jake!! Come on!! It’s time to wake up!

Ugh… Grace… do we have to go tonight?

Jake asks me as he yawns, wiping the sleep from his eyes.

Yes! It’s almost time for the guards to switch posts. Right now is the only chance we will have. Cain’s parents are gone hunting and he knows his way through the old tunnels.

The old world awaits, Jake. Do you really want to be left behind? I asked him, tauntingly.

Fine, Grace. But, don’t run away from us like last time. I thought we’d never find you. I know you’re curious, but it’s dangerous out there. Jake sternly looks at me, but his eyes soften… I know he cares about me.

Alright, alright! I’ll stay close by.

I say, while rolling my eyes.

Now, hurry up! We’re going to miss it.

Crouching down beside Jake at the edge of the woods, raising my eyes slightly over the bush to see through the trees. I watch as the guards make their exchange. To the left I see Cain signaling us to move quickly!

I turn to Jake, Let’s go! Cain is over there.

We swiftly, but quietly make our way over to Cain who hurries us into the entrance of the tunnel. It’s dark, the air is musty and humid. Alright, guys. We can’t use a light until we reach the middle of the tunnel, otherwise someone will see us. Hold on to the side of the wall to guide you and if you stay silent, your ears will help to lead you as well. Cain’s voice is deep and authoritative. He was always able to captivate anyone who listened to him. My parents are hosting the hunting trip for 5 days. Cain said, emphasizing the number of days. That means we only have 4 days to complete our mission and get back unnoticed. Do you both understand the risk? He asked, with uncertainty.

Yes! I exclaimed! And, Jake won’t let me go without him. So, he gets it. Right, Jake?

Jake sighs, looks at me and then at Cain.

Yes, Grace. I understand. Let’s go.

Grace! Jake, yelled.

I think I found something!

I walked up from the place I was exploring and I saw Cain running towards Jake.

They both seemed excited.

Grace! Come on! Cain, piped up.

I hurry over to them and I see a sign.

New York City? NYC? Like in that picture I found?! Could this be it?!

Oh, guys! We must have found it!

Seemingly elated at the news, the guys nodded at each other and we started to our new destination.

This isn’t anything like I imagined… I said out loud. What happened here? Asked Jake.

Well, it doesn’t seem like anything good. Cain said. I looked around and all I saw were pieces. Pieces of a once glorious city. Structures broken down to nothing. I had never seen anything like this. Whatever was in the picture I found, was gone.

Hey, let’s look over here. I said, leading Jake and Cain down a staircase that led underneath the ground. I stop and pull out my lamp before we go down further. That’s when I see a tunnel. I hop down from the floor into the tunnel. There is metal on the ground.

I wonder what this was?

Grace! Come back! Jake yelled.

Seriously, Grace! Cain called.

I don’t care. I need to know what’s down here. That’s when I see it.

What is that? I wonder, as I see a glimmer of light bouncing back from my lamp.

I walk deeper into the darkness, reaching down to feel a cold, metal chain.

I pick it up and examine it… a necklace?

It’s definitely from the old world.

A heart shaped Lockett? How enchanting.

I wonder what’s inside.

I look up and see Jake and Cain racing toward me. Guys! Look at this!

Why do you always run ahead of us Grace?! You could get hurt. Jake said, irritated.

Here, Cain. Since Jake is too busy scolding me, you take a look. Cain took the necklace from me and tried to open it. Grace, shine your light over here so I can see. Cain said.

He finally got it open. Here, look what’s inside.

I glazed my eyes over the small picture, stuffed inside the Lockett. I pinched it between my fingers and took it out. Wiping dust away from the tattered picture. A man with black hair and blue eyes. He had a big, contagious smile. On the back it read. “May the monsters die and our love remain eternal. -Tom”.

Monsters? I questioned. What do you think that means? We all looked at each other, puzzled. Okay, we have 2 days to get back home. Cain said.

At least you’re one step closer, Grace.

Jake goaded me. Take the win.

As they start walking ahead of me to leave the tunnel, I held up my light to look back one last time and I whispered. I’m coming back.

Chapter 1: History Lesson

You probably have a few questions. So, let’s take a step back and see if I can fill in those spaces for you; starting with me.

I was born to Henry and Scarlet Evander. They were married for three years before I finally graced them with my presence. (Hence my name… my dad was always one for puns)… Those two were magic. Everything they touched became more colorful and was filled with even more life. Our family was a part of the sector responsible for going out, exploring and gaining knowledge about the world outside of our enclosed society. Some of our more progressive leaders hoped to expand our compound.

Why do we live in a “compound”? Well, the main story as to why we live the way we do, even though it’s all I’ve ever known… is because of one specific historical event that changed the future of man kind. My fellow people and I know this as “The Great Fall”. A tale of a once highly intelligent society, leading to the downfall of all mankind. What “The Great Fall” didn’t consider, I guess, where the survivors. My ancestors. Well, not just mine… but the ancestors of all the people here. Survivors from around the world that found each other and created a society within these walls. A safe place from whatever happened out there. But, that’s all we know. It’s been two hundred years since the fall happened and as the generations passed, only the leaders of our society were allowed to know the details of what happened all those years ago. They say it’s to keep us safe. Quite honestly, it all sounds like myth and legend. You know, a way for our leaders to maintain control and complicity. Any way, back to my parents…

You know how I said it was their job to explore the world outside and gather information for certain leaders, to decide whether or not we could expand? Well, they left on an expedition when I was seven years old… and, that was ten years ago. They never returned. My aunt Max is my Dad’s little sister. She’s been looking out for me since they left. I constantly aggravate her with my sly evasion. What can I say? I’m a teenager and I love adventure. I’m grateful for her though. She really took on a lot by taking me in. She could’ve given me up to go work at the mill, (That’s where we sort our food and supplies after they’ve been brought in) but after a month had passed of my parents being gone… I guess she assumed the worst. That’s the day she knelt down, held my shoulders and while looking me in the eyes, promised to keep me safe and love me like her own.

I love my aunt. But, I have too many questions that I need answers to. Questions that she can’t answer for me. I don’t know what happened to my parents and I don’t know what caused “The Great Fall”. But, I have a feeling those two things might be connected and I am determined to find out everything I can. I’ll be eighteen in three months! This is the year they’re running trials to elect our new leaders. But, once they’re elected, they can’t leave the compound. Jake tells me I’m set for it… (I’ll tell that story later) but, I don’t want to learn my answers that way. All this time? Who knows if what they know is even the truth? I have to find out for myself.

Steady yourself.

Because, this is going to be a long journey.

Aren’t you excited?!

Love
Like

About the Creator

Amber

I love to create. Now I have an outlet for all the stories and ideas the flood my brain. If you read my stories, I hope you enjoy the journey as much, if not more than I.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.