Fiction logo

The Gray Church - Part 2

Horror - Thriller - Mystery

By Marysol RamosPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
3

The Gray Church Part 2

The clown opened its mouth, and I noticed blood dripping from its teeth. Within that instant the adrenaline in my body helped me push myself from under the car to begin running toward the police lights. I heard the clown rush to my side of the vehicle, but I didn’t want to stop and look.

“Don’t look back, don’t look back” I kept telling myself as I ran. All I could hear was the sound of the clown’s laughter and its feet seeming to be just inches behind. I focused on the sirens and the red and blue lights. I wondered why they weren’t heading in our direction, but my thoughts were interrupted when the clown placed its hand on my shoulder and gripped it tightly. I shoved the clown as hard as I could, though I began to cry and panic, I still continued running. Fortunately, it fell behind. But it was like it wasn’t even out of breath. The clown just laughed as it watched me in fear.

“I’ll be back for you. The more scared you are, the funnier it’ll be.” The clown said — and then it took off.

I didn’t have time to think. I continued running toward the police. I really thought they would help me!”

“They didn’t help you?” asked Doctor Nicoli.

“No, it was worse. I made my way through the little path between the large trees. At the end of the path was a large circle of bright green grass and somehow the sun was out. I know I sound crazy, but I know what I saw!”

“It’s okay, Livia. I’m listening.” Doctor Nicoli confirmed.

“Well, there was only 1 police car, and it was just psychotically driving in circles. The windows were rolled up and they were pitch black so I couldn’t see inside. I began to wave my arms hoping to get the driver’s attention.

I then noticed a boat to my far left. It was a small wooden rowboat flipped upside down on the dry ground. I’m not sure why I noticed it, it had appeared out of nowhere. Anyway, I looked back at the police car and the windows were now rolled down. The car stopped and I was clearly able to see inside the police car.

It wasn’t a police officer.

It was another clown. My stomach turned, yet my eyes couldn’t look away. My body froze as I watched this clown engage in laughter as it chopped its own head off. It then hung its head out of the window and began driving in circles again.

All of this, everything that happened, Doctor Nicoli, wasn’t ordinary. I know it sounds unbelievable, but it’s what happened.

I remember a rush of fear streamed through every inch of my body as I noticed something move toward where the rowboat was. My head slowly turned, and I noticed…”

“It’s okay, Livia. Whatever you say I will believe.” Doctor Nicoli said to comfort her.

“It’s the worst part, Doctor Nicoli.” Livia said as she began to cry.

“My heart hurts, my stomach hurts, I need you to believe me and help me.” Livia continued as she cried.

“I can only help once I hear the whole story so that I don’t miss anything important. If you need a break, we can take the break and continue later.” Doctor Nicoli assured her.

“It was my family. I can’t go into the description.” Livia responded as she worked on speaking through the intense cry.

“My parents and my brother were sitting in the boat with the clown that chased me from under the car. Their — their throats were slit, and they were sitting there lifeless. Dr. Nicoli. I wouldn’t lie, I wouldn’t make something like this up. I know it sounds crazy, but I love my family and I want them back!”

“Livia, can we get you some water? Something to eat? Maybe you need some rest.” The stepmother chimed in to say.

“No! I don’t even know who you are or why you’re here! Doctor Nicoli, please listen. This clown wants to do this again. It wants to terrorize more people and it’s going to come for me again.”

“Is that what the clown said to you?” Doctor Nicoli asked.

“Yes. As I stood there in shock staring at my family, I almost gave up. I almost just let them take me too. But then the clown began to sing a song.

‘October nights, 4 Friday’s a year, we feast, we drink — the blood and the tears, those that survive — we come for again, we keep on and keep on till the very end.’

Suddenly the clown began running toward me at full speed. I knew, I just knew I had to survive this. We can’t allow this to happen again. It’s only the first Friday of the month. They’ll be back!” Livia cried and trembled in fear.

“Livia, how did you survive?” Officer Daniels, now being polite, asked.

“I ran. I ran as fast as I could toward the church to look for Mark; and as I ran, I noticed people being pulled under the water in the pond. There were clowns in there devouring the humans as they drowned them. I saw the clown that was chasing me had stopped to laugh at others that were being tortured. I took this opportunity to hide behind a small vehicle to catch my breath and figure out a way to escape.

I sat in silence thinking about my family, Mark, Junie, and Logan. I wasn’t and I’m still not sure what happened to Mark, Junie, or Logan. I’m assuming they didn’t make it out alive, but they could be thinking the same about me.

At that very moment, as I sat wondering what my next step would be — something from under the car grabbed my ankle. Once again, I froze. My mind, body, and heart just — froze.

PART 3

thrillerPsychologicalMysteryHorrorCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    You're doing amazing work

  • The horror is intensifying! Fantastic work with this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.