Fiction logo

The Gray Church - Part 3

Horror - Thriller - Fiction - Mystery

By Marysol RamosPublished 3 months ago 7 min read
3
Picture by Ideogram

The Gray Church Part 3

‘Help me out, please.’ The voice from under the car said. It was such a fragile and scared voice. I looked down at the hand and saw wrinkled fingers and a wrist so small I could wrap my own fingers around it.

‘Oh, my goodness.’ I whispered. I gently began tugging at the old lady’s arm until I could pull from her shoulders instead. She was trembling and crying.

‘How have you survived?’ the lady asked me.

‘I’ve just been running. There’s a specific clown that’s after me, but he just finds it amusing and has been sparing me. Have you been under this car the whole time?’ I asked her.

‘Yes. I saw when everything began to happen. Cars were being crushed by the clowns at an impossible speed. I quickly ran out of my vehicle and hid underneath. It got dark so quickly, and things were moving so fast, I hardly had time to think.’

‘Do you know what’s going on here?’ I asked her. But she didn’t know. I then told her about the song I had heard the clown sing, she said she’d heard the same song a few times as clowns walked by the vehicle she was under. She told me she heard a few other songs, but they sounded more like confusing spells or hypnosis.

She then paused and tightly grabbed both my wrists.

‘I heard something else. Something about the only escape being through the bathroom. The women’s bathroom by the entrance of the church.’

‘How could that be the only escape?’ I questioned her. She said she wasn’t sure. It was too chaotic and loud for her to hear every detail. She said there was something in that bathroom to help people escape from the torture the clowns were committing.

We had no other choice. The little old lady and I slowly made our way to the front of the church. The fire was still only burning on the second floor, clowns were gauging eyes out and sinking their teeth into living and non-living beings, and the hysterical laughter played like a symphony.

I heard clowns singing the song as they jumped from victim to victim. I had no idea where the clown that was targeting me was.”

“Could you identify this clown from the others?” Dr. Nicoli asked.

“Yes. Its hair was curly, but it was the typical dark brown. Its eyes were wide and brown, and its teeth went from regular, yellow-crooked teeth while talking to sharp silver knives when wanting to attack.”

“Regular, yellow crooked teeth you say?” Officer Daniels asked.

“Yes.” Livia answered.

“You didn’t mention that one before.” The officer responded.

“That’s because you weren’t listening to me.” Livia defended herself.

“Thank you for noticing Officer Daniels. Livia, I’m sorry he wasn’t listening earlier, but we are now. Please continue.” Doctor Nicoli interrupted.

“Well, we made it to the women’s bathroom. I wasn’t sure how long I could take it anymore. There was so much blood, human remains, and screams of pain that overpowered even the laughter of the clowns at times. But I knew, I knew I had to push through.

‘What’s next?’ I asked the lady, hoping she remembered something she’d heard.

We locked the bathroom door and I leaned against it hoping to get some rest. The bathroom was empty, besides the blood and a couple of dead bodies.

‘This.’ The lady said as she handed me a red cup. I looked inside and saw what looked like a long, brown centipede.

‘This?’ I asked her. The lady began to laugh, just as the clowns had been laughing. She said,

‘Drink it. Don’t chew. It’ll quickly eat you from the inside out. It’ll be painful at first, but after some time, you won’t feel a thing.’ The lady then began banging her forehead against the bathroom mirror. Those songs she heard must’ve been some type of hypnotism. It broke me.

I ran and hid in one of the stalls. I realized — there was actually no way out. There was nothing I could do to save myself or anyone else. This whole thing was beyond me.

I couldn’t hold it any longer. I began to panic. I cried for my family, my friends, and for myself.

The next thing I knew, the sun started to shine through the window of the bathroom. Loudly, I began to hear the clowns sing the song.

‘October nights, 4 Friday’s a year, we feast, we drink — the blood and the tears, those that survive — we come for again, we keep on and keep on till the very end.’

I then saw a cloud of dust. After some silence, I slowly opened the stall door and noticed the bathroom was empty. It was quiet. It was calm. There was just a simple pile of dust on the floor.”

“What happened after that, Livia?” Doctor Nicoli asked.

“I slowly opened the exit bathroom door and saw more piles of dust everywhere. There was no movement or noise. I didn’t take the time to look around. I just ran out of the church. It was daylight. Everything was dust. Piles and piles of dust everywhere.

So, I ran. I ran without stopping until I got here. I tried to tell them,” Livia said as she pointed at Officer Daniels, “but everyone just looked at me as if I weren’t making sense!” Livia began to cry again.

“Okay, Livia. I think it’s time we go on a break. Are there any extra details that you can tell us before we take the break?” Doctor Nicoli asked.

“No, not right now. I’ve told you all I can remember at the moment.” Livia answered.

“Okay, Livia. If you’re okay with it, I’d like to take you to one of the private break rooms here. It has a sofa for you to rest on and I’d like you to have some water. Officer Daniels and I will discuss our next steps and we’ll come get you as soon as we have further information or if we have any other questions.” Doctor Nicoli stood from the chair and gestured for Livia to join her. Livia nodded her head in agreement and made her way in front of Doctor Nicoli to guide her out of the interrogation room.

In that moment, Doctor Nicoli gestured for Livia’s stepmother to stand as well. “Mrs. Walsh, could you be of assistance, please?” Doctor Nicoli asked. Livia turned to look at both of the women, but before she could say anything, Doctor Nicoli injected Livia with a needle on the side of her neck.

Mrs. Walsh held on to Livia as Livia slowly attempted to fight off Doctor Nicoli. As Livia slowly became unconscious, she was placed gently on the ground.

“Well, Mrs. Walsh. We have new details. The man had regular, yellow crooked teeth.”

“We need more.” Mrs. Walsh responded,

“It’s better than nothing.” Said Officer Daniels. Just then, 2 men walked into the interrogation room to help pick up and transition Livia out of the room with Mrs. Walsh following behind.

“Officer Daniels,” Doctor Nicoli softly said, “may I have a word?” She politely asked, but he knew she was upset.

“Of course, Doctor Nicoli.” He said as he sat in the chair Mrs. Walsh had been sitting in earlier.

“If you are going to be frustrated with Livia, making her feel crazy or unheard — then maybe you should take yourself of the case.” Doctor Nicoli demanded.

“Nicole, I’m exhausted. We hear the same story over and over from her. It’s been over 1 year since her family and friends got murdered. We know the person, or the people laughed through the murder, we know the dust means they fought outside in the dirt, we know the rowboat was the shed in the backyard she saw her family die in.

She’s experiencing hallucinations, schizophrenia, and whatever else is on that list of hers. Do you know how many times she’s run away from Mrs. Walsh thinking she was leaving a church that was haunted by clowns and expecting us, specifically me, to save her? I’m exhausted.”

“I understand Officer Daniels, but do you understand that she didn’t ask for this? Before her family and friends got murdered at a fun family dinner at home, she was a normal girl. She had friends, family, a job, a social life, and school. Then her aunt had to adopt her, and that poor girl falls asleep only to wake up in a nightmare multiple times throughout the year. For her, she’s not just hearing the same old story — she’s experiencing it as if it were real each and every time. And not only that, Officer Daniels, but the person or people who committed this gruesome murder to her family and friends have stuck to that song and have murdered others on the 4 October Friday nights of that year and this past year. Do you know how many murder cases there are due to this? 8! 8 separate occasions and the only clues we have coming to us are from that young lady. So, if you don’t have the patience to treat her with respect and kindness, then do her and this case a favor and pass it along. Because, if you look at the calendar Officer Daniels, October will be rolling around the corner quicker than we think.”

thrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMysteryHorrorCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Hats off to your work! Keep it going

  • Kale Ross3 months ago

    Scary stuff! You clearly know how to use your words to craft terrifying settings, and harrowing cliff hangers. Also...Vocal doesn't have any type of messenger feature, so I just wanted to reach out and thank you for the tip! I wasn't sure if people actually did that! It was a wonderful, heartfelt surprise. Thank you!

  • It just gets juicier! This is turning out phenomenally Marysol!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.