Fiction logo

The Gray Church

Horror - Thriller - Part 1 - Fiction

By Marysol RamosPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 9 min read
7
Picture by Ideogram

The Gray Church Part 1

“I’m sorry, Ms. Livia, but we’ve been over this. Everything you are saying makes absolutely no sense. I don’t have a son named Mark Daniels, and since I don’t have a son named Mark, I don’t know his friends Junie nor Logan.”

“But Officer Daniels, I took the lie detector test, and it said I was telling the truth! Why would I make this up? You’re all looking at me like I’m crazy and as if you’re ready to put me in a mental institution! Why would I risk getting into college? Why would I risk my job that I love, my reputation and my entire life for a lie?” Livia heard a knock on the door and immediately wiped her tears. She didn’t like being in the interrogation room. Especially for the number of hours she was already in there. Livia was searching for help and instead she was being treated like a guilty and psychotic suspect. Livia had spent multiple dinners with Mark and his dad Officer Stan Daniels. Now the man was behaving as he had no idea who she or his own son was.

“That’s going to be your stepmom, Livia…” Officer Daniels calmly said.

“Stepmom? I don’t have a stepmom! My mom died at the hand of a psychotic clown along with my dad and little brother! Along with your son Mark!” Livia shouted while standing from the chair and hitting the table with her hands.

“Yes, Livia. You’ve told us…” Officer Daniels responded calmly as he opened the door, “…and now I need you to tell Mrs. Walsh and Dr. Nicoli what you told me and the other officers.”

“What’s the point?” Livia whispered as she observed her supposed stepmom walk in and sit on a chair in a corner of the room while Doctor Nicoli stood across the table from her.

“Livia, my name’s Dr. Nicoli. Nicole Nicoli, I guess my parents thought it’d be cute or something.” Dr. Nicoli laughed and reached her arm out for a handshake. Livia looked at the woman’s dark brown eyes without cracking a smile. Instead, she folded her arms firmly against her chest and sat down.

“If you’re here to drag me to an institution — it won’t be easy. I know what I saw, I know what I experienced, I know what happened and I’m not crazy.” Doctor Nicoli sat down and observed Livia for a few seconds. Livia, never having seen her supposed stepmother before, didn’t acknowledge the woman or much cared for her presence.

“Livia. I heard bits and pieces of what you’ve been through. I am here because I do believe you.” Livia’s back straightened from the slouch and her eyes looked directly into the Doctors.

“You believe me?” Livia asked, surprised.

“Yes,” Dr. Nicoli answered firmly, “I’m the one that reached out to your stepmom and requested to speak with you. I want to hear everything and get together with you to figure out how we can get done whatever it is that we need to get done.” As hope began to spark within Livia, she quickly put a stop to it.

“Why do you believe me? And how did you hear about what happened to me? I’ve only told the officers in this building.”

“I work with the officers here. They call me whenever they believe I’d be interested in a case. And I believe you because I’ve worked with others like you who have had cases dismissed because they seemed like lies. Multiple times, they somehow turn out to be right. No-one will be sending you to an institution. I’m willing to go the distance with you.” Dr. Nicoli assured Livia. Livia lowered her head and looked toward her shoes. She hesitated to begin the story again, as her stomach turned and she wasn’t truly sure if it was worth going over; but something had to be done. She took a deep breath and began.

“Mark, Officer Daniels’s son, and I were on a double date with Junie and Logan. The church on 45th and Holden Street was holding an event for Halloween. I didn’t want to go because I get scared easily, but everyone else was excited. So, I did the best I could.”

“I didn’t know there was a church on 45th and Holden. For some reason, all I remember is dry land being there.” Dr. Nicoli commented.

“And if you drive there now, there’s nothing but dry land. Yet she insists that’s the correct location.” Officer Daniels added. Livia rolled her eyes and once again crossed her arms tightly across her chest. Dr. Nicoli noticed this and turned to look at the officer,

“You and I can discuss your concerns at the end of my time with Livia, please.” She politely yet firmly demanded. Officer Daniels nodded in agreement and stepped back as Dr. Nicoli gestured for Livia to go on.

“I don’t remember a church being there either. I mentioned that, but no-one seemed to care. Of course, I brushed it off, it didn’t seem like a big deal. I’m usually wrong about a lot of things. Anyway, we arrived at the event around 4 in the afternoon. The sun was out, the sky was blue, the grass was green. There were over a hundred cars parked on the lawn. Some were even parked partially on the lawn and partially on the road.

Logan, luckily, found a place to park near the church. Someone must’ve taken that spot and then left right before we’d gotten there. Anyway, we got out of the car, and I took another look at the church. Something in my stomach didn’t feel right. ‘You guys, this place is too packed. We might not even get the experience you’re looking for. Maybe we should go somewhere else.’ Logan and Junie began to make fun of me, they all knew I was scared. Mark just reassured me that everything would be okay. He even promised to watch my favorite movies with me after the event. So, I just followed along.

As we got closer to the church, it seemed as if it were slowly being painted by ghosts. When we first arrived, the church was a bluish gray. Now, it had somehow become dark gray — heading for a darker color the closer we got. ‘Do you guys notice the change in color of the church?’ I asked with concern. ‘Mark,’ Logan responded, ‘I told you she’d lose a few marbles hanging out with you so much.’ We all laughed, and I figured I was just overreacting because I was so nervous. I should’ve listened to my gut.

We walked into the church with a crowd. The event would be starting in 20 minutes or so. Passing the entrance, we were in a waiting room, about twice the size of this room we’re in right now. There were 2 big muscular men who seemed more like bodyguards than church men welcoming us to their service. We walked into the sanctuary and saw that it was filled with people. Scanning the area for seats, I noticed what looked like a clown mask in a wooden basket in a corner. I kept my eyes on it for a few seconds as I thought it was winking at me. Again, I just thought my nerves were getting the best of me. I looked toward the stage and saw a clown poking its head through the thick burgundy curtains. It seemed to have made eye contact with me and quickly pulled back to be unseen.

I looked around and it seemed like no one else noticed the clown. Everyone was just chatting and settling in the pews. Little by little, I became more and more uncomfortable. I wasn’t just scared; something truly didn’t feel right. ‘Mark, can we please go? Even if Junie and Logan want to stay, we can meet up with them later.’ I suggested. ‘Honey, look, we already found seats. I promise everything will be okay and I’ll hold you the entire time.’ Mark responded. For some reason, that made me feel as if danger was set in stone.

We sat down as everyone else finished settling down as well. The entire place became silent.

A tall clown, seemed to be around 6 feet 5 inches give or take, walked onto the stage. ‘Hello everybody,’ he said with a high pitch tone, ‘happy Halloween! More happiness for us and less for you as tonight will be filled with treats for us and tricks for you! The show will begin shortly. This is the very last call, if there is anyone who might not be able to handle the tricks and scares, this is the time to leave your seats and exit through the door of in which you’ve entered.’

‘Mark, you can stay with Junie and Logan, but I’m going to go wait outside.’ Mark mumbled something as I was standing up, but I wasn’t able to catch what he said. I was so filled with fear that I couldn’t focus on anything except leaving.

As I made my way to the exit doors, there were quite a few others leaving too. It made me feel like less of a loser. I made my way into the waiting room and saw the 2 bodyguard men dressed up as clowns. ‘How’d they change so quickly?’ a stranger asked out loud. The men began to frantically laugh as we all pushed our way through each other to make it outside.

‘Please open the doors.’ I politely requested as the men stood in front of them.

'It won’t save you, but as you wish.’ One of the bodyguard clowns said while trying to hold the laughter.

They pushed the doors open and everyone rushed outside only to pause in silence. No-one understood. The sun had just been out, how was it as dark as midnight outside? The laughter of the men behind us began to grow louder and more hysterical. People began to rush to their cars, and I to Logans car. I didn’t want to wait outside anymore, I wanted to hide in the car.

I then noticed something that made me realize that things were not okay.

All the vehicles were damaged.”

“What do you mean by damaged?” asked Dr. Nicoli.

“Windows were smashed in, tires were slit, cars on top of other cars, some were flipped over, and others had the hoods opened and missing parts. I reached Logans car and noticed that his had been flattened somehow. It seemed as if I were going insane! But I wasn’t! I’m not! I’m not insane!”

“It’s okay, Livia. I know you’re not insane. Do you need a break, or would you like to continue informing me of what happened last night?”

“I don’t need a break. I need you to believe me.” Livia demanded as her voice shook along with her body.

“I believe you, Livia.” Doctor Nicoli confirmed. She allowed for Livia to take as long as she needed and made sure no one interrupted the silence.

“As I stood in disbelief over the sight of Logans car, I heard hysterical laughter along with screams of terror. Startled, I turned around to see that there were flames coming out of the second story windows. All I could think about was Mark and our friends. I ran toward the church when suddenly these demonic clowns came running from behind the church toward all of us who’d escaped from being inside. I quickly slid under one of the vehicles, but as I did, I saw a woman pleading to me for help as a clown with ginormous sharp and bloody teeth had begun to gnaw at her throat. She reached her arms toward my direction, but there was nothing I could do.

The sound of hysterical laughter and terrorized screams were all I could focus on. I remember telling myself that I had to get it together or else I wouldn’t make it out alive.

Suddenly, I heard an engine roar. I wasn’t sure where it was coming from until I adjusted my head and saw red and blue lights flashing behind some trees a bit further down from where I was. I noticed there was a narrow dirt path between these large trees. It was a path toward the lights.

I thought, “the police. Maybe they’re here to save us. I just have to hold on a bit longer.’ That second of hope was ripped away when I heard a loud screech coming from the vehicle I was under. As if sharp nails were dragging along the side of the car. I looked toward the back of the vehicle and saw a pair of clown feet walking toward the front.

‘It’s fun when they hide and think they can survive.’ The clown sang with a deep-infernal voice. It then rapidly dropped to the ground as its eyes aligned perfectly with mine. Its long-jagged nails dug straight into the ground and the clown just stared and smiled at me.

I couldn’t think, breathe, or move. Everything about me was just — frozen.

PART 2

PART 3

thrillerPsychologicalMysteryHorrorCONTENT WARNING
7

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Clowns are so creepy. lol Can't wait to read the next installment!

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    Her horror towards the end is imprinted on my mind. Well done!!!

  • The creep factor is so real here! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.