Fiction logo

The Gravy Train Gang

A dog can't live on kibble alone!

By Lamar WigginsPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
18
Lucky, Buttons and Shadow. Dall-E

"Alright, we know he comes in here every day at three o'clock and opens the bottom left cabinet door next to the fridge. It's three of us and today our goal is to get that box of cheezees. They're so damn delicious! Shadow, you're the biggest. When he opens the cabinet, stand sideways behind him. Buttons, you create a diversion while I-"

"Uhhhhh, what's a diversion?" Buttons innocently interrupts.

"Douse me with flea powder and beat me with a stick! You don't know anything, do you? A diversion is where you yelp or barf out loud. Something to get him to turn around to see what's wrong. When he does, he won't notice Shadow and will trip over him. Thats when I run over and grab the cheezees. Simple as chasing flies and peeing on hydrants. Here he comes!"

Their owner walks into the kitchen, Buttons immediately starts barking profusely while Shadow rams into his legs over and over. Lucky puts a paw to his forehead.

"What are you crazy dogs doing? GET OUT OF HERE NOW!” their owner shouts. They scamper away with tails between legs.

"If only I had thumbs…We need to practice. You guys suck at this!"

Dog-gone delicious! Image by WikimediaImages on pixabay

Thanks for stopping by.

While you’re here, enjoy another micro heist below. Thank you.

MicrofictionHumorAdventure
18

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Cute and funny 🤭😊

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Hi Lamar ~ I've been following you forever ~ especially your insightful-thoughtful comments to fellow Authors. I've stayed away because I swim in the 'Senior' Demographic Pond and I know the Newbies are into other Styles; Lamar, I so get that. *As I scroll through your gorgeous selections I've subscribed to you with pleasure ~ Love Buttons~Lucky ~ Shadow. I'm so not into contests; I'm just an old StoryTeller. But, If you have a moment please see my 'Rescue' written on behalf of - Pet Haven Minnesota - it does my heart good that so many Re-Home Adoptions came from this silly (3) minute 'Schtick'  Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    So much fun! I can see my dog in this, she's the doofus 😁

  • Barbara Gode Wiles11 months ago

    I enjoyed this thoroughly !

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    This was such a fun read! I feel empathy for those pups, cheezits are so irresistible to me!! 🤗 Loved this, Lamar!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Lol. Poor pups. They'll figure it out. Nicely done.

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Cute stuff! ❤'d it!

  • Douse me with flea powder and beat me with a stick! I laughed so much for that line! Lucky is hilarious! Fantastic story!

  • Oh it made the story so much better that they failed Great job Lamar!

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    OMGOSH! I literally howled with laughter. 😅🤣😂🤣

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Haha! Fun little canine caper Lamar! '"Douse me with flea powder and beat me with a stick!' is a terrific doggie curse. I imagine it best being delivered under the breath in a low grumble...

  • ARC11 months ago

    😂 love this

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    That was fun! Loved 'Douse me with flea powder and beat me with a stick'!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.