Fiction logo

The Ghost of Paganini

The Stradivarius

By John CoxPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - March 2024
30
"But Papa, surely not the Mendelssohn? He's a busker, not a concert hall violinist."

My father was propped up in his bed, the ivory coverlet pulled up to his chest. Even after the weeks of chemo had ended, I was always shocked by his appearance, his bald head and missing eyebrows making him almost unrecognizable. He looked at the ragged man that I led into the room through puffy eyes, the sides of his mouth turned downwards in disappointment at the man’s appearance.

“What would you like me to play, Signore?”

Father coughed weakly and gestured to me. When I bent over him, he whispered “Allegro con fouco … with fire.”

“But Papà, surely not the Mendelssohn? He is a busker, not a concert hall violinist.”

He simply gave me the stubborn gaze that I knew only too well.

I ride the DC Metro daily to my job downtown and had heard the busker playing when I arrived on the platform yesterday after a long and frustrating day. Uncharacteristically, I paused for a listen and was surprised at his virtuosity.

He looked like a gypsy from an earlier age, a crumpled top hat perched jauntily atop his large head, his body almost wispily thin, his great coat hanging from him as it might have if draped around a cadaver. The unusual length of his fingers was almost as striking as his long and ape-like arms. I listened to him play a couple different pieces before dropping some change into his open violin case and hopping onto my train.

As I rode home, it occurred to me that it might be interesting to coax him to perform for my father. Papà had played first violin for a small symphony orchestra for almost forty years and I thought it might be a way to cheer him up.

We had enrolled him in hospice a few weeks prior and his health had steadily weakened since. He’s no longer strong enough to play his beloved violin.

When I was about ten years old, Papà played Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto when a prominent guest violinist had to cancel his appearance at the last minute. Any violinist who dreams of greatness masters that piece, and that was certainly true of my father.

My mother brought me to that concert, and I still remember Papà’s standing ovation as the tears streamed from Mamma’s eyes. Years later he shared that when he played that night, he felt the ghost of Paganini at his side spurring him to virtuosic heights never experienced again. His greatest regret in life was the anonymity that followed his performance. He imagined receiving invites to perform with the National or Baltimore Symphonies or other great orchestras, but they never came.

After Papà’s request, I turned to the busker and simply said, “Mendelssohn’s Allegro con fouco,” and he nodded, placing his long index finger on the side of his nose with a wink.

As he began, Papà gasped in recognition, the busker’s fingers dancing lightly across the strings as his bow coaxed the heartbreaking notes from the violin’s bell, the fire of his arpeggios filling my father’s eyes with tears. Papà drew his weak and skinny arms from the coverlet and began to mime along with the busker as he played, closing his eyes as he reexperienced the lost passion of his youth.

Tears filled my own as I watched him reliving his great triumph, the melody as heartbreaking as if Joshua Bell was in the room rather than a ragged and disheveled busker.

After the Mendelssohn, Papà begged him to play Tchaikovsky and then Mozart. No matter what he played, the music transported us to an elevated and almost mystical plane. At the end Papà wept like a baby, and I wept with him. The busker bowed as elegantly in response as if he had played for an emperor rather than an old man dying in his bed.

My father gestured to me, and I bent once again to hear his whisper “My Stradivari,” as he pointed his trembling hand at the busker. I assumed that he wanted him to play it before realizing in horror he wanted to give it to him. In spite of my alarm, Papà insisted and a few minutes later, my father was the proud owner of a busker's old and worn violin and a million-dollar inheritance had flown out his front door.

Later that evening I had the misfortune of remembering that I had scheduled an appraisal of the violin for the following day. Sick at heart I picked up the busker’s violin and put it away in the Stradivari’s case and absently locked it in the safe.

When the appraiser arrived, I was too discombobulated to apologize or explain as I handed him the worthless violin. But examining it, he was quiet at first, then confused, turning the violin over and over again in his hands. Finally, he looked at me piercingly, and said, “I don’t understand … I thought you said on the phone that your father owned a Stradivarius?”

I sighed deeply, and began, “Well you see….” before the appraiser interrupted me.

“Do you know what this is?” he continued with sufficient awe that it rendered me speechless a second time. I shook my head numbly.

“It’s a Guarneri. The great Paganini owned a Guarneri – the Il Cannone Guarnerius, one of the most famous violins in the world.

“Do you know how much this is worth?”

Short StoryLoveHumorfamily
30

About the Creator

John Cox

Family man, grandfather, retired soldier and story teller with an edge.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Andy Potts2 months ago

    Wow. Loved that. Nicely told, and a clever twist. The hint about inheriting a valuable instrument reminded a little of a sub-plot in Vikram Seth's 'An Equal Music' - possibly my all-time favourite novel. Great work!

  • What an amazing Top Story! I had find out more on Google 😀… ‘The great Paganini owned a Guarneri – the Il Cannone Guarnerius, one of the most famous violins in the world.’ Fascinating ✅

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    This is a wonderful story. I could feel the music being played and the ending was so satisfying!

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    What a wonderful story.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Mark E. Cutter2 months ago

    This story sets the bar for everything I will read today. It's a pretty damn high bar. Expertly polished. I'm looking forward to more.

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    John, John, John, I was transported there, I felt everything, the bittersweet joy, I could picture the busker playing, everything just flowed so perfectly. You have a real gift for storytelling as Raymond and Jason noted. Well done on this. I love that it was a ghost story without being horrorish. Congrats on it getting Top Story!

  • Raymond G. Taylor2 months ago

    Wonderful and masterful storytelling with such emotion and authenticity. The kind of ghost story one seldom reads these days. Congratulations on a well deserved TS

  • Shaun Walters2 months ago

    Congratulations! Wonderfully detailed

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • “M”2 months ago

    Really enjoyed reading it , thank you

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Congratulations

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I remembering reading this but didn’t comment??? So I reread it Like it even more than the first time You. Have a beautiful way of telling a story This one is new to me so I am glad I have some insight. I do remember going on line after the first read to find out more about this individual I like how you wove the tale to make it feel personal to the reader Congratulations John I wish there was a challenge for this one

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    This was wonderful, John. Really loved reading it! Everyone knows about Stradivarius, I think but I had never heard of Guarneri. Thank you for that nugget.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Damn, I wish I was musically...I don't know...gifted AND skilled I guess. Involved. Immersed.

  • Lindsay Sfara2 months ago

    This is truly an amazing story. I love how impactful music is, as it can be in all our lives, and I really enjoyed the ending too. I'm with Lacy and her comment. You have such a knack for immersing readers into the worlds your stories create, and I'm all but left to enjoy the journey. Wonderfully done, John!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler2 months ago

    As usual, John, you transported me from the everyday world to a magical one. Keep it up, my friend!

  • Another wonderful story, John. And yes, the congregation appreciated your story, "The Little Sleeper" yesterday. I decided to do a brief summary of the first portion before the second angel finally speaks as there were three small children in attendance & I thought the first bit might have been a bit much for them. As a once upon a lifetime ago cellist, I absolutely loved this.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Bravo!!! This was excellent storytelling, and I loved every second of it, John!

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Goosebumps paraded along my arms as I read the final sentence! I'm moved nearly to tears. By marriage, my family includes one of the world's finest fiddlers (Roy Clark), so this story is one that cuts close in a million ways. Brilliant, moving, and mesmerizing. Loved it!

  • has a shocking surprise at the conclusion that leaves readers wondering about the enigmatic ties between the past and present. It also masterfully depicts the power of music to elicit strong emotions and memories.

  • ema2 months ago

    Beautiful story John! It's very touching and the final twist impressed me. In Italy it is said that Paganini's ghost wanders the streets of Genoa, apparently he made a pact with the devil 😱

  • I had to Google because I had mo idea who was Paganini 😅 I really love how music has the power to move us to tears, just Papà in the story!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Ha! The best saved for his last days! Fabulous story telling, John! ❣️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.