Fiction logo

"I Don't do Mornings!"

Inspired by a vocal creator for the just a minute challenge

By Pamela Walsh-HoltePublished 15 days ago 3 min read
3

I am still moved by the story I just read written by a fellow creator here on vocal. Sometimes when you least expect it, within a minute of time your whole perspective on your day ahead is changed.

You see, I live with my daughter, her husband, my two teen and six ear old grandchildren, and a foster teen. Then there's additional friends of the teens who stop by and many times extend their stay.

That being said, I woke this morning to an argument between the teens over something trivial and the slamming doors set my mood, if you can understand! Trying to resolve any escalation of the argument, I stumbled, shell shocked from my bed, head foggy from a deep sleep, and reached out to calm our newest addition to our family, a young man who has been displaced and for lack of wanting to turn this story into his story I will make a blanket statement that his life has not been easy, his father passed a few months ago and his mother is in the streets engulfed in her addiction.

He is in tears, my granddaughter's boyfriend is yelling and slamming doors, the young man is crying yelling back, stating he's done and leaving. My head is spinning and I haven't gathered my thoughts so...

I open my big mouth and get involved where I need not to be and for the most part usually do not go.

I get a door slammed in my face by the BF which does not go unnoticed, so I open the door, firmly stating how rude my grands BF is and so on, my granddaughter chimes in sticking up for her BF who is mouthing in the back ground, she tells me she's moving out, she will be eighteen next month. Mind you, I have been up less than 30 seconds by now. My reply was a quick and irritated "well your eighteen that's up to you, I don't appreciate having doors slammed in my face". Needless to say this brought on more rhetoric and I threw my hands up and went to my room.

I am now mad because I am crying and frustrated, with thoughts of how rotten teens are these days, no respect for anyone

blahdy, blahdy, blah...

By the time I sit down and try to shake it off the house is silent and the issue is over. I'd like to say that I helped calm the storm and my words of wisdom helped these young people see how insignificant the issue was and that love is always better than bitter words etcetera, etcetera.

When in reality I just have regret for harsh words and my feelings are hurt and I could use a hug.

I find it ironic that I am feeling all these emotions and the "teens" are fine, issue resolved and moving on! This is more than I wanted to happen in the first 60 seconds of my day. And now that the dust has settled and all has been resolved, I seem to be the only one with unresolved issues and hurt feelings! I decide I am going to make my self a cup of coffee and do my best to do a reset on my morning.

With coffee in hand I see my computer is on Vocal.media. My hands shake a bit as I try to rub the sleep from my eyes, I began scrolling the top stories for May. One piqued my interest titled "One Minute to Noon", so I click on it and through gritty eyes I begin to read..

What a profound story it turns out to be..it starts out in a classroom of teens and outlines a school shooting and the courageous acts of a teacher and a student, who using quick wits and bravery overtake the shooter within one minute of time. After reading all I can say is Wow! I sit for a minute to absorb and process what I just read. And I realize that I would rather wake every morning as I did today than experience losing any one of these precious young people, who at times make my life hell!

I experience a stark realization that I should have stayed out of the argument and that the 60-seconds of confusion, frustration and hurt feelings was brought about by teens being teens. And I think to myself how fortunate that this was a trivial issue resolved in 60-seconds that very well could have been 60-seconds that would last a life time.

In my defense, I do want to reiterate that I had just woken up.. I don't do mornings!

By the way.. I just got my hug from my granddaughter. It's going to be a good day!

family
3

About the Creator

Pamela Walsh-Holte

Retired social worker seaking to find my name among the "Chreators we are Loving", but alas it has not been so. Be still my heart, do not despair, your day may come...Until then I wait, anticipating some, be it ever so slight, recognition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore9 days ago

    What a powerful reflection.

  • Novel Allen10 days ago

    I too am not a morning person. Or a Monday person. Teen arguments usually resolve themselves blowing away like smoke. Hard not to get involved, only if bodily harm is imminent. Yes, we must appreciate considering all that goes on in the world. Thank the stars for the mess of family.

  • Aww, Pamela, I'm sending you a hug to start your day tomorrow. And I am beyond honored that my story moved you to rethink how 60 seconds can go with teens. Your household sounds like a nurturing, loving one and I can tell you are a huge part of it. Thanks for the from-the-heart take on how you felt about the slamming door!!

  • Excellent story and picture! Definitely not an ideal start to any day! I often think of the joke “I haven’t lost my temper yet today… etc etc… I’m going really well… time to get out of bed.”🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.