Fiction logo

The Ghost I'm Not

Short 2-8

By Devin Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Ghost I'm Not
Photo by Mulyadi on Unsplash

I open my eyes. My little sister is holding my hand. I look around and I see my mom, my older brother, and my older sister sitting behind my little sister. I was in shock. I didn't expect anyone to be here, waiting for me to wake up. I wasn't happy, nor was I excited. My feelings of them being here are completely mixed. I noticed that I couldn't move my legs.

"Hey, don't squish my hand! I only have two!" I spoke.

Everyone looked up. Everyone had big smiles on their faces, happy to see that I'm awake. My sisters were the only ones crying, showing more relief than anything. Everyone's attacking me with questions, asking if I was okay and questions about the coma. I answered honestly, but I felt very uneasy. I kept thinking that this shows that nobody close to you don't give a shit about you unless they feel like they're about to lose you. They start flooding you with undying love and affection for a while. When you show signs that you're gonna be fine, everything goes back to normal. They go back to not caring, so they can continue to keep you around when they need you.

I started hearing footsteps.

"Woah, now! Let him breath!" a voice said while laughing.

We all looked in the same direction. It was my nurse. Everyone laughed and backed away, allowing the nurse to do her job. The nurse informed me that I won't be able to move my legs for a while and that I'll be in a rehab program learning how to walk again. Everything else the nurse said, I tuned out. I started holding back tears. I was given a second chance at life and a chance to finally live it how I'd like to. I thought that there's a reason why all of this happened in the way it did. It's a lesson now so that I won't make future mistakes.

The nurse walks out to grab the doctor. I heard more footsteps coming in. I look at the door and a woman walked in. She wasn't wearing scrubs nor a face mask. She wore a black dress and black flats with silver necklace. Her skin was of milk chocolate. She's the most beautiful girl I've ever seen. But I wonder who this person is even here for.

We both locked eyes. She walked over to the bed, looking relieved to see me.

"Devin! I'm glad you're okay!" She spoke.

All of us looked at her in shock. Who is this person? How does she even know my name?

"Devin, who is this person?" My mom asked.

I started to speak, but the mysterious girl spoke instead.

"Oh! I'm sorry. I'm Ariannah. Devin's friend!" She answered.

Everyone, including me was very surprised. I didn't even know what to say. But something told me to agree with her.

"Yeah guys, she's a really good friend!" I cosigned.

They still had a face of disbelief, like they never thought that I would even have friends. I told them that everything is fine and I would like to talk to Ariannah alone. Everyone respected my request and left the room. It was now just me and this girl, Ariannah in the room. Ariannah sat next to me on the bed.

"Your family seems nice." Ariannah spoke.

"They like to think that." I said. "But who are you?" I asked.

Ariannah had a look of disbelief.

"I only went along with what you said because it kept us from being in a very uncomfortable situation." I explained.

Ariannah had a defeated look on her face. I could tell that she was confused and a little hurt by what I said.

ExcerptShort StoryLove
Like

About the Creator

Devin

Hey! My name is Devin. I'm 22 years old. I like writing realistic fiction, fantasy fiction, and fiction genre all in the first person perspective so my work will mostly be that. hope you guys like my content!! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.